Quote Originally Posted by Ash
    Division 1 that is
    looking forward to seeing ye in Mels (sorry GIP) next season
    Mels is hell for sure. How's your new stadium shaping up?

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Mels is hell for sure. How's your new stadium shaping up?
    Not too bad at all, pics of the progress are here:
    www.athlonetownfc.com
    or
    http://www.iol.ie/~eganwd/atfc/news/stadium-261005.htm

Formerly: wild rover
    looks really good in one or 2...hope the fans come back for it

137 Posts
    Thought I had more up-to-date shots than that on the site. Here is one taken since then, and one more here.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

70 Posts

Looks deadly!!! Will it be ready for the start of next season?

First pic looks eerily like Tallaght...

Was thinking the same myself. All they need are the roof supports.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Buller
    Looks deadly!!! Will it be ready for the start of next season?
    Afraid not, June 2006 is the expected move in date

this is pure comedy The Shams in the First division ......lol

70 Posts
    I know, im only getting to grips with it now....
    See ya at terryland park next season!

I know, im only getting to grips with it now....
    See ya at terryland park next season!
    Ya ye'll enjoy yere trip ta Galway.Bar the night out we'll be one of 2 clubs who'll actually have an atmosphere in the ground's yee visit.(harps been the other one).I don't think ye have realised how bad this league is!....most clubs won't have a home attendance to match yere away support!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Formerly: wild rover
    there are no away fans for the majority of clubs too

it really is terrible

unlucky

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    First pic looks eerily like Tallaght...
    Yeah I had to check the web address to make sure was looking at correct site. I was going to suggest Rovers would feel at home there but...

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron GUFC
    this is pure comedy The Shams in the First division ......lol
    Thats Rovers to you pal. Saw ye playing last season in the company of Patrick Dunne and the lads!

Ash fair play looks very promising. Where in the town is the new stadium? Also dont you think it would be a better idea to move in at the start of 2007?

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Ash fair play looks very promising. Where in the town is the new stadium? Also dont you think it would be a better idea to move in at the start of 2007?
    The new stadium is behind the Regional Sports Centre. Just off the dual
    carriageway heading for the Town centre.

I think the licencing deal is we can only use Mels until the new stadium
    is finished, then we have to move in as Mels isnt up to the licencing
    regulations.

Quote Originally Posted by kickR
    They are the real Rovers... nvm Sligo or w/e
    You are the real Rovers

70 Posts

Exclamation

Ah here now, we cant all be rovers!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Ya ye'll enjoy yere trip ta Galway.Bar the night out we'll be one of 2 clubs who'll actually have an atmosphere in the ground's yee visit.(harps been the other one).I don't think ye have realised how bad this league is!....most clubs won't have a home attendance to match yere away support!

Reckon we simple Limerick folk will muster quite an athmosphere for the visit of Shamrock Rovers

Ah here now, we cant all be rovers!!!
    At least thats something to be thankfull of!! Enjoy the first Division.
    I'd love to invent a time machine then go back in time and win the lottery, buy new players and a stadium. Time machines are brilliant aren't they- Ian Holloway