Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456

Thread: Jason Byrne now on again - Set to sign in Jan

386 Posts
    According to Aftonbladet today the Byrne transfer is still on and it will be completed after Christmas.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Something which is entirely irrelevent to the discussion, Olly values Byrne higher than 200,000 ergo he is scum. Good lord I love foot.ie.
    Can I just point out I didn't actually call him scum (on this one anyway ).

Quote Originally Posted by Thomas (Stockholm) - on Shelsweb
    Here´s a translation for you from todays article in Sportbladet:

"Byrne goes to DIF - for 4 millions

Jason Byrne, 27, ends up in Djurgården.
    The clubs have agreed on a transfer fee on 4 millions and the player himself wants to go to the club.

Sportbladet earlier have written about Djurgårdens interest for the irish striker. According to new information only details remains before everthing is settled because the clubs now practically have agreed a deal.
    - It will be solved, says a source with insight into the negotiations.
    The deal is expected to be definitely settled some time after christmas.

Topscorer
    Jason Byrne, 27, is a big and powerfull striker who has scored lots of goals for the irish topclub Shelbourne FC. The last season he ended up as topscorer in the irish league on 25 goals. In 2004 he made his national team debut against Poland.
    – He´s big, strong and fast and a good goalgetter. A rather complete player and a good guy, says Djurgårdens manager Kjell Jonevret."
    That'd be a nice sight! €4,000,000, Bray'd be delighted too me thinks. Lol News is also expected from pat Fenlon today about transfer speculations etc, so perhaps its not all nonsense, as the timing conincides perfectly!

//edit:

If its meant to be 4,000,000SEK (Swedish Kroner), then courtosey of www.xe.com/ucc we get:

4,000,000.00 SEK = 424,142.05 EUR , which is nowhere near what I'd initially hoped!
    Last edited by EnDai; 22/12/2005 at 10:33 AM.
    God

Assuming the transfer goes ahead and assuming that Bray get their 50%.

How much of the 212'000 does Devlin get to put into his pocket. That kind of money could possibly get Bray into Europe if spent on players.
    Last edited by Vitruvian Man; 22/12/2005 at 2:32 PM.
    Cogito ergo Bohs

all over swedish press the deals going ahead for 4million swedish sheckles or 430k euros

my swedish isnt the best but thats what im getting from this story

http://www.fotbolldirekt.com/IndexNews.cfm?ID=18367
    life is random

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Vitruvian Man
    That kind of money could possibly get Bray into Europe if spent on players.
    I doubt it, to be honest. You have to be very careful when you get a windfall like that - no point spending it all on players this year because you won't have the money next year. However, even transferring E100k to to development fund/paying off E100k of debts and then increasing the wages budget by E25k a year for the next four years would be a big boost for them (or any small club).

82 Posts
    In any sensible League Bray would be forced to invest the money in infrastructure improvements to their inadequate facilities.

Therefore I agree they'll probably blow it all on players in the usual display of EL boom-bust short-termism...........

Quote Originally Posted by EnDai
    That'd be a nice sight! €4,000,000, Bray'd be delighted too me thinks. Lol News is also expected from pat Fenlon today about transfer speculations etc, so perhaps its not all nonsense, as the timing conincides perfectly!

//edit:

If its meant to be 4,000,000SEK (Swedish Kroner), then courtosey of www.xe.com/ucc we get:

4,000,000.00 SEK = 424,142.05 EUR , which is nowhere near what I'd initially hoped!
    Jaysus, before you edited that I was shocked. €4 million for Byrne? Not a hope. €400,00 for him? Fair enough.

How much of the 212'000 does Devlin get to put into his pocket. That kind of money could possibly get Bray into Europe if spent on players.

Very interesting point. Bray won't actually get half the transfer fee. Pat Devlin has to get his cut and the player didn't ask for a transfer so he's entitled to a cut also. Just as well Bray had a 50% clause otherwise they get **** all!

Would be interesting to come up against Jason Byrne playing for Djurgarden in the CL qualiying rounds next year.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

hang on did I read that right - Pat Delvin has to get his cut - this suggests (correct me if I am wrong) that he acted as the agent to Byrne while also being his manager??? surely thats not legal and if it is surely its a serious conflict of interests.

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie
    Very interesting point. Bray won't actually get half the transfer fee. Pat Devlin has to get his cut and the player didn't ask for a transfer so he's entitled to a cut also. Just as well Bray had a 50% clause otherwise they get **** all!
    Ronnie its up to the buying club to pay Signing on and agents fee unless the club asked the agent to tout him
    Finn Harps Belfast Supporters

Pat Devlin is an agent as well as a manager, just conincidental that the player in question was also with the team he managed. You wouldn't be surprised to hear he gets a cut if Duff was transferred from Chelsea? Same thing really.

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie
    Pat Devlin is an agent as well as a manager, just conincidental that the player in question was also with the team he managed. You wouldn't be surprised to hear he gets a cut if Duff was transferred from Chelsea? Same thing really.
    In fairness to Devlin (never thought I'd say that ) if he got the 50% clause in for Bray then fair fooks. Only a problem if he was involved in negotiating Bray to take a reduced cut of it to make sure the transfer went through imo. After Duff's last few transfers, doubt he's that arsed with the amount he'd get from Byrne - 10% of €400,000 compared with 10% of stg 17,000,000, if he's even representing him.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Fair play to Shels. About time the word "no" entered the vocabulary of Irish clubs in transfer negotiations.

Let's hope other clubs take note/confidence from this.

couldn't have put it better my self
    About time clubs grew a set and stood up to the english clubs gleefully rubbing their hands while looking across the Irish sea for some easy pickings

Devo won't be putting any of the money in his pocket. The money goes to the club and will be spent on replacing the old stand with a new stand.

In any other country it would be illegal for a manager to be an unofficial unregulated "advisor" (agent without the registration) for player in same club that you are manager of.

Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456