Thread: Transfers

Just took this from the Shels board, with so many decent midfielders on the bench surely we could take one or two on loan, what with the general good will between the clubs? Just a thought...

Pick from Wes, Ndo, Crawford, Byrne, Reynolds, Chambers, Tyrrell, Cahill, Ryan, Baker, O'Halloran

Far to many midfielders for a 1st team squad. Chambers should be loaned out for 1st team experience, worked wonders for Tyrrell with us last season, come to think of it, well have him back again this season That would still leave ya with 9 playing for 4 spots.......

Chambers is a mate of mine and should definately be loaned out . would be a good acqusition.had been attracting interest from aberdeen earlier in the season but decided to stay.also a youth international and would add a bit of creativity to our midfield

Well may I be the first to say, get on the case Blue Man! Try not to ask for too much commision though (unless it's from his goal bonus )

heard dave ennis about to sign for bray any news about this blue man? good young keeper and all that!!!!

dunno where you get your transfer speculation from dublin wanderer but you should definately sack your source.
    4th official"Dermot, relax with the swearing" .Keely"Ah its grand, he's me son"

reports today suggest that we have signed john lester and are interested in kevin doherty.any official word on this

An official at another EL club told me ages ago (well before we'd signed anyone anyway) that Lester would be signing for us, but then it never happened, so I'd say we're interested in him at least. Also read on a UCD thread that Sean Finn has signed for us, although again no official confirmation. Finner's a very good player, he trained with us while he was at Waterford, but I've been told on more then one occasion that his attitude can really stink. I played for a few years with his brothers, and they're all nice fellas, I might five one of them a call and see what the story is.

Quote Originally Posted by Blue Man
    reports today suggest that we have signed john lester and are interested in kevin doherty.any official word on this
    you seem to come across alot of reports and rumours, blue man, are you involved in dublin city in any way? you were very quick in protecting young davey ennis - its all very interesting isnt it????

oh by the way kevin doherty is signing with bray....

we were about to sign lester last year but devo thought we had better options at the club already - i'd have to agree with devo on that anyway

Quote Originally Posted by Maynard
    An official at another EL club told me ages ago (well before we'd signed anyone anyway) that Lester would be signing for us, but then it never happened, so I'd say we're interested in him at least. Also read on a UCD thread that Sean Finn has signed for us, although again no official confirmation. Finner's a very good player, he trained with us while he was at Waterford, but I've been told on more then one occasion that his attitude can really stink. I played for a few years with his brothers, and they're all nice fellas, I might five one of them a call and see what the story is.

Well it appears I've saved myself the price of a local call, as the Trasfers thread says that Sean Finn has signed for Dundalk...Really hope we can get Lester so, cause we need some polish in our midfield. On another note, looks like Giller is putting a fine side together in the wee county, they should challenge...Met a lad last night who's Da played cricket regularly with Giller, and appartently the little fella was a dab hand at it too! I repeat cricket

Just had a peek at the speculation thread and one Waterford fan says Lestor has left and is signing for us, and that Doherty is going to either us or Bohs...

Quote Originally Posted by dublinwanderer
    you seem to come across alot of reports and rumours, blue man, are you involved in dublin city in any way? you were very quick in protecting young davey ennis - its all very interesting isnt it????

oh by the way kevin doherty is signing with bray....

we were about to sign lester last year but devo thought we had better options at the club already - i'd have to agree with devo on that anyway
    The Jason Byrne transfer is back on apparently.Suits Bray down to the ground doesn't it!!i saw the lad play against Limerick and thought he done well under very difficult circumstances that night.And yes I am involved in Dublin City as its the club i support!!Barcode 2nite!!!??

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue Man
    And yes I am involved in Dublin City as its the club i support!!
    I thought you supported Leeds?

Not interested in Lester, tbh. I've learned from bitter experience that chronically unfit players seldom change their ways, no matter how vociferous their assurances to the contrary. Not sure who else is available, though. Cottsy would be ideal for that role, but it's not gonna happen with Keely in charge.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

I can officially quash the Lester rumour. Not going to happen, on grounds of fittness. The search continues...

Mick O'Donnell from UCD...not really sure what to make of it. On the face of it,probably good to have some experience at this level, which he obvioulsy has bucketloads of...just hope he's not past it, wondering why Mahon let him go after 10 years at the club, maybe he's knows something we don't?

Dublin City have just signed defender Keith Doyle who had been available since his release from Shamrock Rovers a short while ago.

Doyle was a member of the Rovers side who were defeated by the Vikings over the two legged relegation playoff last November.

Doyle becomes the eigth signing of the close season for Dermot Keely, as he prepares to keep the premier division new boys in the top flight.

apparently you have taken another drog in the form of hot shot hamish stewie malcolm. another good signing, looking good for yiz lads fair play

What source have you got on that one? Is he any good? What position etc...Cheers

It was on LMFM and someone involved in the club told me the same yesterday - hes a centre half - average enough, wouldnt get a look into our side next season, will do a job for ye anyway. Hes a big falkirk supporter too
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

It seems to be a done deal, as it has appeared on the official Transfers thread in the general forum.

I heard he's a big fecker...any chance he could play up front with any effect? All we have up there are speedy buggers...

any chance he could play up front with any effect? All we have up there are speedy buggers...
    He played up front for us a few times last season - he didnt do very well

Decent enough signing regardless though
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS