Neal Horgan Diary

From the Irish Examiner

======================================

On Sunday, Cork City go in search of an historic League and FAI Cup double,
    but either way, it has been a memorable season for Damien Richardson and his
    players. Defender Neal Horgan kept a diary of the pivotal last weeks of the
    League season.
    This is the first of two installments.

FRIDAY NOVEMBER 11, 2005
    TRACK-SUIT ready to go, train at 11 to Dublin, have to be there at 10.30.
    We're playing Shelbourne tonight. Normally I'll stroll into town, but cold and
    wet morning, so cab is your only man. The taxi arrives late but his questions arrive early.
    Will ye win? Dolan compared to Rico?. "They're different."
    We have a carriage on the train reserved for us. While half of the lads sit down and
    chat or read a book or listen to music, the other half are crowded around a table with
    a deck of cards. The 'card school' orchestrated by Neale Fenn is up and running
    already, I avoid it due to the minor entry fee. Lads don't move from playing cards for
    the whole journey. Even on our trips to Donegal they manage to play
    throughout the journey.

On our arrival at Heuston station, our Cronin's of Cork bus (with Greg our
    favourite driver), ready to take us to a hotel near Tolka Park. Pre-match meal is scheduled for
    2pm but unfortunately it always tends to be pasta and chicken. Just filling up, no
    taste. Today is no different and as usual Derek Coughlan is particularly unhappy with
    it. He looks at me with disgust, grimacing at the dry, skinless white chicken piece in
    front of him. Upon retirement, we pledge to avoid pasta and chicken for the
    rest of our lives. We have rooms booked in hotel to get a few hours sleep before
    the game.
    Some of the lads don't sleep. John O Flynn is too hyperactive to sleep and will spend
    the two hours annoying Georgy O'Callaghan. I'm rooming with Derek, and when
    we
    get to the room he offers the double bed to me. There's something
    inherently wrong
    with a 6 ft 4 player getting into little single bed while I enjoy the
    acreage of a double,
    but he's right, it's my turn.
    Derek's a gentleman, but I wouldn't mess with him. Half way through our two
    hour
    sleep, a loud banging is heard in the hallway. I'm awake but I'm hoping for
    the sake
    of whoever's outside that it doesn't wake Derek. No such luck, Derek jumps
    out of
    bed and is heading full speed to sort it out. "What the****" . Banging
    stops...
    immediately. Silence our floor for next hour or so.
    On our way in to Tolka, Kevin Doyle is standing talking to a few of our
    lads. Doyler is
    a great lad and its no surprise to any of us how well he's doing at
    Reading, I speak to
    him for a minute, same guy, no bull****, he's going be on the panel on
    Setanta sports
    for the match. He looks like a superstar now, but still doesn't act like
    one.

The Match
    Kick-off at 7.45. Our crowd outnumbers the home crowd. Coming out the
    tunnel, I
    see Ollie Cahill. While he may be out of favour with some of our supporters
    for joining
    Shels, he is still friendly with the Cork lads who respect him for making a
    success of his move to Shelbourne. However today he's the opposition, so I won't approach him til after the match. The pitch is firm with a little bit of grease on top, no wind of note
    and rain is holding off. Perfect conditions for playing football.
    However it's absolutely freezing and during the game my hands can't grip
    the ball properly for throw ins. At half time I use the Doc's (Gerald Murphy) cup of
    coffee to warm my hands. Very good performance. Acceptable 0-0 result. After match
    meet my dad, he's freezing but still ready to offer the kind of expert analysis of
    the game that only fathers can give.
    Last edited by pete; 30/11/2005 at 3:42 PM.

23:35pm
    AS THERE is no train running to Cork this late, we go home in our bus
    instead. Also
    lads want to get back as soon as possible as some of the part-timers have
    work in
    the morning. Therefore we generally no longer have a meal afterwards. It
    suits most
    of us better that way anyway - particularly as tasty sandwiches from Perk
    Up on
    Bandon Road have been prepared for us earlier.
    I catch Benno (Alan Bennett) robbing Biscuit's (Phil Harrington)
    sandwiches. Benno
    shows no guilt. When Greg O'Halloran takes the mic, impressions flow.
    Nobody is
    immune. Pat Morley is on bus as the gaffer has had him working with our
    centre
    forwards. Pat and Greg talk tales of Timmy Carey our ex-physio. Old stories
    are still
    the best.
    There is a feeling of job well done but our minds are already on next
    week's game.
    We are talking through all the permutations. Derry are playing St Pat's
    tomorrow at
    the Brandywell and we're all hoping Pats can nick a draw. It makes it a
    much more
    difficult for Derry if they have to come down and win next week. The way we
    played
    seemed to demonstrate to me that we are better than Shelbourne. We just
    have to
    prove that we're better than Derry.
    Derek Coughlan wins the cards, and as Joe Gamble drops me home he swears he
    won't play cards again. He doesn't live up to his name unfortunately.
    Home at 2ish, tired, but happy.

SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 12
    PLAYERS are scheduled in for massage this morning in Rochestown Park hotel.
    I
    arrive early at 11am. Defenders are due in first. You'd normally hear Dan
    Murray first
    before you see him, giving out to Tommy for going too hard on his legs. Tom
    Enright,
    like all good masseurs, knows how and when to inflict pain. 'I.T.'s' day is
    the one to
    dread when Tommy gleefully works his elbow into your thighs. It is meant to
    get rid of
    lactic acid and scar tissue that builds up during games. However today will
    just be a
    light rub, although Tommy still manages to make it hurt. RPH has become
    like a
    home from home for the first team and the enormous benefits of massage has
    greatly reduced injuries in comparison to last season.
    After my rub I do a little bit of core work in the gym. My legs feel tired
    so I go to the
    jacuzzi to revive them a bit. I've decided I'm not going to watch Derry
    match against
    Pats on television. Dinner won't go down right if I do. Switch the channel,
    half hoping
    I'll be nicely surprised by result later. But neighbour calls in to update,
    "Just thought
    I'd let you know Derry are two up." This news disturbs my eating. Well
    that's that,
    we'll just have to beat them at the Cross.

SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 13
    DAMIEN has given us the day off today. With all the games over the last
    month or so,
    its our first Sunday morning off for a good while. Having lunch with my
    family, they try
    to avoid talking about the match. I'm reminded by my sister Tara that she
    has already
    won a league medal this season so it's no big deal.
    Trying very hard not to think about the importance of the match especially
    after
    talking to Biscuits (Phil Harrington) about losing the title on the last
    day to Dundalk in
    1991?
    Did you play against Dundalk that day, Biscuits?
    "I did Hog, it just didn't happen for us. Their goal was fluky, ball
    trickled in. We didn't
    play well on the day. If you start to think about the importance of the
    match then
    you're screwed,"
    I'm trying hard not to.

MONDAY, NOVEMBER 14
    TRAINING is at the FAI grounds in Bishopstown at 10.30, meaning you have to
    be
    there at 10.15am. Otherwise, you get fined the princely some of 10 by Neale
    Fenn who
    is in charge of the fines whilst being berated by team-mates for being
    unprofessional.
    Tommy's giving rubs in gym room while the gaffer is threatening ice baths
    before
    training. "It'll liven some of yee b**** up".
    Sports psychologist George Tracey is there, seems to be trying to sense the
    mood of
    the lads. It's a fresh and calm morning, but Flynny is wearing ski gloves.
    We're all
    hoping he'll be fit by Friday. He's been injured for the last few weeks
    though and so
    nobody is sure whether he'll be ready. He doesn't take full part in
    training, but is
    joking about around the place, and constantly trying to distract people.
    As this is a morning session, only the full-timers are in attendance -
    today that
    means 12 players. George O'Callaghan is in Dublin collecting some award. No
    doubt
    he'll tell us all about it when he gets back. Georgy likes to wind people
    up by showing
    off, it can either be very funny or infuriating, depending on the context.
    Dave Hill
    rarely finds it funny.
    The gaffer's main method is to use small-sided, physical games to keep us
    fit and
    sharp. Today we have a six-a-side game, just keeping possession. I'm with
    the Red
    team, but the Greens kick our arse. The gaffer is playing with us to make
    up the
    numbers, so we're under pressure from the start. I must say the gaffer
    still has a
    great touch but these games are physical and so he's a liability. Don't
    pass it to the
    gaffer is the whisper amongst the Reds.
    The game starts by playing 'all in' - ie, you can take as many touches as
    you like.
    However once the gaffer calls two touch only, that is you can only take a
    maximum of
    two touches, the pace and quality of the game increases dramatically. It
    has been
    clear all season that this is what we're good at - early and quick, at pace
    and at high
    tempo. As the gaffer says: "Nobody can live with us when we go one or two
    touch." I
    love these games, but hate losing them, and give a few team mates firm
    encouragement about their work-rate. As with most ball games, you work far
    harder
    when you don't have the ball.
    Denis Behan is losing the ball too much for us, I let him know, and to his
    credit he
    tries harder. This type of game doesn't suit Denis, he needs more room to
    show his
    strength and power. In shooting drills later Denis will blast in twelve
    roofers while I'll
    struggle to beat Mick Devine even once. Like most teams, every player has
    different
    talents.
    Gaffer lets us decide ourselves whether we want to do any more. Fenny
    suggest a
    game of Two Touch. The rules are that you must keep the ball up off the
    ground and
    you have to take two touches. A number of eager players wander over as the
    lads
    have added a new rule to game - if you're knocked out first, then you have
    to let
    everybody flick your ear. Danny Murphy is proposing a new punishment as his
    ear is
    still killing him from Fenny's flicks last week. New punishments are
    suggested but in
    the end, its decided that the ear flicking will apply to everyone else
    except Danny.
    Instead, every player gets a chance to drill the ball at his rear end from
    two feet.
    Danny somewhat naively agrees. The banter is good.
    Damien has a chat with me after training about the importance of focusing
    on your
    own game only as oppose to thinking about how the match itself will go. His
    point
    being that only through performing yourself will the team perform. This
    makes good
    sense to me.

TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 15
    BEFORE training, the gaffer calls a meeting in the gym room. All the full
    timers are
    here including Georgy, plus Derek Coughlan who has a day off from his work
    as a
    policeman at Cork Airport. The gaffer starts by asking the lads about last
    week's
    game against Shelbourne. Players agree we were relatively comfortable but
    that we
    need to be more patient in the last third of the pitch. The gaffer points
    out dangers of
    our midfielders and central defenders crossing over each other. He says
    that their
    midfielder Ndo caused a few problems for us, underlining the importance of
    keeping
    our shape. With that in mind, he raises the Derry match. Mick Devine is
    next to me
    whispering like a school kid and kicking my runners trying to distract me.
    Gaffer
    reiterates point about personal performance. The manager says we're the
    best side
    in the league, but haven't proven it yet, and we're not respected in Dublin
    the way we
    should be. He wants Derry to play to the best of their ability - but if we
    do, we'll win.
    Members of the local and national press are present at training, Damo let
    them know
    that it is the last day for them to get interviews from the lads. Hard to
    get away from
    talk of the match, everyone you meet is asking about it, radio stations are
    all
    promoting it, talk in show on Red FM, people ringing in saying this, that
    and the other.
    I turn it off... don't care ...own performance everything, want to win match.

WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 16

THE FOCUS at training is on finishing and crossing. I'm disappointed as we
    don't
    play any small-sided game. Damien is keeping us fresh and we're finished by
    Flynny takes part, the crossing is good from the lads and the finishing is
    not bad
    either. The gaffer wants to practice set pieces tomorrow.. We talk about
    Derry's set
    pieces, in particular threat of 6 foot 5" Clive Delaney. We then run
    through our set
    pieces. I give Benno a few crosses as he wants to practice his heading.
    However he
    nearly does his ankle in on landing and so we decide to call it a day.
    For the rest of the day I make a conscious effort to rest, to avoid walking
    around, to
    keep hydrated, to avoid talking about match. My phone is gone quiet thank
    God,
    people must realise it's too late to be asking for tickets.
    Sea weed bath in Rochestown park at 2.30pm for me. We're all assigned
    different
    times, and I'm tired afterwards. Sleep from 5-7pm.

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 17
    SET PIECES in the morning. Lads wear tracksuit bottoms, gloves, hats to
    prepare for
    standing about. It's unusual for us to be in the morning the day before
    match, but
    Rico wants to walk through our set pieces - and Derry's.
    Defending free kicks. Stay with your man, stay on the move. They caught us
    in the
    Brandywell, musn't let it happen again. Everyone is back for set pieces,
    therefore we
    can expect it to come straight back in once cleared. Be ready for second
    balls. That's
    one of their strengths. Get man in front of Beckett - be wary of him with
    his back to
    goal, he's good at putting others in. Rico thinks they'll start with tall
    lad Brennan out
    wide on my side as they are afraid of us and McCourt won't track back as
    much as
    Brennan. Muzza thinks they'll aim every long ball at him. I must be ready
    for this and
    the others must be too.
    Damien says he's going to tell the papers it's better for the league if we
    win as we
    play better football, says it will wind them up, but that he also believes
    its true. We go
    away, back training at Nemo Rangers Club at 5.00pm 'til six.
    Call into Turners Cross on way home. Look at pitch, nicely cut, could do
    with break
    from the rain, would be perfect then. But it will be much better than the
    night of the
    Cup semi-final. Eerie now, but tomorrow night....
    Nemo Rangers' new facility at Trabeg is very impressive, the best set-up
    I've come
    across in Ireland. Tonight we train on their outdoor astroturf pitch, and
    everyone is
    hyper. We play 9-a-side game. TV3 news cameras with Trevor Welsh are here.
    Local
    paper has been speaking about players leaving, which is not helpful. There
    are a
    bundle of shirts waiting to be autographed in dressing room - another sign
    of a big
    game ahead.
    Damo has a chat afterwards in the dressing room. Lads look serious and
    confident,
    good atmosphere around, people looking around dressing room at each other,
    thinking we're the best. Danny asks Damo about parking his car as there
    were
    problems in last big match. Damo retorts: "There's a lot I can do for you
    Murph, but I
    can't park your f...ing car as well." Breaks tension, boys are laughing at
    that. Damo
    speech is good, 'Back Yourself and you'll be fine', I intend to.
    Meet Billy Woods after training. Says he's been playing a long time and
    never been
    so close. Says he'll be devastated if we don't do it. Neither of us dare to
    contemplate
    celebrations, we want league winners medal and nothing else will do.
    Meet family and friends afterwards. No comfort. They're more nervous than I
    am.

Excellent stuff, who's his ghost writer? Surely no footballer can put together a diary of substance

I think hes probably written that himself as hes fairly weel educated. Can't remember if was doing Masters in law or Marketing alongside fulltime football job

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    Excellent stuff, who's his ghost writer? Surely no footballer can put together a diary of substance
    Hoggy's got a law degree so I'd say he was well capable of putting it together himself!
    Champions!

when is the next instalment....good stuff
    Bring back the plank

Quote Originally Posted by Ozymandias
    when is the next instalment....good stuff
    Today.

Any copy it up...

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    I think hes probably written that himself as hes fairly weel educated. Can't remember if was doing Masters in law or Marketing alongside fulltime football job
    I was joking lads.....

Ya, he's in Blackhall or whatever its called in Dublin studying to be a lawyer.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    Ya, he's in Blackhall or whatever its called in Dublin studying to be a lawyer.
    If that is where he is, he will end up as a solicitor AFAIK. The other place which is for trainee barristers is called The Kings Inns. Sounds like a hotel pub where I used to work in Killarney years ago. Yeah I agree with the earlier comments he tells a daycent story.
    I wonder how many of the other lads have the patience and the skill to write as well as that?
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.

Monday 5th December

Woke up with a shocking hangover this morning, reeking of fish and chips. Getting flashbacks of yesterday and last night. I seem to remember Rico and a couple of the lads tying Georgie and Greg to the Cork-Dublin railway line in Kent Station last night and gagging them. Nobody seemed to want to help Georgie except the possie of Championship managers looking for him to save their season. Nobody at all cared about Greg...they thought it was another of his impersonations.

I can also remember being sneered at by Dan Connor, who came over to us and started waving his cup medal in our faces. Terribly juvenile, but jesus, I'd have loved one of those medals.

Rico was quite depressed last night, having made a fool of himself live on National television yesterday, or rather after we made fools out him live on National television yesterday. To cheer him up a few of the lads went and harpooned Pat Dolan, dragged him ashore, and we all had a big barbecue in the grounds of the Rochestown Park last night. There was 400 people there and we still only got quarter way through the feast, there was so much to go round.

Anyway....there's always next year.

Joe Soap - if you want to troll then this is not the place. There will not be another warning. Stay on topic.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Joe Soap - if you want to troll then this is not the place. There will not be another warning. Stay on topic.
    No offence meant Pete, twas just meant to be a laugh.

I thought it was funny..
    Bring back the plank

so did I! come on Pete where's your sense of humour, chill out man.