Thread: eircom League Fanzines

3,488 Posts

eircom League Fanzines

What fanzines are knocking around the league at the moment?

Just saw Galway might be getting one for next season,

I heard someone say FourFiveOne (Cork) is no more? Not sure what to make of that - have a very nice niche and do a lot of work for the club.

STIG (UCD) had its 50th issue recently and is still going,

Red Inc (Shels) still going.

What about the other ones of recent years ...

Forza Drogs (Drogheda),
    Blue Till I Die (Waterford),
    Out on a Lim (Limerick),
    One F In Longford (Longford),
    Osam Is Doubtful (Pat's),
    1984 (Bohs),
    Down to the River (Harps),
    The Tribal Bible (Galway)?

Are any still going (think a couple are), or what happened to them? How come the likes of Derry or Shamrock Rovers don't have a fanzine?
    Last edited by A face; 09/12/2005 at 3:39 PM.

Well I'll be starting work on ForzaDrogs 2006 shortly for the new season. I had to take a break this year due to other commitments.

Hopefully now seeing as we've won the cup a few more heads will appear at Utd Park so that I can get rid of more.

Is FourFiveOne gone? That's very surprising if its true.
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

Down the the River has sadly been dormant for about 2 years now since one of its producers joined the board and the other fecked off and had a family with a Galway United fan!!!! There are I think aspirations to bring it back sometime, but no immediate plans.

I bought 451 both times I was in Cork this season so if its gone it must be a recent development.

T

3,488 Posts
    The website is being revamped at the moment, so it looks like it's still going. Heard the rumour out in Longford and didn't see the fanzine when I was down in Cork (doesn't mean much in itself), but interested myself to confirm it as well.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    The website is being revamped at the moment, so it looks like it's still going. Heard the rumour out in Longford and didn't see the fanzine when I was down in Cork (doesn't mean much in itself), but interested myself to confirm it as well.
    There was an issue for the last game of the season against Derry. I's be surprised if it finished up. There is also another fanzine - IWOTO (I Was Out There Once).
    Last edited by A face; 09/12/2005 at 3:40 PM.

and I heard someone say FourFiveOne is no more?
    FourFiveOne is the longest running and most successful fanzine in the league, it's not gone anywhere.
    Champions!

3,488 Posts
    Good to hear! Although it's not the longest running - Red Inc is (back to 1999-ish). STIG started up at the exact same time as FourFive One as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    FourFiveOne is the longest running and most successful fanzine in the league, it's not gone anywhere.
    My hole! I think you'll find that honour belongs to Red Inc.

What about that other one by the corkies i.w.t.o. or something like that???
    Sitting pretty!!!

How come the likes of Derry or Shamrock Rovers don't have a fanzine?
    Simple answer is cos of the net. By the time you'd get to print something the rumour would have changed hundreds of times!!

The best fanzine was the excellent Glenmalure Gazette that ran from 89 to 91.

Fair play to people still doing fanzines, but in the age of the internet they are pretty much obsolete in my opinion.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    My hole! I think you'll find that honour belongs to Red Inc.

What about that other one by the corkies i.w.t.o. or something like that???

bought red inc at the last city game in tolka.wasn't too taken by it.judging by that issue i's say 451 is better and funnier.more images in it also.

IWOTO is the name of the other fanzine.its not bad.smaller than 451.
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by That Guy
    Fair play to people still doing fanzines, but in the age of the internet they are pretty much obsolete in my opinion.
    I disagree entirely. First off, they don't have to just contain rumour, news and match reports - they can contain original humour and viewpoints. Very easy to create a niche for a fanzine. Secondly, the internet doesn't bring in any money (directly). Fanzines, on the other hand, do, and it usually goes directly to a Supporters' Club who can do a lot with the money. STIG bought UCD scarves and keyrings, funds away buses and other things which we wouldn't otherwise be able to afford.

Quote Originally Posted by ThatGuy
    I'd diagree with that as well. The fanzine's that I sold to people at Utd Park were mainly people who didn't have access or didn't bother going on the internet for stuff like that.

I decided to make it in a way like a magazine, plenty of images, nice fonts, layout etc.. so that it looks good and also read able.

I remember getting the Longford fanzine, There's one F in Longford, and no offence to the lads who did it, but it was shockingly brutal! I mean it was not appealing at all and it was E2 as well for about 6 pages.

That's the sort of thing that doesn't last, while I still charge E1 for a 20 page publication and people appreciate that.
    Forzadrogs.....A blog by a Drog with an opinion!

Quote Originally Posted by ollie
    bought red inc at the last city game in tolka.wasn't too taken by it.judging by that issue i's say 451 is better and funnier.more images in it also.

IWOTO is the name of the other fanzine.its not bad.smaller than 451.
    Well see the thing about Red Inc. is that its meant soley for Redmen, although I can see your point, we would have an entirely different view on this!!!

I got a copy of IWOTO last time at the X, it was ok but too anti shelbourne!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    Beat me to it !!

Definitely the best out there by far compared to any of the others i have seen in the league.
    Last edited by A face; 09/12/2005 at 8:10 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Drogman.
    I remember getting the Longford fanzine, There's one F in Longford, and no offence to the lads who did it, but it was shockingly brutal! I mean it was not appealing at all and it was E2 as well for about 6 pages.
    What? One F is the only fanzine to feature a Leathanach Bán!

I got a copy of IWOTO last time at the X, it was ok but too anti shelbourne!!!
    You weren't the target market

Ah right, thanks Pete, I get confused sometimes as you well know!!!!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

it was ok but too anti shelbourne!!!
    You can never be too anti-Shelbourne!

Whatever happened to EMFA - Every Man A Football Artist? - got a few copies down in Kilkenny years and years ago but haven't heard anything lately.