Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Cutting out drink

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    Always been dealing customers via email or phone for me, so never an issue for me tbh.
    I pity your customers, I really do!
    If you're not still drunk, try to read my post and use common sense!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    I pity your customers, I really do!
    If you're not still drunk, try to read my post and use common sense!
    Sorry, hungover...*

*jesus that was bad...

I drink alot less than I used to. I was drinking too much with the company I worked with. Really bad drinking culture in recruitment.

I gave up booze in the January when I was at uni. Stuck to only water for one month, and went clubbing 2-3 times a week. Although I felt better the next morning, I would not want to go clubbing stone cold sober again.

I cut out all drink for a month just to prove to myself i could do it, wasnt as hard as i thought it would be drank lucozade instead but too much of that made me feel unwell. was good to save money too! but of course as soon as i had done the month i was back drinking agian. even more worrying i tried to do the same with caffeine but wasnt able to.

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    I cut out all drink for a month just to prove to myself i could do it, wasnt as hard as i thought it would be drank lucozade instead but too much of that made me feel unwell. was good to save money too! but of course as soon as i had done the month i was back drinking agian. even more worrying i tried to do the same with caffeine but wasnt able to.
    I used do this once a year and will attempt again in january. I did it in 1998 when I was 24 years old, playing in a band and drinking heavily most nights of the week. No drink, no smokes (only smoke when drinking anyway). I didn't massively increase the exercise I was doing. Think I used jog once a week and played indoor once a week as well. I ate like a fcukin' horse for the entire month and I LOST 16lbs. No bullsh1t.

Did it again in 2003 (by which time I was 29) but exercised a bit more -sadly only lost 4lbs. That's the old metabolism slowing down.

Tried it again in October just gone as I particularly wanted to stop smoking (as I said -only when I've a drink in my hand). I lasted till October 5th.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    Drinkfeckarse, can you go out on a night and not drink? Or would you deem it pointless? Serious question .
    Yes I have done on a few occasions but I have to be honest and say I didn't enjoy myself as much as I would have when having a few beers. Didn't enjoy watching others getting p!ssed and laughing at stupid sh!te that you wouldn't laugh at sober etc.

3,500 Posts
    I did a 10k run at the weekend, and quit drinking 6 weeks ago to help me train for it. I've given up drinking for Lent every year since I was in 3rd year in college, so it'll be 6 years in a row next Lent. Going out sober doesn't really bother me, and I have the car so I'll have no problems getting home. It's all a matter of willpower.

I needed the Sunday night sleeping pill last night. I always seem to get the horrors after a heavy weekend of boozing. The sleeping pills work wonders.

Pretty much willpower. People find they don't have an excuse for their behaviour if sober Doesn't bother me. I am going to attempt drinking 3 drinks at my xmas party and stopping. Should be interesting to see if I crack!
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

People find they don't have an excuse for their behaviour if sober
    beer the cause of and solution to all of lifes little problems. it is good being able to say you only did it cos you were drunk. trust me there have been certain times when the only thing ( to get you out of a very very tight situation ) you can say is you only did it cos you were drunk

in fairness though, ye do have far better craic after a few beers and out for the craic.

I gave up drinkin for over a year while I was pregnant then feedin. Didn't mind goin without the alcohol at all. could still sit down the pub witht my mates and have a laugh without it.

Back on the drink now though and probably WAY too much of it but i guess i'm just makin up for lost time!

Lightbulb Drinkin Game

Gave up booze completly when I was 21 between May 31st to September 13th 2002 (back on it birthday).. lookin back, givin it up durin Ireland's World Cup was a feat Im still pretty proud of. I wasn't even a big drinker to start with.. say a 2-3 pint guy... havin said that, bout 2 months into my 'experiment' I felt I could climb walls & run blocks all day.

I agree that it's great waking up fresh & alert as ya like in the mornin... plus the fact that ya have a healthier wallet too..

I haven't ruled out a comeback or at least not sinkin 4-5 EVERY time I go out & feel it's the only way to have ultimate fun. I'll either have a couple like the old days, have a few on special occassions only (not includin a 'Fri Night' ), have a want for a limit, or.. give it up entirely & change my lifestyle surroundin it. i.e. Workin out. Dependin on my mood & circumstances...

There's nothing worse than going out to the pub with a few lads and them all p!ssed and you sober cos they talk such sh!te. That's why, ya have to drink if yer going out!.

I've found myself drinking a lot at weekend's since the footy season finished.

Went yesterday evening with a mate for a pint - just the one I told myself - and at half two this morning I crawled in

Totally wrecked today, plus me exams start on Thursday
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    Alcohol free entertainment:

There are plenty of gigs, large and small
    There are many casinos
    There are things like cinema and theatre and comedy
    There is going out with mates to a bar and not drinking
    There is League Of Ireland
    Everything you've discribed there envolves drink!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    In my opinion, there's no justification for a person who works in a customer facing role, having the stench of alcohol off their breath.
    Agree completly!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by babydol
    I gave up drinkin for over a year while I was pregnant then feedin. Didn't mind goin without the alcohol at all. could still sit down the pub witht my mates and have a laugh without it.

Back on the drink now though and probably WAY too much of it but i guess i'm just makin up for lost time!
    It was good training for the Meet Up
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Everything you've discribed there envolves drink!!!
    Yes roy, keep taking the tablets You drink in the cinema yeah? (drink meaning alcohol by the way roy )
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    There's nothing worse than going out to the pub with a few lads and them all p!ssed and you sober cos they talk such sh!te. That's why, ya have to drink if yer going out!.
    thats very true drunk people dont realise how annoying they are!

I'm actually drinking more and more these days.

There's nothing better than falling out of bed on a saturday morning and having to go to a game for your amateur side and run around like a headless chicken!!
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM
    It was good training for the Meet Up

There were other people (not naming names, GARETH) who were way drunker than me at the christmas meet up! So leave me alone!!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast