Thread: 3 lims players to the blues?

3 lims players to the blues?

Hi lads, word down here today that Nolan,Kelleher,Finnucane are about to sign for us down here, what are they like,would they make it in the premiere?
    Would be grateful for opinions!

Happy Christmas anyway lads..

Quote Originally Posted by Mental Man
    Hi lads, word down here today that Nolan,Kelleher,Finnucane are about to sign for us down here, what are they like,would they make it in the premier?
    Mike has hinted that he would be interested in bringing paul 'santi solari' finnucane and robbie 'bubble' kelleher to the RSC..however,they are both contracted long-term to the club.. i can see robbie signing as he wont play under noel o connor again.as for finny, he's a Lims man through and through, and is also the captain.as for Nolan, being honest with you mental man, you'd have a better chance of finding a better player than him in the Argos catalogue.
    "The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."

Cheers, thanks for the info, but i think Mike kerley has been talking to them and the lads here are very very impressed with his ideas and ethics so there is a good possibility that they will come here ok. time will tell anyway. cheers again.

Can't understand Kerley's interest in Nolan at all. He couldn't cut it in the First division so I don't see how he'd even be a capable squad player in the Premier. Plus his attitude stinks. I'd hope that Finnucane would still be with us for the start of thne new season, but what with the reports of what is meant to be going on in training under our current manager I wouldn't be surprised if he jumped at the chance to work with Kerley again and get that Purcell-Finnucane partnership up and running again. And if Robbie won't play for Limerick again wqe should try and get a bit of money for him, whether Waterford have much in the way of transfer funds is a question for yourself mental man

Jaysus lads, i dont have much meself to be honest but there has been a good few new business people that have now got involved in the club since we dropped the plc and that they dont want to see a repeat of what nearly happened to this proud club last year when we nearly went under.
    We dont have directors anymore its called a management committee and its working very well, Mike Kerley spoke to them and they were very very impressed with his ideas and ethics so it lokks good for him,if he keeps us up i can see him staying, he seems to be a young determined guy that is out to make a name for himself and i think he will get that chance too.
    The only thing that maybe ye can answer is what does he be like on the sideline,is he quiet like Brendan Rea was or is he like dolan, talking to the players the whole time,thats what we missed last year till dolan came?

Robbie to Sligo

Strong overtures for Kelliher from Sligo Rovers i do belive.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    Strong overtures for Kelliher from Sligo Rovers i do belive.
    Good stuff. What position does he play and he's a good player isn't he?.

The only thing that maybe ye can answer is what does he be like on the sideline,is he quiet like Brendan Rea was or is he like dolan, talking to the players the whole time,thats what we missed last year till dolan came?
    Well my opinion of him is that he has his team prepared enough before they go on the pitch that he doesn't need to shout himself hoarse. If a player is having difficulty you'll see him giving them instructions alright but he's not a Dolan by any means with his sideline antics. I think gael pretty much said it all a while back when he said that if ye want flowing football played on the ground than Kerley is the man for Waterford, if however ye want a long ball, I have no plan B manager than we'll happily do a swap deal with our managers

Mike Kerley is 34 but somebody said to me he cant play due to an injury he picked up a while ago,so maybe some of the lads here could shed some light on him since they know him better.
    Must be 1 of the youngest managers now in the premiere division, i just hope he can cut it,As we all know its a huge step up from the first division to the premiere division.
    Not even too sure if he is still registered as a player either, but the players have met him and i know 1 of them personally and he said he is very impressed with him so far.
    Time will tell!!!

Robbie Kelleher is definitely good enough to make the step up in my opinion. Paul Finucane is a top class first division centre-half but I suspect that he might struggle for pace a little (just a little I stress) against the best the Premier Division has to offer. As for Jamie Nolan... here I was thinking that Mike Kerley was a good judge of character.

I think Waterford will do pretty well this season though, nothing huge on their rumoured budget either but I suspect that Kerley will prove that he has what it takes.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    Robbie Kelleher is definitely good enough to make the step up in my opinion.
    i wasn't at our last game in limerick but it sounded like he caused us more problems than any other striker all season. what type of striker is he?
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva
    i wasn't at our last game in limerick but it sounded like he caused us more problems than any other striker all season. what type of striker is he?
    Eh, I thought he was a defender?.
    Indeed...........

Quote Originally Posted by ali2005
    Eh, I thought he was a defender?.
    well u thought wrong then. finucane's a defender.
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

he plays like wayne rooney,very strong.

Quote Originally Posted by lim abroad
    he plays like wayne rooney,very strong.
    Has he got the same temper as him though? .

no,gets frustrated every now and then but thats normal when you play for limerick

Quote Originally Posted by lim abroad
    no,gets frustrated every now and then but thats normal when you play for limerick
    Is it true he's signed for Cobh?.

Kerley is very quiet on the bench. In fact both Kerley and NOC are (like their teams) much too quiet. Although in Kerley's case there wasn't much point roaring at lads if there is no one on the bench and your keeper is filling in up front.

Kerley is a fine manager and will do really well for Waterford. Both Finucane and Kelleher are more than capable of making the step up. Not the slightest doubt. I'm saying nothing about Nolan.

On the issue of Kelleher and Finucane - if it is the case that they are still contracted of course the club should look for a good transfer fee for both (though I'd rather they both stayed). Even if they don't want to play under NOC any more they should not be allowed to leave with a big fee.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Just heard tonight lads that Kevin Doherty will not be with the blues next season so it does look like a Finnucane will be partnering Paddy Purcell as a central defender in next years team, it was also reported on local radio today that there maybe another 1 or 2 more lims players coming up here also, all to be revealed next week i heard.