Agree with ALL of that. And you'll find all Shels fans do
everytime i've been there, (ok, 3 times, but still, i've seen it on tv and other have agreed with me) there have been people running on the pitch either during or after the match. do they not get fined?
now, i'm not saying it wasnt entertaining when 30 or so little gobshítes run in front of us giving us the finger, etc. to celebrate a momentous draw, only to be reminded that they're not champions any more. i'm just curious, do ye pay your stewards no?
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
Agree with ALL of that. And you'll find all Shels fans do
cause their mammy's tell them to play on the grass and not on the road!![]()
Get over it, young kids run on because they like to say they've been on the pitch, its a very hard stadium to steward in, but yes, it would be better if they stayed off!!!Originally Posted by GavinZac
30 or so little gobshytes giving the finger??? What about the amount of Cork fans on the pitch that day??? What about the 5 or 6 have a go hero's trying to get down to the new stand where we were taking down flags, why did Rico have to tell them to f*** off??? Why indeed GavinZac
Sitting pretty!!!
its just the bloody rulesOriginally Posted by Drumcondra Red
don't you get fined for fans running on the pitch?
how is harder than any other ground in the country?its a very hard stadium to steward in
i saw 3 or 4 who went on a few minutes after the game, presumably because they thought it was ok because shels fans were out there? and there was a lot more than 30 on the pitch but it was mainly the kiddies (and a few daddies30 or so little gobshytes giving the finger??? What about the amount of Cork fans on the pitch that day???) running over to us.
enlighten me, i dont know what you're on about.What about the 5 or 6 have a go hero's trying to get down to the new stand where we were taking down flags, why did Rico have to tell them to f*** off??? Why indeed GavinZac
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
There is a certain mentality amoungst some posters here to go on the all out assault on a valid point raised. I think a simple mesh like operated in Dalymount would sort the problem out and maybe fill in the broken walls around the pitch. The gap under the rail around should possibly be filled in. As a Shels fan, I think its ridiculous as it happens too often. And the kids are obnoxious too.
For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie
surely none of that will make a difference unless the stewarding improves?Originally Posted by Gareth
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
There was a load of Cork fans on the pitch after the final whistle, but theat comes back to the original point - inadequate stewarding/facilities/etc. The guards stood there staring at me blankly when I politely questioned from the front of the New Stand what they planned on doing about the people on the pitch. People were hopping the barrier beside the guards, who stood there and looked confused.
God
I don't think the stewarding could really "improve" as such, the only possible other solution would be increased man-power which isn't cheap. The wire mesh solution isn't a bad one, it will certainly stop the small kids getting on, leaving a smaller number for stewards to deal with.Originally Posted by GavinZac
Its not a serious problem, tbh, but it costs us and could be rectified quite easily I reckon.
The sports team from my area is superior to the sports team from your area.
In fairness EnDai, I know the vast majority of Shels' fans acknowledge it, but it's every game, the day will come when even I'm going to take a short cut to my car straight across the Tolka pitch too, if the stewards can't control your own fans, no fan of another club will have respect for them.Originally Posted by EnDai
The only time I've ever run on a pitch was a few weeks back when we won the league, but I 'police' myself, I wouldn't go on a pitch because I know the hassle groundsmen up and down the country go to keeping them right.
It'll cause long term hassle for you, As Gareth said, the mesh in Dalymount would work fine and it's inexpensive.
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
How convenient!Originally Posted by GavinZac
Its tougher to steward because of the way the rails are and because its over a lot wider area then anybody else, the mesh idea is best but its been suggested and implemented before (European games) but the gaps remained open, the obvious suggestion is to invest in more stewards, but not hired goons!
The Gardaí seem to think that they're only there for a laugh, and security companies think they're there to keep a lookout for Rovers fans! Its a joke on both counts!![]()
Sitting pretty!!!
You're exactly right. I just pointed out about Cork fans to GavinZac. Agree with everything you say tbh, a man of wise words. Lol.Originally Posted by tiktok
God
In reply to GavinZac asking about surely it makes no difference unless you improve stewarding. The Mesh is improving Stewarding as lifting up a large mesh will actually give them a job to do other than lazily walking after kids they can't remove physically for fear of legal action. the Mesh would require possibly five stewards at each end and maybe 10 on the sides. Volunteers can do it. The problem is the wall round tolka is very low and 3 years olds could hop itBack to the days of the cage around tolka
You have no idea how tempting the jokes are GarethOriginally Posted by Gareth
Anyone ever been to a Seria A game?
Over there they have these see through dividers not dissimilar to what you see at certain bus shelters here. You cant break, smash or burn them.
Put these up and you wipe out ALL pitch invasions. Naturally the cost is something to look into..........
I can still see kids dumb enough to try break them. Picture kid bouncing 10 feet back after running against it. Probably against rules in case of crushing in stadiums in Ireland seeing as we have such small grounds.
how about just building a creche??
arent we all just magic little monkeys...
Play Nice MM. Flancare isn't that bad in fairnessOriginally Posted by monkey magic
Crushing? Are you serious? You have 9,500 seats and fill 10% of them for most of your games.Originally Posted by Gareth
They are allowed as long as there is access to the pitch so put them up but keep the gates. IMO they should have kept the fences in tolka, dalymount and oriel.
Tolka usually has half the ground closed but still the stewards are unable or unwilling to do anything. I don't see as a serious problem but the league needs to enforce rules fairly on all grounds.
I think Cork City ensure that all u-12s are accompanied which certainly helps as well as independent "professional" security. In my experience its rare that a warning is announced at the game.