Thread: Alan Quinn

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts

Alan Quinn

Think he's the first player to score for both sides in the Sheffield derbys. Murphy is doing ok but now needs to score - he's had a few decent chances. Partridges contract is due for renewal any day now. Hope he stays. A little support for him on the Wednesday board:

http://boards.footymad.net/mboard/fm...mid=2139428044

COughlan is an immense player at centre-half. How come he never even got close to the squad in the days of Breen, O'Brien etc ?

Whelan continues to play well.

2,796 Posts
    This is what I said on another thread. How much of the game did you see? Would be interested to hear your views. If we had a competitive game next week I'd have Coughlan in the squad. He's streets ahead of Doherty and McCrathy & McShane couldn't be trusted in a competitive game yet, though could use the squad experience.

All the Irish impressed me from the TV highlights, except Partridge [only featured once in the highlights and played a poor ball across the box when a good ball could have led to a goal].

Whelan's passing is superb. Quinn was as industrious as ever & scored a good goal. Murphy was really unlucky not to score with a curling shot that had Kenny beaten all ends up. Kenny had a very solid game. Coughlan played well too & is always a threat from corners. I reckon he's probably our 4th or 5th best CB at the moment, though he's probably found his level. I like the look at that Norther Ireland lad Brunt. I've seen him a few times now & wish he was ours!

3,501 Posts
    Take a look at his history - http://www.soccerbase.com/players_de...?playerid=9690 - he didn't play regularly until Livingston took a chance on him and brought him to the Scottish Second Division, under Sturrock as well IIRC, at the same time Breen, Cunningham, Staunton would all have been playing regularly in the Championship/Division 1 or Premiership, so it's not surprising he wasn't noticed.

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88
    This is what I said on another thread. How much of the game did you see? Would be interested to hear your views.
    Was visiting the outlaws in Galway so only saw the highlights you saw. Murphy looks a useful player but he needs to put his chances away. He's missed 3 now for Wednesday (he was 1 on 1 with the keeper against Stoke and missed). The word "industrious" describes Quinn down to a tee - a good Championship player. Partridge hasn't made much of an impact - he might need to drop another league again and then if he doesn't make it there, the EL will beckon. Perhaps though another 6 months at Hillsboro might see him progress a bit more.

Whelan is not unlike Roy Keane but gives the ball away too much though. Can spray the passes around.

Sturrock had Coughlan at Plymouth where he was a great favourite. At 31 though he doesn't have an international future I am afraid.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan
    Sturrock had Coughlan at Plymouth where he was a great favourite. At 31 though he doesn't have an international future I am afraid.
    I thought he was late 20s.

794 Posts
    November 18 1974.

2,796 Posts
    OK, so he's a young 31 then

Coughlan got promotion something like 4 times in 6 seasons (twice with Livingston and twice with Plymouth).

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Coughlan got promotion something like 4 times in 6 seasons (twice with Livingston and twice with Plymouth).
    I think that will be 4 out of 7 But it does show what a decent centre half he is.

43 Posts
    Was at the match lads. Apparently Quinn and Brondby are the only two players to have played for both teams in a derby. The owls didn't turn up in the first 30mins and Quinn was superb for the pigs. Murphy actually played well and Coughlin played ok in the second half - he was all over the place in the first half. I can see why he was overlooked. Don't rate him as international standard though. Graham up front is absolute brock - I've seen better Finn Harps players. The owls badly lack bite in the midfield, Whelan is ok and has found his level I think. Need a big centre forward - I heard a few guys talk about Geoff Horsfield, maybe he would be a good signing.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lofty9
    Whelan is ok and has found his level I think.
    I can see Whelan developing into a really good player. Kris Camara raves about his passing every time the Owls are on TV. He's 22 in January though, so a little older than I thought he was. But I'll stck my neck on the line and say he'll captain Ireland within 4 years!

71 Posts
    Should this go to the Ireland forum?

Btw, I don't think Sturrock ever managed Livingston.

Quinn and Bromby are the only two players ever to play for both Sheffield teams alright (can't take Sheffield City seriously) and because of that fact they are both dead in my eyes! all joking aside is that scumbag Quinn were to score the winning goal against England in the World Cup final for Ireland I wouldn't praise the b@stard. Did any of ye catch the sob stories in last weekends papers about how Quinn was run out of Wednesday, the club he loves, by the board? Now I'm no fan of the Wednesday board but they offered him a contract, he wouldn't sign it cause he wanted more money and left on a bosman, fair enough, didn't begrudge him in the slightest, he was/is too good for League One anyway. But to jump across to United when teams like Sunderland and apparantly Spurs were looking at him smacks of disrespect to the Wednesday faithful. Then to put out the sob stories last weekend to try to justify it was just sheer panic at getting booed by the Wednesday fans. But then to celebrate the winning goal for the pigs as much as he did....well thats why he's dead in my eyes!

Quote Originally Posted by jebus
    Quinn and Bromby are the only two players ever to play for both Sheffield teams alright (can't take Sheffield City seriously) and because of that fact they are both dead in my eyes! all joking aside is that scumbag Quinn were to score the winning goal against England in the World Cup final for Ireland I wouldn't praise the b@stard. Did any of ye catch the sob stories in last weekends papers about how Quinn was run out of Wednesday, the club he loves, by the board? Now I'm no fan of the Wednesday board but they offered him a contract, he wouldn't sign it cause he wanted more money and left on a bosman, fair enough, didn't begrudge him in the slightest, he was/is too good for League One anyway. But to jump across to United when teams like Sunderland and apparantly Spurs were looking at him smacks of disrespect to the Wednesday faithful. Then to put out the sob stories last weekend to try to justify it was just sheer panic at getting booed by the Wednesday fans. But then to celebrate the winning goal for the pigs as much as he did....well thats why he's dead in my eyes!
    Are you for fuking real? Do you call yourself an Irishman? Who cares about some small-town Sheffield rivalry. He was a free agent and free to go wherever he wanted. He didn't get much of a chance when he went to Sunderland on loan. He was fully entitled to go to Sheffield United. His brother is at the club and he didn't have to move home. If there's one thing I can't stand it's Irish people who turn on a player because of an English club rivalry. I remember watching tv a few years ago when Sol Campbell was returning to White Hart Lane with Arsenal. A Spurs supporter from Ireland came on tv and told Sol Campbell that he wasn't welcome. Imagine, an Irishman telling an Englishman he's not welcome in his own country.

Fair play to Alan Quinn. If you ask me he was too loyal to Wednesday. He should have left them when they got relegated from the Premiership.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

Quote Originally Posted by jebus
    From a local Yorkshire newspaper and i think they would have a fair idea of what actually happened.

Alan Quinn, Leigh Bromby and Derek Geary were kicked out at Hillsborough two summers ago as part of the club's cost-cutting.Not even offered reduced terms on a new contract, all three were gutted to leave the club they had been at since boys.
    http://www.yorkshiretoday.co.uk/View...icleID=1276174
    http://pix.ie/widgets/generate/accou...000-F5F5FF.jpg

"It's time for the FAI to grow up." John O'Donoghue, Minister for Sport, RTE , Sunday 7 Nov 2004

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TheJamaicanP.M.
    Are you for fuking real? Do you call yourself an Irishman? Who cares about some small-town Sheffield rivalry. He was a free agent and free to go wherever he wanted. He didn't get much of a chance when he went to Sunderland on loan. He was fully entitled to go to Sheffield United. His brother is at the club and he didn't have to move home. If there's one thing I can't stand it's Irish people who turn on a player because of an English club rivalry. I remember watching tv a few years ago when Sol Campbell was returning to White Hart Lane with Arsenal. A Spurs supporter from Ireland came on tv and told Sol Campbell that he wasn't welcome. Imagine, an Irishman telling an Englishman he's not welcome in his own country.

Fair play to Alan Quinn. If you ask me he was too loyal to Wednesday. He should have left them when they got relegated from the Premiership.
    Look, it's against the rules of this forum to slate Irish people for their interest in foreign clubs. If you want to carry on this train of thought take it elsewhere.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Look, it's against the rules of this forum to slate Irish people for their interest in foreign clubs. If you want to carry on this train of thought take it elsewhere.
    ...but its ok to slate Irish players despite having the wrong facts. Sounds fair to me.
    "Love many, trust few, always paddle your own canoe." Dillo

43 Posts
    I was well peeved when he scored.. I thought he wouldn't celebrate ala Robbie Keane but then hey presto! I still have a problem with Paddy Kenny in an Ireland shirt though - every time he gets to kick the ball out I automatically verse "you fat bŁ*"&E^" ... its just habit, nothing personal.

794 Posts
    Firstly, I don't agree with the TheJamaicanP.M that the Sheffield rivalry is "small town". The Boxing Day Massacre when they were both in the old Third Division attracted 45,000 to Hillsboro. It's one of the biggest and most fierce rivalries in English soccer.

That said I respect the right of any player to change allegiance. Supporters forget that players and managers are all mercenaries - it is only the supporters who for the most part remain loyal. Sunderland did not want Quinn. They took him on trial and send him back to Wednesday. I totally respect his decision to go wherever he could get the best deal and if it's in the same city (remember they were in different divisions at the time as well) so much the better for him. A footballer's career is short enough without putting a limit on the number of clubs a player can join. Sturrock may well leave Wednesday someday and be back managing the opposition. It happens all the time.

As an Irishman, I wish him a successful career for whoever he plays for. It's just a pity he had to come back and haunt the Owls.

794 Posts
    Partridge's career at Hillsboro is in the balance:

http://www.swfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page...752654,00.html

Fingers crossed.