Thread: University interview Wednesday

Hull's a ****hole. Number 1 in the UK Crap Towns Survey. Don't do it. As for Liverpool, it's where I read for my MA in Irish Studies and a perfectly good alternative if you don't get in to Oxford. But if you do, that's the only place to go.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Hull's a ****hole. Number 1 in the UK Crap Towns Survey. Don't do it. As for Liverpool, it's where I read for my MA in Irish Studies and a perfectly good alternative if you don't get in to Oxford. But if you do, that's the only place to go.

PP
    Cheers for the advice!

Aye thought that about Hull.....went up though though and the Uni itself is the friendliest in Britain and the surrounding area isn't to bad. The course is amazing, 3 year Politics with a one year snadwhich placement work shadowing an MP (pretty much of your choice). Added to this they've offered me a scholarship which will certainly help with the money! v. nice uni who sent me a good lcuk letter for my Oxford interview!!!

As it stands Hull is the first and Liverpool (for Irish studies and history!) is the second-both having made offers.

Oxford would be amazing and liek you said if they ofer it to me it's going to be the only one!

EDIT: another point worth adding is should I move out of halls for the second/third year on astudent budget am likely to end up in the worst part of any town-i'm not expecting to live anywhere posh. The parts of Hull I could afford to rent a flat in (especialyl with a scholarship) would be no worse than the parts of Reading/York/London that I could afford to live in should I have gone to any of them.
    Last edited by liam88; 11/12/2005 at 2:02 PM.
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Quote Originally Posted by liam88

EDIT: another point worth adding is should I move out of halls for the second/third year on astudent budget am likely to end up in the worst part of any town-i'm not expecting to live anywhere posh. The parts of Hull I could afford to rent a flat in (especialyl with a scholarship) would be no worse than the parts of Reading/York/London that I could afford to live in should I have gone to any of them.

Good luck with it all liam. I went to Sussex university, and the only regret i had about the place was that there was no real irish community. It isnt the be all and end all but it would have been nice to have known there were pubs showing the celtic or ireland games etc. Apart from that Brighton was great.

Most people I know moved out in there second year. It gives you an oppertunity IMO to get to know the town or city your living in. Yep your on a budget, but so is everyone else. As for living in the worst part of town, you will more than likely end up living with all the other students, so it should be good craic. I know in Brighton where me and my sister went, and where my brother currently is, and Sheffield where my other sister went all had sections of the town which was mainly student accomodation. For me, moving out of halls was a great decision. Try not to worry too much about the debt side of (easier said than done I know) but it really is worth it. Best of luck

71 Posts
    Alternatively Liamo did you ever think about coming over here to study in a fine institution like UCD?

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Alternatively Liamo did you ever think about coming over here to study in a fine institution like UCD?
    I am thinking about putting in an application to Trinity (has to be in by Feb so I have some time) but I can't do politics and history because English qualifications are now worth less than Irish ones in order to stop an huge flood of people coming for the free tuition. As a result I physically cannot get the grades to get onto Politics and History, the grades that will get me onto politics and history at Oxford won't get me onto politics and history at Trinity. I can however get onto history so it's deffinatly worth a try! It would be good as well ebcause my brother doesn't live to far from Trinity and has a bedroom I could have! Plus I wouldn't have the problem Babysis mentioned about no Irish community
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

Wow-hopefulyl you can give me some tips to go witht hose from my brothers
    Where abouts are you?
    My interview was with Oxford, I've also got Hull and Liverpool in the running

am at sussex liam. as for tips, i'd say have fun. thats the best i can tell you. what babysis says is all true, and i'd also say not to think too far ahead, in so much as living in ur second year as any town of reasonably size will have uni friendly accomodation. every town has its up and down sides, and you'll make the best of it anyways, good luck mate, and trust me, uni is a blast, u'll love it!
    illiteracy and alphabet soup hmm?

Liam,

I did my first degree at the LSE, then post-grad stuff at TCD, and now am doing a part-time MA with Bristol.

I visited a load of campuses going to see various friends and my favourite place in undergraduate days was always the campus at Sussex. (I went back there for a couple of Open University summer schools).

Mind you, I wasn't in the league to get a shot at Oxford - it would be the only choice if you got the chance - dreaming spires and all that.

71 Posts
    I am thinking about putting in an application to Trinity (has to be in by Feb so I have some time) but I can't do politics and history because English qualifications are now worth less than Irish ones in order to stop an huge flood of people coming for the free tuition. As a result I physically cannot get the grades to get onto Politics and History, the grades that will get me onto politics and history at Oxford won't get me onto politics and history at Trinity. I can however get onto history so it's deffinatly worth a try! It would be good as well ebcause my brother doesn't live to far from Trinity and has a bedroom I could have! Plus I wouldn't have the problem Babysis mentioned about no Irish community
    Arts in UCD allows you to combine History and Politics only it requires a good deal less points.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Jaysus, thats a long 'un, had an interview yesterday, by the afernoon I was offered the job! Horay!!!

Well done Roy . It's definitely the higher tax rate now even after the budget
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Got an early response-rejected

Hull it is

Hull it is
    hard luck buddy, just stay as far away from wolverhampton as ya can! its a feckin depressing little city!
    Eoin Mullen, Bohemians legend!

"You should always take good care of your cat" - Postman Pat, 1991

2005 - a great year for Irish football

I know its easy for me to say no to be too downhearted, but you really shouldnt worry too much. We all got rejections, hence applying to 6 unis. What you need to remember is that you always have options. Clearing is one thing to consider, as is taking a year out. I took a year out and highly reccommend it. You can earn some much needed cash for uni and you can also re-apply to the universities knowing your grades.

71 Posts

Hull it is
    Seriously Liam, why have you never considered History and Politics in UCD if you were open to Trinity? Hard luck on the interview btw.
    Last edited by Poor Student; 18/12/2005 at 8:37 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Seriously Liam, why have you never considered History and Politics in UCD if you were open to Trinity? Had luck on the interview btw.
    That's a realyl great idea mate. Seriously the honest reason is it's because I know very little about education in Ireland. We are guided through appyling to the UK but until a couple of years ago I probably couldn't even name 3 Irish universities! When I was hel;ping my brother move to Dublin I went on a tour of Trinity and thought wow this is nice. I havn't even see any other uni's so i'll deffinatly have a look at UCD! Could you point me in the righ tdirection of applying? I'm guessing I can find info on the website?
    Cheers
    Presuming you do Politics and History?

That's a realyl great idea mate. Seriously the honest reason is it's because I know very little about education in Ireland. We are guided through appyling to the UK but until a couple of years ago I probably couldn't even name 3 Irish universities! When I was hel;ping my brother move to Dublin I went on a tour of Trinity and thought wow this is nice. I havn't even see any other uni's so i'll deffinatly have a look at UCD! Could you point me in the righ tdirection of applying? I'm guessing I can find info on the website?
    Cheers
    Presuming you do Politics and History?
    Their is probably info on www.cao.ie about applying from England
    Last edited by sligoman; 18/12/2005 at 8:38 PM.

71 Posts
    Liam, I couldn't guide you through the process of applying from abroad. However here's the site www.ucd.ie . I did Greek & Roman Civilization and Politics, I also did History in 1st year.

You can take those subjects through this degree http://www.ucd.ie/horizons/programmes/arts.html .

What employment prospects do you get from courses like those??? Hardly very practicle??
    Sitting pretty!!!

230 Posts
    What employment prospects do you get from courses like those??? Hardly very practicle??
    Apparently a lot better than if you took English....
    Last edited by strangeirish; 19/12/2005 at 9:29 PM.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts

Hull it is
    I wouldn't be too dispondant about getting rejected by Oxford, the competition
    for places there is pretty amazing, I think it's about 10 or
    more applications for every place, plus the place is likely to be stuffed with
    upper class twits (apologies to any upper class twits here ).
    I ended up in Reading myself, which is a bit of a dump in my opinion
    plus it was very expensive for accommodation, I envied a friend who
    went to Newcastle where he was paying about half the price for
    acommodation (and beer). Hull and Liverpool should be relatively cheap
    places to live though. The only place which rejected me was Bristol, I think
    it was because I unbuttoned the top button of my shirt because it was
    dead hot on that day. I was told I was one of only a few people who answered a
    particular question correctly, didn't stop them rejecting me though , they obviously
    didn't want any smartarses there.
    I would have needed AAB anyway which was a bit beyond me, I only got BBB as
    it turned out. I studied electronics by the way (or rather didn't). I came out with a
    third class degree (like Carol Vorderman) and a chip on my shoulder

Alot of employers now look for someone who has a degree, regardless of the subject. Admittedly it depends on the type of degree and the type of work your applying for, but I know that my history degree has not stopped me getting work (Its not knowing what i want to do thats stopped me getting work )