Thread: UEFA team of the week

Thumbs up UEFA team of the week

Cork City have been named UEFA team of the week for the second time. A nice little acknowledgement for City and for the Eircom League.

http://www.uefa.com/magazine/news/Ki...Id=370442.html

The people of Cork, the second city in the Republic of Ireland, have always had a heightened sense of their own importance. Natives describe it as the "real capital" of the country. When asked where he was from, Roy Keane, Cork's most famous sporting son, always responded: "Cork first, Ireland second." Keane famously once described himself as "Irish by birth, Cork by the grace of God".

Lofty ambition
    But now the footballers of Cork City FC are about to put that theory to the test. Damien Richardson's team, newly-crowned Irish champions, say they plan to become the first Irish club to make the UEFA Champions League group stage. A lofty ambition for a side whose chairman is to be found after the game serving fish and chips.

Rare success
    Cork's footballers have, up to now, done little to back up their claim of natural supremacy. Founded in 1984, Cork City's title success in 2005 was their first championship win since 1993. Indeed, the Irish title has only been won by a Cork club three times in the last 40 years. Yet City are thinking big. "We're not thinking about the qualifying rounds of the Champions League, we're looking to the group stage and beyond," Cork's chairman Brian Lennox said after the title had been won.

Last-day glory
    But it is not just bravado from a club who are still basking in their championship success. That came about with a 2-0 win against their closest rivals Derry City FC on the final day of the season last week, a game Cork needed to win to make sure of the title. There could be more celebrations on the way, as Cork are in the final of the FAI Cup, where they play Drogheda United FC at Lansdowne Road on 4 December. Thousands of City fans, locked out of their final league game against Derry because Cork's 7,500 capacity home of Turner's Cross was sold out a week in advance, are making the trip to Dublin for the final as the club look to complete their first double.

Big crowds
    That support is one of the reasons why Cork have a chance to make a real impact. City's average home gate is 4,000, whereas the big Dublin clubs Bohemian FC and Shelbourne FC have a hardcore support of only around 1,000. Cork do not have an Roman Abramovich-type figure bankrolling their team, chairman Lennox makes his living from running a chain of fast-food take-away shops in the city. Reputed to make the best fish and chips in Cork, Lennox is often found behind the counter of one of his shops after a game.

Vietnam invitation
    Despite that humble background, there is still glamour attached to the club. "We've had an offer to go to Vietnam for a tour early next year, that doesn't normally happen to Irish clubs," said Richardson. But the sight of 6,000 punters, paying €15 a head, coming through the turnstiles every second Friday offers Cork a financial asset which most other Irish clubs can only dream of.

European dream
    Certainly Cork are starting to dream. They are building a new all-seater stand to replace the famous Shed end, and the improved facilities are all part of a higher calling. "The Champions League is where we want to be," said Richardson. "Clubs like FC Thun and [FC] Artmedia have done it, why not Cork City? It could take three or four years, but I can see it happening. It's a case of us getting organised and getting funding in place. But it is a natural progression for a club like us, and it's something that's attainable."

Chequered history
    Yet Richardson knows that it could easily go wrong for the club. Less than three years after winning the Premier Division title in 1993, Cork almost went bust and were only saved by some local businessmen. In the past Cork clubs wasted money on short-term, big-name imports - George Best, Uwe Seeler, Geoff Hurst and Bobby Moore all lined out for sides in the city - and then went bankrupt. Cork FC, Cork Celtic FC, Cork Hibernians FC, Cork Alberts FC and Cork Everton FC all came and went before City formed.

Long-term investment
    "We can't let that happen again," said Richardson. "And that's why I won't be spending silly money on players' contracts, I want to put money into training facilities, travel facilities, backroom staff. I want to make sure we have a good club as well as a good team." Talk of new players raised the prospect of Keane lining out for City, the former Ireland captain announced his departure from Manchester United FC on the same day that Cork won the title. "I think he'd struggle to get into our midfield," said Richardson with a smile.

©uefa.com 1998-2005. All rights reserved.
    Champions!

Formerly: wild rover
    thats pretty cool

well done to them

Awh, we'll never hear the end of this now!!!

We got that UEFA team of the week last year after beating split!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

And we got it when we beat Bate Borisov

Its obviously a massive honour then!!!

Only messin' fair play CCFC
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Its obviously a massive honour then!!!

Only messin' fair play CCFC
    Never said it was a massive honour! I think you'll find I described it as merely "a nice little acknowledgement"!

Some of the lads on our official forum have since said that it's actually the fourth time we've got it in the last 2 seasons.
    Champions!

"We've had an offer to go to Vietnam for a tour early next year, that doesn't normally happen to Irish clubs,
    Are you going lads ? You should do Thailand as well.. like what bolton did.

City went on tour of China in the 90's possibly also after winning the league...

Any other clubs had strange offers like this?

I'd be surprised if the club travelled as could get stung for lot of cash as promoters dodgy over yonder...

3,222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pete
    City went on tour of China in the 90's possibly also after winning the league...
    You're way away from the trend setters in this regard - UCD have been to Canada, China, India, Hong Kong, Thailand, Indonesia, Taiwan, the Phillippines, Singapore, Macao, Tonga, Sudan, Malta, Malaysia, Australia, the US (where we won the World Collegiate Championship in 1985-ish) and Jordan (where we played the national team).

Granted, we're still waiting on our TV royalties and jersey sales...

Ah its good to see. Fair play. Tour of Vietnam eh? You could have Gary Glitter And The Firing Squad as half-time entertainment!
    God

83 Posts
    You could have Gary Glitter And The Firing Squad as half-time entertainment!

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Quote Originally Posted by pete

Any other clubs had strange offers like this?

I'd be surprised if the club travelled as could get stung for lot of cash as promoters dodgy over yonder...
    I think St. Pat's went to Tunisia in the late 80's or early 90's if I'm not mistaken?
    The fight is won or lost far away from witnesses - behind the lines, in the gym, and out there on the road, long before I dance under those lights.
    Muhammad Ali

Roy Keane is still a pri*k!

1,524 Posts
    Harps and several other clubs have toured the US. The chapter on it in Patsy's book is absolutely brilliant.

Ah, ye think ye're all great.

Athlone Town toured the Isle of Man ten years ago or so.

Congrats in any case to the mighty Corky Boys.