Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Byrne deal spells end for 'bargain basement'

Quote Originally Posted by crc
    If its £600,000 that makes it about €900,000. That million euro Eircom League player mightn't be so far away!
    It is €600,000 in total AFAIK and bray will get 50% of that

71 Posts
    My brother was talking to a Shels fan today who told him that Shelbourne will tell Bray to drop some of the percentage or they won't sell him. He also told him that Djurgardens are also interested in Weso. I don't know the guy or claim it to be accurate. I just know he was dedicated enough to go to the away tie in Bucharest. Make of that what you will.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    My brother was talking to a Shels fan today who told him that Shelbourne will tell Bray to drop some of the percentage or they won't sell him.

Ah hello .... how does that work ?? .... That would be like us asking for the clause in Doylers contract, the figure should have been raised by 400% !?!?

Its a contract ..... its a done deal, tough !!

71 Posts
    Just what he told me A Face. Offhand I don't see the situations comparable. Shels can decide not to sell Byrne. You had absolutely no say in the matter with Doyle. To the best of my knowledge contracts can be renegotiated under new terms as long as both parties agree. All Shels have to say is: If you want any money at all then agree to drop the percentage otherwise he stays and you get nothing. It could all be b.s. I'm just passing on what I heard.

It wouldn't be Shelbourne if they didn't try to do Bray out of a few bob of a transfer fee. Bray should stick to their guns.

I'm sure it's at least been through the minds of those in charge. Ask Bray to sign a contract saying they'll accept 25% (or something) of the fee, or Shelbourne won't sell Byrne (as they are entitled to) which means Bray get no money anyways (and more importantly, we keep Byrne!).

Don't know how plausable it is, but its a possibility I'm sure.
    God

How much is the transfer?,Ive heard 600k and 450k.
    I'm sure Shels fans are saying 600k but i doubt thats the real figure.
    And if Bray get 50% and Jayo gets a 'subtancial ammount' Shels are the one who are going to lose out.

Quote Originally Posted by jorge
    How much is the transfer?,Ive heard 600k and 450k.
    I'm sure Shels fans are saying 600k but i doubt thats the real figure.
    And if Bray get 50% and Jayo gets a 'subtancial ammount' Shels are the one who are going to lose out.
    400K was rejected, so presumably 5-600K if it goes through.
    Bray take 50% -> 250/300K.
    Is Jayo's signing on fee not paid by Djurgardens? Why should Shels give him money to leave?
    God

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    It wouldn't be Shelbourne if they didn't try to do Bray out of a few bob of a transfer fee. Bray should stick to their guns.
    And end up with nothing? Wouldn't seem to make sense from their point of view if that is in fact what is happening.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    And end up with nothing? Wouldn't seem to make sense from their point of view if that is in fact what is happening.
    Slash by few bob he means part of the percentage they are currently entitled to. Purely hypothetically here lets say the 50% figure is correct and he's being sold for €600k signing on fee aside. Shels say: Agree to cut the percentage back to 20% and make €120k or we won't sell him at all, keep the league's top scorer and you make feck all. Hence being "done" out of €180k. If this isn't true I've probably given Ollie an idea now.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Offhand I don't see the situations comparable.
    Ahh, I know that, just kinda highlighting how mad it is ??
    Lads, having thought about this though .... if Devlin has anything to do with it, he'll surely saying something like give Bray 25% and give me 10% or something like that .... is that not the way he works thing, himself and Givens use similar tactics i think !?! ..... could be wrong though !!

If Pat Devlin had the accumen to put a 50% sell on clause in the transfer you can't really slag him about that - he could teach some clubs a thing or two about selling players!
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

Quote Originally Posted by EireBadBoy
    If Pat Devlin had the accumen to put a 50% sell on clause in the transfer you can't really slag him about that - he could teach some clubs a thing or two about selling players!
    Well he has a long history of pimping Irish players alright, so at this stage i'd be worried if you couldn't teach someone a stroke or two !!

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Bray have literally nothing to lose if Oily is trying to force their hand on the transfer fee here.

They're currently getting zero for Byrne - so if Shels do carry through on their bluff they'll be no worse off. Meanwhile, Shels will be €300,000 Euros poorer themselves - purely because they were too greedy/spiteful to honour a contractual requirement. There would be only 2 clear losers here - Shels and Byrne. If i was Bray I'd report them to the league or seek league advice for shady practices if they're looking to do this.

I can't see Shels refusing to take €600k for a player full-stop, even if they have to pass half of that on. Very dirty tactic of them if they're trying to put pressure on Bray though - what use is a contract if that's what happens to you...?

But is the €600,000 a final figure?

Back stage stuff like this goes on all the time, yes it is in his contract that any sell on fee is due to his previous club, but there is always room for negotiation, but it does look like there's going to be a loser in the whole thing.

On a different aspect of the transfer how does this change the valuation of other eircom League plays moving between clubs? We all know that there is absolutely no chance of a fee like this being proposed between two clubs in the league, but Jason Byrne is not the best in the league by that much.

rerun
    I got the impression from some of the articles that the Djugardens deal was worth €600K in total, including a €200K signing on fee.
    If, of the €400K remaining, Shels have to pay €200K to Bray, are they not better off holding on to the player in the long run and hope for goals in the Setanta Cup / UEFA Cup ?
    How long more is Byrne under contract for at Shels?
    One thing you have to wonder is what Shels thought when they agreed the 50% sell on fee.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EireBadBoy
    The man is a toerag, he'd sell his mother for a few quid. He was willing to sell Zayed, not caring what the consequences were for Bray, just to make a few quid himself. He does it all the time and no one in Bray ever questions it

Basically comes down to who needs the money more if Shels are playing hardball. Bray run as a fairly tight ship these days, and I'd suspect €200k more critical to Shels than Bray.

Bray have nothing to lose - it's bonus money for them. I hope they stick to their guns, or sell on clauses will become irrelevant.

1,553 Posts
    Has it actually been confirmed that 600k is on the table? I thought they offered 400k and were turned down and haven't come back?

I wonder who Jason Byrnes agent/advisor is? Surely someone was touting him around, the interest from Norway and Sweden hardly just came out of the blue?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast