Thread: Jason Byrne now on again - Set to sign in Jan

Thumbs up Jason Byrne now on again - Set to sign in Jan

Jayo is staying

Djurgårdens IF fail to come back with improved offer – by Fintan Cassidy

As far as Shelbourne manager Pat Fenlon is concerned, the proposed transfer of Jason Byrne to Djurgårdens IF has fallen through, after the Swedish champions failed to respond with an increased bid when their initial offer was rejected last week.

Said Fenlon: “It’s all over now and I’ve spoken to Jason to tell him so. Of course he’s disappointed – as is everyone at the club disappointed for him on a personal level. It would have been a very good move for him but it wasn’t to be and he’s accepted that. It had to right for the club too, but their offer to us wasn’t good enough. Jason has two more years at Shelbourne on his current contract and he’s happy to stay on and carry on as he has done for the past three years, as top scorer in the league.”

In other transfer news, considerable progress has been made in talks with Sean Dillon and Longford Town manager Alan Mathews, but a number of issues remain to be resolved before the defender can sign for Shelbourne.

Great News!!
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    In other transfer news, considerable progress has been made in talks with Sean Dillon and Longford Town manager Alan Mathews, but a number of issues remain to be resolved before the defender can sign for Shelbourne.
    will this fall through aswell because ye wont be getting the money for Jayo

*clutches at final straw*

Im happy. Djurgarden's offer was peanuts and Im glad ollie took the right decision. Hopefully Jason will continue to do the business for us next season.
    Last edited by thejollyrodger; 16/12/2005 at 7:41 PM.

I think a few Bray fans will be raging now.

Think that leaves the door open now for Drogs to sign Sean Dillon. Without Jayos transfer fee the $h€ls budget will be pretty tight this season.

Then why the $h€ls you muppet. Happy days when an EL club turns down 400k

The bit there about Jason being 'disappointed' is always my worry in EL transfers. As fans we've called for clubs to refuse pittance for players but at the end of the day we all know that as players they are itching for a crack at the move up - should it be England or elsewhere.
    It's the one thing that would really help if players thought the EL was worth playing in. Jason Byrne has had the chance to play against clubs that very few people even get to see play nevermind get the chance to be on the pitch with them yet he is disappointed at this move falling through.
    I honestly don't know a wile pile about the Swedish league and how good it is but I do know that any player in the league would be interested in moving for such an amount. That's what we hope will change.
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

of course he is dissapointed as he probably would have gotten big wads of cash for it!

400 k for jason byrne was laughable. If he was playing in the lower leagues in england he would cost 1 million plus. Im glad shels stuck to their principals.

You only have to look at the whole kevin doyle saga.Reading are laughing now as hes worth a hell of alot more. They bought leroy lita for 1 million in the summer you dont have to ask steve coppell who si the better player.

Where are the drogs getting all their money, have they a sugar daddy or what?

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Just a tad!!!!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.

Fair play for not selling Jayo on the cheap. I just hope that next season he continues to do the business and doesn't regret not geting the chance to go abroad and sulk because of it. Great to see him stay , but would have liked a slice of the transfer fee .
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway

That doyle transfer fee was the final straw for me. Jason Byrne is worth about £1 million GBP and any €400,000 deal is a sham.

See Byrne's interview about Brighton's interest and I think that answers how committed he'll be next season

It's a pity, and for no other reason than that the next annual Hoops' trip to Stockholm to support Hammarby would've been made extra special if it were for a derby against the monkeys with JB onboard. Oh the craic we could've had! The fun of getting the Hammarby fans singing ``All the way to Poland'' and then dragging him off for pints after the game.
    Seriously, I'm disappointed for Jason and for the EL. It would've brought him up a level, given him a better life (Stockholm is brilliant) and proved that EL players are worth more than the peanuts English clubs offer.
    Life's a bitch.

sfc red wrote:

See Byrne's interview about Brighton's interest and I think that answers how committed he'll be next season
    Nah, I doubt it! He is píssed off about this deal falling through so the morale could be fairly low at the moment!!
    Who Cares?!

Fair play to Shels. About time the word "no" entered the vocabulary of Irish clubs in transfer negotiations.

Let's hope other clubs take note/confidence from this.

rerun
    I think we need to remember though, that the deal was probably only scuppered by the Bray sell-on clause. Not that I'm getting at Bray, it was a good piece of business on their part, but if Shels were offered 400K and they would get it all, he would have been on a plane to Stockholm quicker than you can say..eh..something in Swedish.

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Why would they be - bonus money for them. They've already got one transfer fee for him. Fair play for them standing up to Shels over the contract - Bray fans should be proud of Slevin et al, pity more wouldn't.

Quote Originally Posted by De Town
    will this fall through aswell because ye wont be getting the money for Jayo

*clutches at final straw*
    It'll fall through because they're trying to offload (high wage) players on us instead of paying cash. Suppose it reduces shels chances of coming up with the cash, but that just opens the door for Drogs really.

Macy what do you think of him as a player?

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast