Thread: Waterford team of 1980 to be honoured

what could be offensive to cork fans about the waterford 1980 team anyway - they were not rivals, as of course cork city didn't exist back then.

if your not able to manage a couple of minutes respect for a silver jubilee winner of the cup, well then i guess that says the true story about how great the cork fans are....

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    A Cork team being honoured in Cork, at a Cork game, is acceptable.
    A Waterford team being honoured in front of Cork and Drogheda is pointless and unwanted.
    Thats one hell of an ignorant post. If you check it out a little further, you will see that the winners of 25 years previous are to be honoured at all finals. Its been a tradition for years on other sports and its a very nice gesture to players who were successful a quarter of a century ago to remember and be recognised. You might think it pointless and unwanted but a lot of other people don't.

If Cork (under one of their several unsuccessful banners) won anything in 1980 then you'd be jumping through hoops were they to be remembered a quarter of a century later for it. The whole world does not revolve around Cork, even if ye think it does, so a bit less of the self importance and a bit of respect for a truly great side would be appreciated.Only you lot could turn a thread dedicated to Waterford of old into a self-righteous, pompous Cork issue.

ColinR wrote:

what could be offensive to cork fans about the waterford 1980 team anyway - they were not rivals, as of course cork city didn't exist back then.
    Great post there Colin R (as it happens my name is also Colin R...........maybe we're...............nah we couldn't be)

Anyway they have no reason to complain as Cork City were hot even born then. Cork City was only a zygote back then.
    Who Cares?!

Its amazing what the FAI will do to annoy Cork City fans. It can hardly be a coincidence that Waterford won the Cup in 1980. Those devious FAI boys - I think City would be well within their rights to boycott all future FAI cup matches in protest.

Its amazing the amount of langers there are in Cork. I suppose that's why they got naming rights.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    A Waterford team being honoured before a Cork City FC match....that will go down well me reckons...
    I can already envisage all the sheep shagger chants etc!

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Yeah cant wait for the drink driving songs to be belted out either
    It's very unlikely that he'll be able to hear ye over the mighty Rebel Army anyway so work away and waste your time and energy!
    Champions!

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Ah I heard the derry lads gave them a decent enough belt down in cork a couple of weeks ago
    I was in The Shed and to be honest heard absolutely nothing at all from the Derry crowd. It was especially quiet for the last 30 minutes.

I think Dan Connor has done enough to Cork City fans over the last few season to warrant absolute dogs abuse.
    I mean players will be obvious targets, Barry Ryan for instance had his issues and was berated and I guess in this respect George is open season also, drive on but as you say it probably only encourages the player.
    Polite applause for Waterford players from 25 years ago is indeed merited and providing i'll be in the ground by that time thats exactly what i'll be doing.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    It's very unlikely that he'll be able to hear ye over the mighty Rebel Army anyway so work away and waste your time and energy!
    Will do - think I'll plant myself at the corner of the south terrace (east stand side) for when the drink driver takes a corner - just incase - just to let him know exactly what I think of scum that take a few drinks and decide to go for a spin
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by razor
    Polite applause for Waterford players from 25 years ago is indeed merited and providing i'll be in the ground by that time thats exactly what i'll be doing.
    Fair play, Razor. I hope the rest of your lot show the same respect. We're always saying that the League needs to boost it's image and show itself to be an attractive prospect to all football fans. The cup final is our showpiece -a chance to advertise the League to a wider audience. This will be best achieved with a good game on the pitch and good behaviour off it.

A sense of history is integral to the promotion of the League. The FAI have decided to honour past heroes, but you can be sure they will scrap it for next year if it descends into farce. This is a test of the character of Cork fans. I don't think there would be a problem if Drogheda were in next year's final when the Dundalk team of 1981 will be honoured. I don't even think Bohs fans would boo the Rovers 4 in-a-row team when they get their turn. However, I fully expect to hear Cork 'fans' booing on Sunday followed by condemnation by RTE, the papers and the FAI. Similar to the idiots who jeered George Best on Saturday, this will leave a bad impression on the very people we are supposed to be trying to attract to the game. The League shooting ourselves in the foot again.

This will be a measure of Cork fans. Can they show respect to some middle-aged men reliving their proudest moment? Let's wait and see.

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie
    Fair play, Razor. I hope the rest of your lot show the same respect. We're always saying that the League needs to boost it's image and show itself to be an attractive prospect to all football fans. The cup final is our showpiece -a chance to advertise the League to a wider audience. This will be best achieved with a good game on the pitch and good behaviour off it.

A sense of history is integral to the promotion of the League. The FAI have decided to honour past heroes, but you can be sure they will scrap it for next year if it descends into farce. This is a test of the character of Cork fans. I don't think there would be a problem if Drogheda were in next year's final when the Dundalk team of 1981 will be honoured. I don't even think Bohs fans would boo the Rovers 4 in-a-row team when they get their turn. However, I fully expect to hear Cork 'fans' booing on Sunday followed by condemnation by RTE, the papers and the FAI. Similar to the idiots who jeered George Best on Saturday, this will leave a bad impression on the very people we are supposed to be trying to attract to the game. The League shooting ourselves in the foot again.

This will be a measure of Cork fans. Can they show respect to some middle-aged men reliving their proudest moment? Let's wait and see.
    Yawn

Quote Originally Posted by jimmy-boy
    im 100% sure that the drogheda fans will show great respect for the great peter thomas, sid wallace and co.
    but dont expect anything from the ignorent folk by the lee..
    im sure they will beheave like a shower of knackers at a wedding.
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

I'll have a flick through the programme and a chat with my buddies while this distraction is in progress.
    I]

Quote Originally Posted by jimmy-boy
    im 100% sure that the drogheda fans will show great respect for the great peter thomas, sid wallace and co.
    but dont expect anything from the ignorent folk by the lee..
    im sure they will beheave like a shower of knackers at a wedding.

Lads..this is exactly why us SUPERIOR Cork people wont be clapping the sheepshaggers from the RSC...

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    Yawn
    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo
    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
    You said it, Pablo!

I've been to GAA games where they do this sort of 'remember this team' crap and the fake clapping is unreal!
    Why do they bother?
    It's all so staged and false.

By the way, this Waterford, Limerick and Drogheda love-in is such a beautiful thing. Reminds me of how everyone thought their love could help Derry beat us. Keep it up lads.

It would be great if the City fans could stay quiet for a few minutes and listen to the Drogs fans sing about Georgie...Georgie would laugh with us and it would only encourage the guy more..not that the best player in the country needs to be encouraged...

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie

What if all the Waterford fans start piping up and try and blame it on City fans ... what then ??

Reminds me of how everyone thought their love could help Derry beat us. Keep it up lads.
    the biggest love in there was between yourselves and derry

Quote Originally Posted by ColinR
    the biggest love in there was between yourselves and derry

I hope Derry get relegated next season...

It's a good thing that stuff like this will happen at the final. The more the sense of occasion, the more it will attract people to it.
    Let's remember that quite a few finals have had terrible attendances, and there has been nothing special done to mark the day, just go play the game and get on with it.

Some great names there, but which Waterford club was it?
    Waterford FC or Waterford United?

Quote Originally Posted by RedX
    I was in The Shed and to be honest heard absolutely nothing at all from the Derry crowd. It was especially quiet for the last 30 minutes
    Bull****. We were LOUDER in the last 30 than at any other time in the match.

Quote Originally Posted by Colm
    It's very unlikely that he'll be able to hear ye over the mighty Rebel Army anyway
    Would they include the same people that protested otuside the cross and demanded the resignation of Lennox and Rico. You may get the biggest crowds in the country but your fanbase is the most fickle I have ever encountered.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Waterford FC or Waterford United?
    Good question.
    Was Waterford United founded before or after 1980?!

Lads, ye may aswell face up to it that City fans are NOT going to appluad or cheer for a Waterford team...... get over it, it's not that big a deal.
    Champions!