Thread: Injuries

Injuries

I managed to fracture a rib last weekend playing ball and its really annoying me. I've had so many injuries over the years that I thought I'd see if any other foot-iers have had similar problems. Maybe we can find the most crocked person here.

My injuries (from most recent back):
    Fractured rib - playing ball
    Fractured left scaphoid - snowboarding
    Fractured right scpahoid - drinking injury. I don't know how it happened.
    Broken left arm - rugby match
    Tooth kicked out - rugby match
    Pulled back muscle - jumping onto a wall
    Broken right arm - playing with my Dad as a kid.
    Last edited by finlma; 13/12/2005 at 9:10 AM.

well i've been lucky in that i haven't broke a bone in my body....yet!hopefully wont either.i mostly just get muscle strains from time to time from matches/training
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

30 Posts
    I dislocated and broke a finger playing football in Janurary, found out on
    Friday that its still cracked and now the hospital have no record of it ever
    being broken and conviently lost 4 sets of xrays!!!!

After I broke it (little finger on left hand) and I was 2 weeks back training,
    I broke the same finger on my right hand! The curse of being a keeper!

Since then Ive been plagued, had a buldging disc in my neck, fractured my
    thumb, have a loose kneecap and shinsplints.

I've only managed 1 league and 1 cup match this season. Played Connaught
    Cup last week and was supposed to make my glorious return to League action
    last Sunday but on top of the broken finger news, which I was going to play
    through, I got a feckin stomach bug Saturday and could hardly move Sunday!

Jebus, if it wasnt for bad luck Id have no luck at all !!!!!

Ive not had too much happen, thankfully:

- Ruptured my left achilies tendon
    - Ruptured my right achilies tendon
    - Chipped a bone in my right elbow
    - Fell whilst running and skidded across the ground on my hands face & knees, losing all the skin on my hands and knees and a good part of my face.
    - Fractured my left wrist

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Broke my hip bone when I was 5 in a school bus accident I spent 12 weeks in Letterkenny hospital; my parents could only visit at weekend’s, a very lonely time for a wee 5 year old. Apart from that cracked a bone in my hand in a car crash 8 years ago which was lucky if you seen the state of the car afterwards...
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

My worst one was self inflicted a few years ago. I was home for Christmas and spent Christmas Eve getting p!ssed with the lads. I was the last one left at his house and when I left his flat in the early hours. Instead of buzzing up to him to open the 10 foot security gate I decided it made sense to climb over it so as not to disturb him.

As I trailed my left leg over the top of it, I lost the grip on my right foot between the railings and was left hanging with my right leg all twisted up. I knew it was serious as it was really painful and I roared even though I was wrecked. As I dangled a girl looked out the window of another flat, shouted something and threw a cup down on me which smashed only inches away.

I managed to prize myself free and hobbled the mile and a half home unable to get a taxi. Christmas Day was spent getting an injection in me arse from the Doctor for the pain and a few months later when I was back in Scotland I got the operation I required to repair the cartilage that I'd ripped during my adventure.

Missed the whole 2nd half of my football season here because of it.

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    Ive not had too much happen, thankfully:

- Ruptured my left achilies tendon
    - Ruptured my right achilies tendon
    - Chipped a bone in my right elbow
    - Fell whilst running and skidded across the ground on my hands face & knees, losing all the skin on my hands and knees and a good part of my face.
    - Fractured my left wrist
    Does this look good for the Physio of the International team
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Well.....

Ive broken my arm 3 times
    Broke me finger once
    Dislocated me hip
    Tore tendon muscles in my knee
    2 concussions
    tore my calf
    split my head open twice with numerous stiches.

Im 17 in April
    Last edited by Conor H; 13/12/2005 at 8:52 PM.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Worst injury ive ever had was when i came off a motor bike on me hol's!
    Three stitches in my left ankle...5 stitches on my shoulder...and fractured my right elbow in 12 places,yes twelve! got a mean scare out of it tho...66 stitches on me elbow alone! My elbow's held togother with a metal plate,4 screws and about a yard of wire....the x rays are wicked.
    Apart from that,had a great holliday!
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

I have to say most of you are really unlucky, worst ive had is a dislocated toe and a muscle pull in my back whihc doesnt want to heal.

But im happy to have that compared to other peoples injuries

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM
    Does this look good for the Physio of the International team
    Hey, having spent so long in physio im probably the most qualified to administer physio to the international team Dont worry

3,498 Posts
    Scar on my head from splitting it open when I was 7
    Can dislocate the left side of my jaw at will
    My right index finger has a habit of popping out of it's socket from time to time
    Last New Year's I hyperextended my right knee and pulled the hamstring in the same leg, the trainer in my gym jammed his fingers into the back of my knee and straightened it out!
    Never been overnight in a hospital!

634 Posts
    ooooh I think I could top this poll. I have been absolutely poxed with injuries.

Left Wrist Broken 3 times.
    Right wrist broken 1 times.
    Collar Bone Broken 1 times.
    Nose Broken 2 times.
    Broken ankle 1 times.
    Torn Cartilage in Left Knee 1 times.
    Broken bone in foot 1 times.
    Torn Left Ankle ligaments 4 times.
    Torn right ankle ligaments 2 times.
    Nail ripped off thumb 1 times.

Seriously.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

outside of football/soccer i'm after getting 7 stitches in my eye(fixing the cornia together) after glass went through it.had to stay in the hospital for best part of a week with it.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

634 Posts
    I'll tell youse a good one. My bro was about 5 and he had the funniest accident ever.

We were stayin in an uncles gaff during the summer holidays. Next door neighbour had one of those old racer bikes with the steel pedal! Brother was chasing/playing with the dog, tripped, and lamped his head off the pedal. Beautiful cut down his forehead. Went to the ospideal and had 7 of the paper stiches put in. We came back to Dublin after a few days and he had them takne out. Left a deadly scar. Within 10 mins of getting home, one of his mates threw a boomerang, brother walked straight into it. Sliced him open right across where his earlier cut had healed. He now has a crucifix scar on his forehead. Excellent.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom
    I'll tell youse a good one. My bro was about 5 and he had the funniest accident ever.

We were stayin in an uncles gaff during the summer holidays. Next door neighbour had one of those old racer bikes with the steel pedal! Brother was chasing/playing with the dog, tripped, and lamped his head off the pedal. Beautiful cut down his forehead. Went to the ospideal and had 7 of the paper stiches put in. We came back to Dublin after a few days and he had them takne out. Left a deadly scar. Within 10 mins of getting home, one of his mates threw a boomerang, brother walked straight into it. Sliced him open right across where his earlier cut had healed. He now has a crucifix scar on his forehead. Excellent.
    HARSH.the poor lad. but funny all the same

Broke fingers warming up before Hurling match.
    Got bit on the top of the head playing football which resulted in 3 stitches
    16 stitches to sole of foot after standing on blade
    Tore ligaments slipping down escalator ( Very fcuking sore and embarassing )
    Severe groin strain while playing football.Never let it heal properly so it plagued me for months.Very sore
    Broke ribs, thumb and fingers in Motorcycle accident.
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

I've also never broken a bone although did try to break my head before In fact i think i've only has a few stitches from injuries.

I suppose some of ye are just clumsy

I Broke Three ribs at Dalymount at the start of last season
    when Kevin hunt took the peno against Rovers I could'nt watch and turned my back
    when he scored everyone rushed forward and i tumbled over six rows of seats backwards
    was quite drunk and didn't notice till next morning when i couldn't breath without agonising pain's shooting through my chest

Great idea for a thread!

I've played football all me life......... 27 now...never really had anything bad happen (touch wood) hurt my back lifting crates and couldn't play for awhile but that seems to have fixed itself. I think i broke a small bone in my little finger playin in goal once but I'm not sure. I made a splint out of matches and celotape and its been a bit bumpy and looks a bit different to its opposite number since. Been very lucky in truth...I keep thinking something's gonna happen sooner or later....