Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Ollie Byrne's Assault Appeal Successful?

Quote Originally Posted by EnDai
    Love the way a moderator (who like countless others wasn't there!) is allowed to spew this nonsense. Thats like me saying I saw Rico in bed with a 12 year old, its absolute cack. You don't know anything. You think he did it, fair enough - but sheesh, try to get a grasp of the meaning of the words.
    I was there.I saw the whole thing kick off.Ollie is as guilty as a "puppy beside a pile of poo".Jesus shels fans take the blinkers off for **** sake.

Love the way a moderator (who like countless others wasn't there!) is allowed to spew this nonsense. Thats like me saying I saw Rico in bed with a 12 year old, its absolute cack. You don't know anything. You think he did it, fair enough - but sheesh, try to get a grasp of the meaning of the words.
    versus

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog
    I was there.I saw the whole thing kick off.Ollie is as guilty as a "puppy beside a pile of poo".Jesus shels fans take the blinkers off for **** sake.
    the reality is the drogheda pro and photogropher doesnt have a history of faking getting thumped.

Oily has a history of violence and a renounded short fuse, and this is why most neutrals are bemused by the fact he gets away with it again and again.

can individual clubs ban him from their grounds? i presume so, but im sure there is some protection for officials and, obviously, players of clubs being banned.

and re the roddy incident, werent terry eviston and owen heary not witnesses?

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog
    Did you also see Jason Byrne sticking his fingers up at the Drogs support as your club offically claimed that Shels skillfully doctored out of TV3s tapes? It's great running not only the league but the media as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    Did you also see Jason Byrne sticking his fingers up at the Drogs support as your club offically claimed that Shels skillfully doctored out of TV3s tapes? It's great running not only the league but the media as well.
    clutching.....at....straws.......

you got a result here, take it as one and give over

Roverstillidie wrote

the reality is the drogheda pro and photogropher doesnt have a history of faking getting thumped.

Oily has a history of violence and a renounded short fuse, and this is why most neutrals are bemused by the fact he gets away with it again and again.

can individual clubs ban him from their grounds? i presume so, but im sure there is some protection for officials and, obviously, players of clubs being banned.

and re the roddy incident, werent terry eviston and owen heary not witnesses?

Agreed Ollie does have a history of violence. Just because he has a history of violence does that put him in the wrong already.

Rovers fans (not all) have a history of violence, should all Rovers fans be banned from eL grounds.
    Who Cares?!

Being a moderator doesn't entitle me to an opnion now ??
    At the time of the incident, there were a fair few threads all over the leagues forums about it, i spoke to a few Drogs fans down here about it and it was common knowledge at the time the Ollie had acted the maggot (even if it were wrong) .... the dogs on the street all BELIEVED that Ollie was at it again, and i have not been shown anything to change my opinion of that. The guy in a nutter, he tried to tackle me in the Shels bar one night, thats my last encounter with the guy, i am sorry ... but that impression is going nowhere ... unless he does something unreal to change it, but this is Ollie we are on about and you and me both know that nothing will ever change it.

Quote Originally Posted by sfc red
    Not even gonna ask how ya saw that...

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red
    Agreed Ollie does have a history of violence. Just because he has a history of violence does that put him in the wrong already.

Rovers fans (not all) have a history of violence, should all Rovers fans be banned from eL grounds.
    those who have been caught are. shels were one of the clubs that opposed a league wide ban on those banned by individual clubs. see a link emerging?

he was found guilty of this offence originally, he won an appeal. quite a difference to us all assuming he was in the wrong without the facts.

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    he was found guilty of this offence originally, he won an appeal. quite a difference to us all assuming he was in the wrong without the facts.
    Exactly .... He was found guilty first day .... EnDai ... come off the stage now fella, in all fairness like .... its not like we are all making this stuff up, it did actually happen, there is a different outcome now so chalk it down and move on, Ollie will anyway ... you can count on it.

clutching.....at....straws.......
    says the person posting on a thread about an incident he knows literally nothing about?

it did actually happen
    Simply baffling stuff

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Exactly .... He was found guilty first day .... EnDai ... come off the stage now fella, in all fairness like .... its not like we are all making this stuff up, it did actually happen, there is a different outcome now so chalk it down and move on, Ollie will anyway ... you can count on it.
    I'm just saying that knowing is very different to thinking or believing. I'm far from a fan of ollie myself, just pointing out that what you believe is not classed as fact. He was found guilty and it was reversed - wether this was the correct decision or not is not up for anyone to really decide without the facts, and obviosuly you can think what you want (but thats all it is - thinking/believing), but saying you know something that clearly you don't (with your facts being based on not being even there, and a past encounter with the madman himself) is plain nonsense - which is all I was trying to say.
    God

57 Posts
    Couple of questions / points:

What the hell is a Match Delegate's report doing in the Public Domain? Those kind of documents are normally Private and Confidential... - (a case of trying to prejudice the case from the very start?)

and to the Rovers contingent on about the 8 points deduction for the breach of licensing - you got off VERY lightly indeed - had you been a club under the jurisdiction of any other European Association - you would have been demoted there and then on the spot - and dare I say it - removed from the League altogether.

And don't hide behind the "That was the 'old' Rovers who did that" - it didn't work for Fiorentina or Servette
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by Slash/ED
    says the person posting on a thread about an incident he knows literally nothing about?

Simply baffling stuff
    what are you on about? you have never had an opinion on something you didnt witness 1st hand?

oily, again, is accused and in this instance found to have committed an assault. he, again, finds something in the rule book and walks away laughing.

we all saw the photos in the paper the next day, there was clearly physical contact and an injury sustained. to deny that further fuels the belief that shels fans will rally round their secretary in a manner no other fans do, regardess of what he has done. which is probably why he continues to do it.

shels fans need to stop playing with semantics and word forms and either stop him damaging your club or admit you dont care what he does because his overall contribution to the club is so big.
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir
    Couple of questions / points:

What the hell is a Match Delegate's report doing in the Public Domain? Those kind of documents are normally Private and Confidential... - (a case of trying to prejudice the case from the very start?)

and to the Rovers contingent on about the 8 points deduction for the breach of licensing - you got off VERY lightly indeed - had you been a club under the jurisdiction of any other European Association - you would have been demoted there and then on the spot - and dare I say it - removed from the League altogether.

And don't hide behind the "That was the 'old' Rovers who did that" - it didn't work for Fiorentina or Servette
    referees report first appeared on the shels MB, it was but on here by a gentleman involved in shels who you may know by name.

we got off lightly? the fact that the FAI had no power to deduct points is irrelevant is it? was every other club's application watertight? fiorentina and servette were into far worse than filing the same annual accounts two years running, if we had filed the correct acccounts we would have been grand.
    Last edited by Roverstillidie; 12/12/2005 at 12:29 AM.

we got off lightly? the fact that the FAI had no power to deduct points is irrelevant is it?
    Yes. Irrelevant when they could have ****ed you out of the league. Compared with the possible punishment you did get off very lightly. You mightn't like the 8 points dedeuction and I agree the league/FAI hadn't the right to do it but which would you prefer?

Oh and we know from experience, it doesn't matter how may teams made mistakes. You did and you got punished (just like we did and we got punished. it didn't matter that others wer eprovedn to have similar errors)
    Last edited by A face; 12/12/2005 at 2:36 AM.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Do eircom League clubs have grounds to ban him from their grounds in case something like this happens there.
    Lock him in the cage in Longford

Sure Ollies Hooligan tag is a badge of honour amoiung soem Shels support. Don't ye sing his song too?

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Sure Ollies Hooligan tag is a badge of honour amoiung soem Shels support. Don't ye sing his song too?

I don't know any Shels fans who like Ollie, I personally strongly dislike him and am fed up with people associating his actions with Shelbourne fans.
    The sports team from my area is superior to the sports team from your area.

Quote Originally Posted by MrJoeSoap
    I don't know any Shels fans who like Ollie, I personally strongly dislike him and am fed up with people associating his actions with Shelbourne fans.
    Things have changed a bit but was a time when Shels fans would never criticise him so they were seen to support him.

386 Posts
    I see on Djurgården's fan forum at they are looking at Wesley Hoolahan as well.....

Edit: Sorry this should be in the Jason Byrne thread.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Things have changed a bit but was a time when Shels fans would never criticise him so they were seen to support him.
    Shelbourne = The Appeasement Club
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by Raheny Red

The point here is that he has authority in your club. It does not say much for your club when you have a convicted criminal in charge of it. It does not say much for your club that he is still, after all the trouble he has been with virtually every other set of supporters, in a position of power.

He is a cancer in the league and it is very hard for the league to be taken seriously when you have someone of his pedigree in charge of one of its clubs. I'm not slagging your club or your supporters and am not anti shels. I am and always have been anti oily though. I have seen him at close quarters initiating trouble and he is a nasty piece of work.

If you truly want him out then do something about it.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast