Thread: Waterford team of 1980 to be honoured

Post Waterford team of 1980 to be honoured

Waterford team of 1980 to be honoured

The FAI has announced that as part of its honouring of greats cup moments of the past the first The Star/FAI Cup Silver Jubilee Team award will be handed out as part of the festivities on Sunday at this year's FAI Cup final.
    The award will be given to the Waterford team which defeated St Patrick's Athletic 1 - 0 in the 1980 Cup Final courtesy of a goal from full back, Brian Gardiner. The team will be presented with mementos of the occasion as well as being introduced to the crowd at Lansdowne Road.

Read more at www.irishfootballonline.com

A Waterford team being honoured before a Cork City FC match....that will go down well me reckons...

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    A Waterford team being honoured before a Cork City FC match....that will go down well me reckons...
    Was thinking that too .... and then straight into .....

He fúcked it up,
    He fúcked it,
    Connors fúcked it up !!

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    He fúcked it up,
    He fúcked it,
    Connors fúcked it up !!

Looking forward to that chant...hopefully he will be as shaky as David Forde was for Derry at Turners Cross a couple of weeks ago..

I probably wont boo them but i can tell you this...i certainly would NEVER clap a Waterford side past or present...why they are there in the first place is silly anyway...could you imagine a Rovers past team with Bohs playing?..well done to the FAIlures as always...

Quote Originally Posted by jimmy-boy
    i think its a nice thing to do for past players.
    and it will be lovely in 25 years time when drogheda are been honoured.

Now now Jimmy...you know they never honour runners up

its only scumbags would boo any team of players from the past.
    It's only muppets who'd expect us to honour them!
    I'll have a flick through the programme and a chat with my buddies while this distraction is in progress.

1980 was a black year in Irish football.
    No need to remind people.

My little chant to Waterford;
    "You're nothing but a side show.
    You're nothing but a side show.
    You're nothing but a side show..."

144 Posts
    and it will be lovely in 25 years time when drogheda are been honoured.
    and don't forget yourselves in a mere 24 years.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Was thinking that too .... and then straight into .....

He fúcked it up,
    He fúcked it,
    Connors fúcked it up !!
    Yeah cant wait for the drink driving songs to be belted out either
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    1980 was a black year in Irish football.[/I]
    Oh no it wasn't

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Like what ? come on, we need examples otherwise we won't know what to sing.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Like what ? come on, we need examples otherwise we won't know what to sing.
    Ah I heard the derry lads gave them a decent enough belt down in cork a couple of weeks ago - I'm sure you and your scumbag player who they were directed at heard them

What has George O'Callaghan got to do with Waterford?

Muppets!

Derry fans might have sung something to him, but whatever it was, it made him play a blinder.
    Hope you manage to similarly inspire him.

The Derry fans would have been better employed trying to inspire their own players.

Derry fans might have sung something to him, but whatever it was, it made him play a blinder.
    Hope you manage to similarly inspire him.
    Same with the abuse connor gets - connor has actually played well against cork this season (bar his one abvious f**k up!!). I reckon connor thrives on the abuse ye give him, so keep it coming on sunday

'The Derry fans would have been better employed trying to inspire their own players'

What? like cork fans did when they gave Barry Ryan abuse over something he did in the past in his 'personal life' - shocking stuff bringing something a player did in his personal life into play

I remember when Waterford United went down to the X about 3 seasons ago the Cork Celtic team of 73/74 were introduced to the crowd at half-time, in honour of it being 30 years since that club's only League Championship. The team was well received by both sets fans and they had a chat with a couple of the players about their memories, including Alfie Hale who was part of that side having previously won 6 titles with Waterford. Personally I enjoyed seeing some of the famous old names such as Bobby Tambling. The late Alex Ludzic was remembered too and the whole era of The Blues, Hibs and Celtic was deservedly recalled and great names like Jackie Morley, Dave Wigginton, Johnny Matthews, Peter Thomas, Miah Dennehy, Vinny Maguire and Jimmy McGeough who was managing the Blues team who were visiting that day.

Players of the past deserve to be remembered because history is something not often appreciated in the League of Ireland as it's not as well documented as elsewhere.

89 Posts
    Cosmo,

Cork fans and double standards? Who'd have thought it
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor

Cork fans and double standards?
    Yeah, the League championship and FAI cup!

Same with the abuse connor gets
    I don't think you're thick so you must be deliberately missing the point.

When the Waterford team were being "honoured", A face wanted to slag off O'Connor. Get it? No? Too complicated?

Quote Originally Posted by Dick Long
    I remember when Waterford United went down to the X about 3 seasons ago the Cork Celtic team of 73/74 were introduced to the crowd at half-time, in honour of it being 30 years since that club's only League Championship.
    A Cork team being honoured in Cork, at a Cork game, is acceptable.
    A Waterford team being honoured in front of Cork and Drogheda is pointless and unwanted.

When the Waterford team were being "honoured", A face wanted to slag off O'Connor. Get it? No? Too complicated?
    Its obviously too complicated for me. What does dan connor have to do with the waterford team of 1980?

I know Maribor, its amazing isn't it?

Pretty pointless, agreed. Unwanted? The FAI Cup Final is supposed to be a national football occasion. It's a thing they're starting from this year, honouring the Silver Jubilee winners at the actual event it's the anniversary of. How about a respectful polite clap or just ignore it and get on with reading your programme or eating your pie?