He'll probably do a great job with ye as well, while we'll have to watch the butcher carve away at our squad, and our patience
Lads,
Seems as if Mike Kerley is going to become the new manager of Warerford United. Has anybody any info, opinions on him.Seemed to do a good job with ye
He'll probably do a great job with ye as well, while we'll have to watch the butcher carve away at our squad, and our patience
Bad move by waterford if ye do go for Kerley take O'Connor instead much better pedigree!
NOC, no thanks, ye are welcome to him, he seems to be doing ok with ye.
No im telling ye man, ye'd be missing out on him so id take him now while hes cheap as hes getting us promoted this year, CONSOLIDATION, the following year and European success the following year then.![]()
Jaysus lads,send us up in the post whatever ye are smoking down there?
No gael, it's 5 years of consolidation, which will probably lead to liquidationOriginally Posted by gael353
I thought we were promoted this year? At least thats what we were led to believe by a few people (won't mention any names) at the start of this year, with consolidation next year and challenging Shelbourne (remember when they were good?) the year after. Strange how things work out. Anyway Kerley is one of the most tactically inept out of work managers, and he can't operate on a tight budget so he'd be a bad pick for Waterford, it'd be a shame if ye poached NOC off of us, but I guess sometimes you just have to let go in life.
Ignore the writing underneath my post, I just want Kerley back so I can give him a piece of my mind about this 'passing on the ground' style of football he forced us to watch for two straight years
Last edited by jebus; 27/11/2005 at 9:37 PM.
Bring him back to see if he can go 20 games without a win this time and qualify for re election.Originally Posted by jebus
It would be a bad move to appoint him as he has never proved himself at any level as a manager. Since he left Limerick he name appears every now and then as a potential for manager of whoever (he must have a mate in the Star). This season, apart from a stint at UL ladies, lets just say he wont have to clean his door knocker.
Originally Posted by Unreal Madrid
Seriously though if anyone from Waterford is reading this O'Connor is the way to go. This is a man who single handedly in his short stint on Leeside moulded together the all conquering present Cork team, possibly the finest team ever to grace this island if not the world.
His strength of character and belief in his own vision of how the beautliful game should be played when all around him (none of whom have shiny coaching badges) begin to doubt his tactical ability is testament to a man who has in his two spells with Limerick displayed many of the traits associated with true greatness. Although it would sadden me deeply to lose such genius, I'm afraid the Eircom League First division is not a big enough universe in which this mans bright star can shine, he belongs in the group phase of the Champions League with Waterford United![]()
Paul Osam on this seasons final eL weekly.Originally Posted by Lim till i die
"As ya can see, Rovers would've been safe if it hadn't been for those 8 points deducted and its ridiculous that off the field matters can decide relegation but the league table never lies."
City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.
O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"
G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!
[QUOTE=Risteard]Paul Osam on this seasons final eL weekly.
"As ya can see, Rovers would've been safe if it hadn't been for those 8 points deducted and its ridiculous that off the field matters can decide relegation but the league table never lies."
[QUOTE]
Its long been established by regular viewers of ELW that Paul Osam's mind is operating on some higher plain than most mere mortals.
As for my O'Connor baiting signature I'll keep it, thank you very much![]()
He belongs in a cold store with dead cow carcass's to be honest. Someone do some research quick on the competition regarding butchers down in Waterford - set him up with a nice shop down there so he can cleave away to his hearts content, while managing *cough* Waterford in the premier where he truly belongs. Great coach.........Carlsberg don't do dreams, but if they did, they'd probably be the best dreams in the worldOriginally Posted by Lim till i die
I'm sure Derek McCarthy would be over the moon as well
Exclusive
Mike Kerley is on the verge of joining Athlone Town as First Team Coach.He has already had an interview with the midlands club. A decision is to be made over the next 10 days by both parties involved.
"The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."
I hope your sources improve, and help you out with your future 'exclusives'.
Mike Kerley was appointed Waterford United gaffer today with Trevor Lovelle as his number 2.
dammit fu8k toss crap sh%t![]()
a bit harsh me thinks when you think of the way he had to run the club (11 players at times) two of which were keepers. Unlike NOC the last time he was in charge, last 13 games????one win now beat that? this season had been so good we won two of our last 12 gamesOriginally Posted by Unreal Madrid
Last edited by gael353; 01/12/2005 at 7:39 PM.
All you have to do is look at our home form under O'Connor and it tells its own story. And the performances, or lack of, on top of it.
I take your point but there is enough of the knock noc campaign for me to join in.Originally Posted by gael353
As for Mike, you could not meet a better man but a chance as a prem manager. He may have had a poor team at his disposal but he could not get a win against very sub standard teams. As I said, to look at his record makes him look ****e. Given the circumstances, it still makes his appointment as a massive gamble. I hope it works out, but I doubt it.
And he brought Trev with him, cant wait to see the reaction to him![]()
Fair points, and i would go along with most (although ive never come across Lovelle to judge) i like NOC its just the long ball game im anti!Originally Posted by Unreal Madrid