Thread: Fundraising for your club

Fundraising for your club

Because of a the lack of a major investor Harps have been holding a draw
    each year to make up what should be sponsership revenue. Apart from the usual prize draws etc
    has anybody been invovled in any unique ideas to raise cash for your club.?
    Last edited by A face; 16/12/2005 at 7:38 AM.

Mr T runs the successful Fantasy Football for Harps as well
    Finn Harps Belfast Supporters

30 Posts
    I've helped out with the usual - Lotto, Race Night, Table Quiz etc

of course, everything looks bad if you remember it.- Homer Simpson
    www.sliceco.com

Derry have a good one in the New Year with a Legends V Fans match. A lot of Derry's favourite players over the years will play a fans team in the Brandywell. They will sell tickets to the fans and the 13 or whatever winners go into the Fans squad.

BTW: the reason we don't have a major investor is that we are a Co-Op. The club is owned and ran by the fans which means that we have to make whatever money ourselves.

Yep as Bluetil just posted there, we are running a raffle for a smashin piece of waterford crystal, only 5 of these in the world and was given to us buy the powers that be at the glass factory.
    Tickets only 5 euro, globe is valued at over 6600euro.
    Log on to www.crystalgloberaffle.com for details.

Fair play to the directors at Drogheda United who bought a full book of tickets each, cheers lads and thanks for that.

Have to say MM, that would look good in my office

Well there ya go Dazzy boi, log on now and buy a ticket for 5 euro and as they say if your not in you cant win!

Even the drogs lads bought a few books, fair play to them.

Quote Originally Posted by Mental Man
    Yep as Bluetil just posted there, we are running a raffle for a smashin piece of waterford crystal, only 5 of these in the world and was given to us buy the powers that be at the glass factory.
    Tickets only 5 euro, globe is valued at over 6600euro.
    Log on to www.crystalgloberaffle.com for details.

Fair play to the directors at Drogheda United who bought a full book of tickets each, cheers lads and thanks for that.
    Hope its not smashin to the floor when the person wins it!

Whatever you do don't arrange a poker night!!

The hard working Dev. commitee of Derry arranged one last week and only 13 people turned up - whole handling on the forum after that.

Very succesful one's that the club have run have been a penalty kick competition at half time for fans (loads of banter and interest from people wanting to watch fellow fans humiliate themselves), Dream Draw - £100 a ticket and people not interested in the club saw the value in taking part, great prizes. The Fans v Legend one is new idea but a sure money spinner, cracking idea. Everyone loves playing football no matter how bad they are.

For the failed poker night there are at least 10 good ideas.
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

Well to be honest we have run some very good texas holdem poker nights down in the tower hotel here in waterford and they have raised on average between 3-5000 euro per session.
    But we have been toying with the idea of having a past legends v present players or fans game as well. Its a good idea and bound to raiser funds for any club.

Quote Originally Posted by blutil

That's a cracking prize. I'm just a bit surprised the tickets are so cheap, I reckon you could easily have sold tickets at a tenner.

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn
    BTW: the reason we don't have a major investor is that we are a Co-Op. The club is owned and ran by the fans which means that we have to make whatever money ourselves.
    So are we I think we were the first club in Western Europe to be come a Co-Op is their any other LOI club like this

We decided Passive that the 5 euro was well worth the price for a ticket and its easily affordable, whereas with 10 you might get the usual whingers and the barstoolers giving out.
    The glass was given to us free of charge by the head people at waterford crystal to help and raise funds for the club so we had to set up a committee to organise all this and the draw is on the week the league starts up so funds raised will be put to good use.
    So for 5 yo yo's its great value for money, so come on everybody .

Quote Originally Posted by 1 9 2 8
    So are we I think we were the first club in Western Europe to be come a Co-Op is their any other LOI club like this
    Think Dundalk are a co-op as well.
    Longford, Bohs, and now Rovers are members clubs - think there's a few more with a membership structure as well - Possibly Athlone and Monaghan?

Although slightly different than "Fundraising" , Dundalks new pitch seems to be getting a lot of revenue in for the club. A very worthwhile venture it appears. Steady stream of cash all year long.
    Interesting to see if any other clubs may follow.

Quote Originally Posted by Tenderloins
    Interesting to see if any other clubs may follow.
    We have an artificial pitch(seperate from the main one though) and it has been rented out to local clubs, groups etc for training. It only started recently so hopefully it will turn out to be a very profitable cause for the club.

1,524 Posts
    Harps are a co-op and have been since 1994 or thereabouts. While supporters owning the club is held up as the way to go to achieve fiscal responsibility, Dundalk Sligo and Harps have all suffered massive financial crises under this set-up.

Shares in Harps cost €362.50 and entitle you to attend the AGM and become a member of the board. No matter how many shares you own you only have one vote at the AGM or any EGM, and no one is allowed to buy more than 24 shares.

The Mileson taking over Harps rumours end right there then.

We had a bag packing session last Friday for 3 hours and saturday for 5 hours where we raised around 1200 euro. This was in a small Supervalue in Oranmore where we had control of 4 checkouts. I was surprised how much we got but everyone gave us something. Now, imagine if you had control of around 15 - 20 checkouts in a busy Dunnes or Tesco on a Saturday? You could easily get 5 - 10000 and all you need is permission and buckets

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    Harps are a co-op and have been since 1994 or thereabouts. While supporters owning the club is held up as the way to go to achieve fiscal responsibility, Dundalk Sligo and Harps have all suffered massive financial crises under this set-up.
    Yes, but they didn't have the ground sold from under them and if the fans had major problems with how it's run, they could buy shares, get elected and change things. That is the difference. I don't think fans owned clubs have ever been held up as necessarily being fiscally responsible, but it's in the supporters hands what is done.