Thread: Why can't Shelbourne keep fans off the pitch?

I'm sorry but this has to be said;

"kids will be kids".

I know they should be stopped. But look at it this way:

Steward sees Little Johny trying to climb the fence onto the pitch.
    Steward tries to prevent Little Johny from getting onto the pitch.
    Little Johny falls, hurts himself.
    Steward..................FCúKED.
    Who Cares?!

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Crushing? Are you serious? You have 9,500 seats and fill 10% of them for most of your games.

They are allowed as long as there is access to the pitch so put them up but keep the gates. IMO they should have kept the fences in tolka, dalymount and oriel.

Ny Hoop, safety rules are not in place for 10% filled stadiums but on the basis of a capacity crowd. Hence why I said crushing.

And in response to the Kids will be Kids, Kids are little nightmares these days and the kids on the pitch in tolka are cheeky feckers.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Over there they have these see through dividers not dissimilar to what you see at certain bus shelters here. You cant break, smash or burn them.

Put these up and you wipe out ALL pitch invasions. Naturally the cost is something to look into
    But why incur the cost when stewards are paid for already ??

The stewards should do a better job, if then that doesn't work, look at another measure, but surely right now it is a waste of money having stewards stand there doing nothing ...... if you were to ask any steward what their job actually is, what answer would they give ?? ....,. and consider there are possible fines for pitch invasions. It is something they should be looking at.

EnDai .... you said there were Cork fans on the pitch after the game ?? Are you serious about that ?? ..... to the best of my knowledge, there were none ... our event controller is at all the away games.

A face, our stewards are voluntary!

Yes there were a few Cork fans on the pitch
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Sorry ... didn't realise that !!

Aye, there was a fair few got on and started walking towards the New Stand. Kept their distance but they were on the pitch. But it all comes back to the same point, if there was proper stuff in place they couldn't get onto the pitch...!
    God

In fairness EnDai, I know the vast majority of Shels' fans acknowledge it, but it's every game, the day will come when even I'm going to take a short cut to my car straight across the Tolka pitch too, if the stewards can't control your own fans, no fan of another club will have respect for them.

The only time I've ever run on a pitch was a few weeks back when we won the league, but I 'police' myself, I wouldn't go on a pitch because I know the hassle groundsmen up and down the country go to keeping them right.

It'll cause long term hassle for you, As Gareth said, the mesh in Dalymount would work fine and it's inexpensive.
    The wise words of by far the most unbiased, intelligent poster across all the EL forums.

57 Posts
    Sorry - when was the game(s) in question in the first post played?

I thought the season ended 2 and a half weeks ago?

Or is this dragging up old ground just to have a pop at people just for the hell of it?

I thought this subject was debated and closed off last month?

What next - threads on sausages, nuts, Ollie having a pop at photographers, pitch painting, ground sales and theft of shoes?
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir
    Or is this dragging up old ground just to have a pop at people just for the hell of it?
    Are you being serious ??

Shels employ "professional" stewards. They don't just use voluntary ones. The problem is that Ollie is too mean and won't pay for sufficient stewarding. The point about it being only children is a nonsense. Rovers probably have more children going to games than any other Dublin club and pitch incursions are rare. Also, in Ireland it is not an offense to go onto the pitch so the Gardai on duty at a match tend not to get involved.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam Savic
    Shels employ "professional" stewards. They don't just use voluntary ones. The problem is that Ollie is too mean and won't pay for sufficient stewarding.
    A small bit of indifference there i'd say ..... Gareth, Slash ... anyone know what the story is ??

Just to throw a cat amongst the pigeons here, but isn't that against the Licensing rules? I thought you had to have professional stewarding at your games.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

To be honest I personally thought that there was a group of stewards/security hired for the occassion and that was complimented by a number of volunteers. I will be sure and find out.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Thats what I would have thought, unless the paid lads are out on the road, which in turn would be withen licencing laws.

A face, the stewards you see in tolka park, unless its a big game are voluntary, for a big match one of those shítty security groups come in and ruin everyones night!!! Also there is often more Gardaí in tolka which may also come under paid security????

It písses me off as well when this happens at the end of the games, so don't think I'm defending it!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Pitch invasions used to be a nightmare at the end of every game at The Brandywell, Derry have recieved fines for it. Thankfully a concerted effort by the Stewards aided by the fans has (please don't let me put the blight on it) stopped invading 'kids'.
    At the end of the day 'kids' aren't our responsibility unless we bring them but if we can help the club out by policing them a bit then we should - some of them are a nightmare though.
    As for that pish about if a steward goes to stop a kid and the kid falls the steward if fooked, thats rubbish. A reverse case in court wouldn't be long in getting the wee scrote to change their mind.
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

BOTH voluntary and "professionals" are used for the matchdays in Tolka. The volunteers are just fans who wanna give a hand.

As far as I am aware these volunteers offered to do this a couple of seasons back after the flood of Tolka. They offered to do this as most of the money was spent repairing the damage and therefore not alot of money could be spent for "professional" stewards to be hired.

I'm not 100% aware of this matter so if I am wrong someone please correct me.
    Who Cares?!

Nah, there's always been voluntary stewards at tolka
    Sitting pretty!!!

Nah, there's always been voluntary stewards at tolka
    Yeah some of those 50 year old guys been waering the same bib since they were 18.

Probably!!!

tbh though up until last season, we used to even bring our own stewards to Dalyer, and some Dublin teams would bring stewards to tolka, don't know if this still happens???
    Sitting pretty!!!

288 Posts

Terryland Park

The walls as yee might have seen n galway are 2 foot high around the pitch.

It used to be a problem with kids and big kids using it as a shortcut to get out quickly. They seem to have solved the problem tho.

Plenty of stewards along the sideline. Mind you i misd the whole second half of the season, but it was working before that