Thread: Question

Question

I also asked the UCD lads this, out of curiosity, and I hope this isn't taken as a dig or patronising a la Pete, but how did you become a DCFC supporter? Home Farm links? Played underage? (although that would probably mean links) Live beside the ground???

I'm genuinly interested as being somebody who so easily could have been a Home Farm (at the time) fan when growing up, playing there myself in the mini leagues and for some of the teams, although never targeted as a potential fan for some reason, although about 10 years ago I did get a random letter asking if I wanted to purchase a season ticket, by then I was already a redsman and that ship had sailed!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Always meant to post that question, thanks for doing it for me DR.

Fairly sure there is a similar thread back in the mists of time...

However, personally; having played junior football for a number of years just realised the hypocracy of "following" Man Utd since the age of 4. Had a think about it (had seen Rovers a couple of times in the RDS) And just plumped for Dublin City because I figured they could do with my support more than most. That was nearly 3 years ago. Had never heard of Rocky or any of the players really, bought a jersey and off I went. Haven't given a penny to MUFC since and am a season ticket holder at City, and will be as long as they and I are still breathing.

So either you're 7, or there was a big gap without football???
    Sitting pretty!!!

I assume that's a reference to "junior football" Sorry that's what I've always reffered to the UCL/Carlserg Leinster League etc that I played ie) not LSL.

So no other Dublin City fans are willing to answer then??? I am genunely interested, also I really hope yis play in whitehall next year, haven't been there since we had Home Farm in the Cup can't remember when 8-10 years ago???
    Sitting pretty!!!

http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=25161

We had a topic like this a while back, I just didnt want to write it all again, have a read some interesting posts.

Any more questions just ask.

60 Posts
    A couple of lads I know, (not El supporters, but would usually go to LSL matches), went along to Tolka in their Dublin jersies and joined in with the DC fans for the craic. Back in the boozer they started to kiss their crests to the annoyance of the Rovers fans across the other side of the bar. It was hillarious. Anyway they said they may make a few trips to see DC next season.
    Always look on the bright side of life

Quote Originally Posted by Derek
    http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=25161

We had a topic like this a while back, I just didnt want to write it all again, have a read some interesting posts.

Any more questions just ask.
    Sorry man, didn't know that was there!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by drummerboy
    A couple of lads I know, (not El supporters, but would usually go to LSL matches), went along to Tolka in their Dublin jersies and joined in with the DC fans for the craic. Back in the boozer they started to kiss their crests to the annoyance of the Rovers fans across the other side of the bar. It was hillarious. Anyway they said they may make a few trips to see DC next season.
    Great to hear They'll be made more than welcome at Whitehall next season if they choose to pop down. The more the merrier.

30 Posts
    I met a sound bunch of Dublin City fans in Faroes
    and Cyprus and asked the same question to them.

Main reason was they were from the Northside but not in
    Shels/Bohs area and were sick of following foreign teams
    and so when Dublin City started up, they were the nearest
    Club.

Fair play to them.

Foot.ie! Support? More Like Tech Support!

Absolutly. Some are true fans of Irish Football... there comes a time when no matter (& I must stress this)... how much one feels connected with these clubs, i.e. Liverpool, Man Utd, Arsenal, Chelsea etc. where ya say.. hold on I wasn't born in this place... why should I feel I have a love or bond? Few see the light & never realize that where they DO come from, is suffering lack of support & funding. Usual excuses from these 'Fans' can be.. "Ohh Liverpool & Ireland are like that.. We go back a long way me & Utd... I was THIS height rootin for Gunners... I've friends & family there in London"... blah blah!

I mentioned before on a similar topic I was a Leicester City fan for years & not even me goin over to see them play live at the Walkers Stadium against West Ham on David Connolly's debut in Aug '04 saved them from losin me 2 months later. I admit it was hard to do but I felt that the situation was right & since I became new to Irish League Football, no better team to follow than Dublin City, coz well.. I'd no history either... (L.O.I)

Really though, it just felt like the right time plus the right 'Dublin club' to climb abroad on, even though I became a Viking with relegation lookin as true as 'Roddy who?', it didn't steer me off... & the great thing about my 1 & only new found football club is... IAM FROM THERE!
    Ultimate reward for me as a fan was gettin promotion back into Premiership football again this season.

How do others feel about the 'cross-channel' support situation in Eire that's goin on? The English & Scottish Leagues etc... I'll admire & respect, but I wont support it.

Quote Originally Posted by Maynard
    Fairly sure there is a similar thread back in the mists of time...

However, personally; having played junior football for a number of years just realised the hypocracy of "following" Man Utd since the age of 4. Had a think about it (had seen Rovers a couple of times in the RDS) And just plumped for Dublin City because I figured they could do with my support more than most. That was nearly 3 years ago. Had never heard of Rocky or any of the players really, bought a jersey and off I went. Haven't given a penny to MUFC since and am a season ticket holder at City, and will be as long as they and I are still breathing.
    As whose advice did you seek?

As always I answered first Rovers because thats who i support and then i answered that because you had ventured to the RDS to see us. Then you caught me with the "I feel my support would be better with a new club with no major history at the moment" then I said well that leaves Dublin City. Amazing as i watched the play off the next day on setanta who was the first CHF Fan I see on the tele Maynard ah well

JUZ

PS: Who told you, you were a football player?

Quote Originally Posted by blueviking1980
    .I became new to Irish League Football, no better team to follow than Dublin City, coz well.. I'd no history either... (L.O.I)

Ultimate reward for me as a fan was gettin promotion back into Premiership football again this season.
    Irish League is up north. The premiership is in england.

And your @nus is up your @rse

I know Juz, when I needed guidance on the matter I went to the oracle
    Funny at the time ours and Rovers paths had never crossed and I guess I never really thought they would, outside of maybe the odd Premier Division game...funny how things turn out. Still, I got you bro

Exclamation

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Irish League is up north. The premiership is in england.

'The Premiership' is in England is it? Really? You say tomato, I say tomatoe...

Yes really. Dan Quayle why dont you give the tomatoes to your leader he might grow a neck

3,219 Posts
    So in conclusion, NYHoop is correct and you're wrong?

Foot.ie!

More like, difference of opinion...