This is for definate then yeah?Originally Posted by Bigballs
Mark Farren got the main award tonight. Paddy McCourt the young player and Kieran O'Reilly the 1st div.
City win the league, so well in europe and are in the cup final and Derry get two awards? Waht a joke
This is for definate then yeah?Originally Posted by Bigballs
Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?
yeah definate
Sympathy vote for Derry no doubt.
Can't see how Farren could get in ahead of O'Callaghan or Gamble who were proven in all competitions this season especially in Europe.
But lads, am i right in saying that it is the players that vote and the majority wins !?!!Originally Posted by pete
Fair play to Farren, but it isn't really an award for ability, its more of a popularity competition. I'd rather a league medal over that any day.
Anyway ... fair play to Farren and McCourt, they were big names all year and made the season an exciting one. Farren bangin' them in and McCourt, just look at his goals in eL Weekly. The guy is a legend !!
Ye Cork lads really need to get over yourselves. The attitude is gettin' a wee bit tiresome...![]()
No arguments about McCourt, class act but Farren wasn't even the leagues top scorer, very strange decision.Originally Posted by dancinpants
Well, no one likes us, we don't care.![]()
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
What do you mean ... where is the attitude ?? dancinpants, in all fairness, the lads were shortlisted ... are you not allowed debate the outcome now .... this "Cork attitude" card cant be played all the time .... i accept sometimes its warranted but not everytime .... give over willya !!Originally Posted by dancinpants
That is the size of it ..... its basically the Eurovision of the eircom League, the best act mightn't always win !! .... I am not saying that a City player should have won but the fact it was Farren tells alot .... imo he wasn't the best player this year, but hey ... that was the outcome, fair play to the fella !!Originally Posted by razor
And the fact that it was his first full season in the premier division doesn't say anything? (broke through, in the play-offs 2 years ago, spent most of last season on the treatment table) To be 3 goals shy of Jason Byrne say's alot for the lad!!Originally Posted by razor
He is five shy according to soccerbotOriginally Posted by dancinpants
I heard that alright, he was told at one stage he wouldn't play again (or words to that effect) ... is that right ??
Fair play to the guy though !!
A face I won't give over!!!. You lads comin' out with "sympathy vote", "popularity contest", and STILL spoutin' "we were great in Europe"...THATS the attitude I'm talkin' about. Also youse act like youse won the league by 20 points FFS!!!Originally Posted by A face
Sorry, yer right to an extent - he was 4 short, but not 5. Soccerbot are the only website insistent that one of his goals against StPats was an o.g. He officially has 18 league goals - I thought Byrne had 21Originally Posted by A face
)
There was doubt over his playing career when he was younger.
Thats a lovely story, he'll be on Dreams come true next week.Originally Posted by dancinpants
Gamble was the best player in the Eircom Premier Leaue this season just gone, I think it was a terrible decision.
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
Of course you do.Originally Posted by razor
Sympathy vote, you are right but man ... you are saying it yourself in your own post "spent most of last season on the treatment table" ... but i take what you are saying.Originally Posted by dancinpants
Popularity contest .... ahh .... thats exactly what it is !! There is no other metric involved, it is based on votes from their peers. If and only IF all players decide on ability etc. then it wouldn't be popularity .... but it doesn't happen like that.
Some terrible comments from Cork supporters on this thread, how about accepting the fact that its not possible to win every award going and give credit to the lads that did win.
PETE: Sympathy vote for Derry no doubt.
Sour grapes anyone![]()
I did give credit ...... feicing hell, at least admit that like. Its good for the lad, i dont disagree at all.Originally Posted by brandy86
But we'll never know ... unless the players that voted admit it.PETE: Sympathy vote for Derry no doubt.
Sour grapes anyone![]()
Whilst it may have escaped that world reknown Cork intellect, this is the PFAI award as voted for by the players.Originally Posted by pete
The votes are also made prior to end of the season.
Where am I going with this you might ask?
Well the logical conclusion is that the Cork fans are again talking a loads of balls.
Back to corkcityfc.ie and cry into your "Peoples Republic of Cork" t-shirts lads
What say what now ???Originally Posted by Maribor
What point are you making ??