Thread: Cup final and Fai

Cup final and Fai

I was at the cup final and enjoyed the day despite the result (Im from Cork). And yes the game wasnt the best but it wasnt that bad either. Anyway the whole experience could easilly have been improved if only for those FAIlures holding us as a league back again

Firstly with O Donovan and Murphy missing for Cork Woods and O'Halloran decent players that they are were never going to make up for those players being omited because of suspension - They got booked in a league game and missed the showpiece of the domestic season - bloddy disgrace. Surely from now on they should miss the first league game of the new season?

Also when I got into the ground at about 2.55 there was a brilliant atmosphere brewing but who was there to ruin it - the FAI. They were blasting the music over the tannoy and as a result the two brilliant sets of supporters in particular the rebel army (they had a roof over their head) couldnt be heard as loudly as they should have been.

The pitch was a disgrace

The match should have been played earlier in the year which would have ment better playing conditions.

Also Im all for promoting the womens game but why the hell was it played in Lansdowne? and before such a crucial game? - the showpiece of the domestic season - crazy decision yet again by the fai. I mean the fai didnt even plan on holding the mens cup final in Lansdowne at first.

The pa announcer also clearly knew fcuk all about the eircom league

joema .... some valid points there, you should email the FAI with them .... at least then they will be aware of where they went wrong and get it right next year.

info@fai.ie

It'd be worth while !!

Its a conspiracy I tell ye!!!

Yeah, I will e-mail them I doubt I'll get a reply though as I never have before.

The stewerding was also a disgrace anyone who was at the match would have witnessed that first hand and why were there so many stewards oin the empty north terrace and west upper?

Anyway no use moaning here I'll send them an e-mail.

The Stewards in Lansdowne are a complete joke.The 2 years we were there people were sitting in our seats and when we pointed this out they just said "what do you want me to do bud?"
    "At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill

Quote Originally Posted by joema

The stewerding was also a disgrace
    In fairness to the stewards that I dealt with they were spot on - let us bring in our tifo poles no bother - the guards on the other hand made it as difficult as possible for us to get them in
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

The Fai should hold a fans function once a month or so to get the fans opinions on what they are doing right and doing wrong in realtion to the EL. This will result in the league improving dramatically
    Winners are workers,
    Losers make excuses.

Quote Originally Posted by mchurl
    The Fai should hold a fans function once a month or so to get the fans opinions on what they are doing right and doing wrong in realtion to the EL. This will result in the league improving dramatically
    They used to employ an Englishman who had the same crazy ideas - they made sure he wasn't around for too long.
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

Quote Originally Posted by mchurl
    Join the NLSA.

I thought Billy Woods was very effective in the first half. But agree nobody should miss a Cup Final cos of suspension. Ridiculous.

Lads really don't know what will get the FAI in shape at this stage, all I could really suggest is that they should get a few foreigners in to ad a bit of diversity and new ideas to the board!
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

The stewards were straight off the dole! they were shockingly unhelpful. 'i dunno bud try him over there, oh he said that did he well tell him to f*&k off" then when a man had a heat attack at the end of the game one dim steward tried to clear the gate (the only gate exiting the east stand and terrace maybe 15000 people) "get outta the way will yeeeze theres a kid in the ambulance ) but he was fighting a lost cause as the ambulence wasnt ready to go yet, the dart gates were down so the people couldnt move anywhere anway. But that stadium is a death trap and should be pulled down now and not rebuilt there. look at the plans for the new one with a little shed at one end. ambition my arse!

Stewards are also useless for international matches. Must be 2000 of them in the ground but they don't seemed to do anything. From myexperience they rarely know where seats are in the ground except for pointing in general direction.

The FAI also kept the gate onot Lansdowne Road behind the West stand closed so no one could bypass the congestion behind the Dart barrier.

Little crowd segregation in East Lower as drogs fans apparently littered amoung some City sectrions.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    The FAI also kept the gate onto Lansdowne Road behind the West stand closed so no one could bypass the congestion behind the Dart barrier.
    They were open when I was going out, saved me a good 10 minutes I'd say.

Quote Originally Posted by joema
    The match should have been played earlier in the year which would have ment better playing conditions.
    The league should start earlier and end earlier, if we're going to have a summer season - Cup final October Bank Holiday Sunday and the last game of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    They were open when I was going out, saved me a good 10 minutes I'd say.
    Even more bizarre. Means they were open but deliberately closed.

I hung around til the end but heard for someone who left at FT that they were closed when he walked past.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Even more bizarre. Means they were open but deliberately closed.

I hung around til the end but heard for someone who left at FT that they were closed when he walked past.
    I stayed for the cup presentation BTW so maybe they only opened them a bit after FT?

I walked around that way, probably about 5-10 mins after the final whistle and left through the back of the west stand, beat you to the boozer too!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

I'm very confused now. 10,000 people standing on cold dark lansdowne road while dart gate closed & gate is closed...