[QUOTE=Peadar]
I've just checked my ticket and it does not mention having to cheer for a team from a county you despise, should Cork City FC fail to win.
Why do you despise Louth ? Strange.........
It was a great crowd so congrats to both sides on that.Whether you like it or not Bandwagoner's are very important for big matches and if they didn't turn up you probably would have had a gate of about 8,000 or so and that's being generous.People can't be to surprised about fans leaving early,it happens at every match in every ground in the country so no clubs fans are better than Cork or Drogheda and they are no better than anyone else.
What is annoying about the whole thing is Rico and co in the paper whinging about the pitch.Drogheda had to play on the same pitch so get over it.As they say "it's a bad man that blames his tools".
"At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill
[QUOTE=Peadar]
I've just checked my ticket and it does not mention having to cheer for a team from a county you despise, should Cork City FC fail to win.
Why do you despise Louth ? Strange.........
I doubt Rico is saying that we lost because of the pitch.Originally Posted by Wiseguy
He told me on Sunday night that the football would have been better on a better pitch and therefore a better spectacle.
I'm talking about the fact that noisewise no one can touch Derry. I know that every club in the EL and most other leagues have a large segment of gloryhunters in their ranks when things are going well. The real fans are the ones there even when the team are doing sh!t. A class example of this will be Rovers next season.Originally Posted by Peadar
I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway
The point is not cork fans leaving early, its the fact that its a cup final and there will be a presentation at the end. would any of them have left early to beat traffic if it was cork getting the cup I doubt it. I was there as a neutral in one of the most open part of the stadium freezing my nuts off and felt that it was important to stay to applaud the victors whoever they were. That's what being a true eL fan is all about IMO.Originally Posted by Wiseguy
I'm really happy for you mate, you're such a hero!Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
It's far easier for a "neutral" (judging by your comments you were never up for Cork) to cheer the winners than it is for the fans of the losing side.
Anyway, what you do is your own business.
I will never be such a hypocrite as to pretend that I like anything about Drogheda. I did my generic applause and left.
Would you not stay to applaud/cheer for your own team getting their runners up medals?Originally Posted by Peadar
[QUOTE=ollie]Rovers - relegated yet sing til the end
they were playing at home.small attendance (no traffic to worry about)short- distance home( FRIDAY NIGHT)Fair play to them though.credit where its due
Actually we were in tolka and there was more than 3,000 at it.
IMO anyone who attends EL games is a hero (except CHF of course!).
I applauded the teams after the final whistle but have no interest in seeing the FAI put up a stage to show everyone what a great day they made it for everyone and how lucky we are to be there.Originally Posted by Schumi
Besides, I'm not interested in second place.
Your judgement is quite wrong I was in the east lower uncovered row oneOriginally Posted by Peadar
basically right behind the cork fans on the east terrace and couldn't help myself but join in on some of your chants (quite unoriginal mostly...not a slagging just mho) also my daughter was wearing a green white and red headband and waving a cork flag (she's only three and I let her choose what colour flag she wanted) so to say I was cheering for the droggs is a misconception I just hoped to see a good game with a winner either way as I'd promised my daughter she'd see the big cup at the end (try explaining replay's to a three year old) was quite pleased for droggs in the end cause I used to work with deco o'brien a few years ago, but would have been equally happy to see cork win as the've been excellent this year. on it being easy for neutrals to stay behind that's utter Bu!!sh!t I stayed for the presentation to Dundalk when they beat us a couple of years ago and in flanclare when Longford beat us in the League cup. as for your dig insinuating that I'm blowing my own trumpet cop on I'm not looking for praise or slapping my self on the back I'll leave that to you corkies
Jebus Peadar Ive met you and know you are a decent and intellegent bloke so I'll assume that the above post is a momentary slip into insanity and the real peader will be back promptlyOriginally Posted by Peadar
same thing really.only a stone throw away.still a smallish crowd.Originally Posted by NY Hoop
Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months
Well not the same thing really and if 3,000+ is a smallish crowd in EL terms then you need to increase or decrease your medication!Originally Posted by ollie
most of us didOriginally Posted by Schumi
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
Fair enuf but you can't really expect many bandwagoners to stay on after losing.I'm sure a lot of Cork fans were p1ssed off after losing and probably thought to themselves "fcuk this i'm not hanging around i want to get home asap".Whether it's right or wrong all clubs would have some fans who do it.Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
"At the age of twelve, my ambition was to become a gangster. To be a wiseguy was better than being President of the United States. To be a wiseguy was to own the world." - Henry Hill
dont see what the big issue is here. the cork fans singing section was still bouncing up and down well after the final whistle and into the presentation (being lansdowne i couldn't hear them sing, but you could be sure they were). so what if a few day-trippers left early, and some die hards to - they came to see cork, and it is understandable if they didn't want to see our loads going mental with the trophy.
there is no need for petty points scoring against cork fans on this - on the day they were an absolute credit to their club.
anyway back to the topic, more praise for drogs please![]()
you know what i'm getting at...Originally Posted by NY Hoop
i was thinking of the crowd traffic wise.3,000 isn't huge by any stretch of the imagination.sizable but not very big.a lot of them i would presume would walk/take the bus/dart home or go to the pub afterwards which wouldn't lead to huge traffic problems.
Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months
Originally Posted by ColinR
Exactly, so a few band wagoners left early (along with Peadar apparently). The hardcore City support stayed on and kept singing and as someone said fair play to the Drogs no. 2 for coming over.
Back on topic: Fair play to Drogheda, the better team on the day won.
"Allow children to learn by making their own mistakes, laughing at their stupidity often helps."
Lads ... there are video clips on the ccfc.ie forum .... i'll post hem up here later and you can see for yourselves how many are there. There pictures dont lie.Originally Posted by Schumi
Originally Posted by ColinR
Fair play Colin....![]()