Thread: Predictions for Englands 3 games

Thumbs up Predictions for Englands 3 games

not an easy group i feel, there underestimating paraguay already when they got beat by northern ireland!!!!!

England 0 0 Paraguay
    England 2 0 Trinidad & Tobago
    England 1 1 Sweden

England will finish 2nd with Sweden topping the group!!!!!
    "liverpool havent a hope, it could end up 5 or 6 to milan" Eamon Dunphy

p.s Fu*k u Dunphy

European Champions 2005:LIVERPOOL FOOTBALL CLUB

They will underestimate the Paraguayans. They are an unknown entity.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

England 3 Paraguay 0
    England 4 Trin and Tobago 1
    England 1 Sweden 2
    MOT

England 2 1Paraguay
    England 2 0 Trinidad & Tobago
    England 1 1 Sweden

England will beat Paraguay. T&T may well beat Paraguay.
    England will beat T&T easily.
    They will have qualification assured before the Swedish match and most likely result in that game is a draw.

Lads, I want England to slip up as much as the next man, but be realistic. They are easily the best team in the group, and by quite a margin. I don't expect them to play at their full potential, but they will still be far too good for Paraguay and T&T, predictions of upsets in those games are no more than wishfull thinking influenced by a dislike towards the English team.

I hope they don't finish on top of the group, but if all teams play at their best England will coast it, and for England to fail to top the group they will have to seriously underperform and the other sides will have to be at the very top of their game.

3,304 Posts
    I agree with ThatGuy, England should win the first 2 games, likewise Sweden leaving both sides already qualified going into the last game, with topping the group the only thing up for grabs in that game.
    As for the knock out stages, it could go either way - having such a handy group could leave the side in better shape after not having to exert themselves to qualify, or it could leave them short of competitive action and not ready for the challenge from a stronger side.
    Last edited by tetsujin1979; 14/12/2005 at 12:39 AM.

England got a group as easy as they could have hoped for but will still manage to make it hard for themselves. Their game plan is basically give the ball to Beckham who will control it, spend nearly 10 seconds looking around for a player 40 yards away before giving it Hollywood style to Rooney, after that, young Wayne will proceed to beat three players before smashing the ball into the top corner whilel simultaneously pulling a rabbit out of a hat. The "canny" swede will then deploy his "tactics" of eleven men behind the ball for the remainder of the game. The whisle will go for full time but Eiricsson will still insist that Beckham, Rooney, Owen and perhaps Terry to remain on the pitch.

Surprise, surprise England will get knocked out in the quarters by politically acceptable side and Sven negotiates a new £10m-a-year deal untill 2012. Sound familiar?
    A man is never really poor,
    if he can still laugh.

I'll be shouting for the other 3. Hope the tans get beatin and catch the early flight home
    Never eat yellow snow!!

57 Posts
    I think England will come out of the group maybe not as winners particularly if the Sweden game does not determine qualification.

However Paraguay are no pushovers. In France 98 they came out of a group incl Spain (knocked them out) and lost to champions France by the only goal in extra time. In 2002 they also come through the first phase losing to beaten finalists Germany by the only goal.

T&T are probably the weakest team in the finals but that doesn't always mean the group is easy.

Head says:

England 1 0 Paraguay
    England 5 0 Trinidad & Tobago
    England 1 1 Sweden

Heart says ( Whilst trying to keep it realistic ):

England 0 2 Paraguay
    England 0 1 Trinidad & Tobago
    England 0 3 Sweden

229 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    England will beat Paraguay. T&T may well beat Paraguay.
    England will beat T&T easily.
    They will have qualification assured before the Swedish match and most likely result in that game is a draw.

Lads, I want England to slip up as much as the next man, but be realistic. They are easily the best team in the group, and by quite a margin. I don't expect them to play at their full potential, but they will still be far too good for Paraguay and T&T, predictions of upsets in those games are no more than wishfull thinking influenced by a dislike towards the English team.

I hope they don't finish on top of the group, but if all teams play at their best England will coast it, and for England to fail to top the group they will have to seriously underperform and the other sides will have to be at the very top of their game.
    Good post which sum it up.

However,

1990 - Cameroon v Argentina
    2002 - Senegal v France

we live in hope!!!
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

are senegal going to germany?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

229 Posts
    nope - but plenty of underdogs there T&T & Paraguay for starters.....
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

Quote Originally Posted by gspain
    I think England will come out of the group maybe not as winners particularly if the Sweden game does not determine qualification.
    Doesn't matter does it. They'll definitely get beaten in the 2nd Rd or Quarters. Germany or Argentina isn't it?
    "...and it's Charlie Chaplin on the wing..."

Predictions:

England 2-2 Paraguay
    England 3-1 Trinidad & Tobago
    England 0-2 Sweden

good points

Quote Originally Posted by Coltron
    England got a group as easy as they could have hoped for but will still manage to make it hard for themselves. Their game plan is basically give the ball to Beckham who will control it, spend nearly 10 seconds looking around for a player 40 yards away before giving it Hollywood style to Rooney, after that, young Wayne will proceed to beat three players before smashing the ball into the top corner whilel simultaneously pulling a rabbit out of a hat. The "canny" swede will then deploy his "tactics" of eleven men behind the ball for the remainder of the game. The whisle will go for full time but Eiricsson will still insist that Beckham, Rooney, Owen and perhaps Terry to remain on the pitch.

Surprise, surprise England will get knocked out in the quarters by politically acceptable side and Sven negotiates a new £10m-a-year deal untill 2012. Sound familiar?
    Too true and yet they were only found out in the last world cup by the brazilians running direct at the central defenders as the swedes idea of beckham, gerrard and lampart all having to play in midfield only messes it up for them. England to top the group but Holland to win out the comp.

England will do well but with Germany in Group A and at home, they have to play them in the Second Round or Quarters. They'll go out then, imo.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

214 Posts
    Eng 1 Paraguay 0 (flukey penalty wins them the day, Swen gets it in the neck the next day)

Eng 2 Trinidad 0 (Owen and Rooney score one apiece and all of a sudden England will win the world cup.....)

Eng 1 Sweden 2 (GET IN!!!!)

Quote Originally Posted by Junior
    nope - but plenty of underdogs there T&T & Paraguay for starters.....
    T & T captain Dwight Yorke has been very (very!) poor for Sydney FC since he came back from WC qualifying. Either he is saving himself for the finals (in which case you have to question his match fitness in June) or the travel to T & T, Bahrain for qualifying has took its toll.

Note that, at the latest, he finishes playing in Oz in March, which means that unless he goes on loan to another club (can you do that outside the transfer window??) he will have had no club games for up to 12 weeks before the WC finals- Not ideal preparation...

care,care,care.
    j'accuse!