Thread: Car Draw

Quote Originally Posted by deise deserter
    The first car? Weren't there two? When (or even will) the second one be raffled. I expect the club will do this in front of press, SC and more.
    Ya you know the first car, implying theres more than one as opposed to if he had said "one car" which would imply, well, one car

Why should the club do it in front of the SC? It's a car draw, not an act of decommishioning

If people have indeed been somehow screwed out of cars I think you will find the information becoming public without the need for internet forum $hit- stirring or SC Citizens Arrests

As things stand the worse that the club's management can be accused of is incompetence.

It's a tad alarmist to be talking of going to the guards to be honest in my opinion.

The whole knee jerk reaction thing pretty much ruined last season... let's try and wait for the next one to start before the next episode of toys out of prams...

The draw should have happened already. It hasn't. It will be happening in the near future. Bigger problems exist. Get over it.

Lim 'Til I Die:

I think you need to go back and re-read my post - hell, even re-read the quotes you pulled from it. Flaming me because you didn't read something correctly is a bit embarassing for you.

Posted by Sadloserkid:
    "The draw should have happened already. It hasn't. It will be happening in the near future."

The fact that it hasn't been made, details for when it will be made have not been released by the club, it seems it is only for the first car now, and the persistant rumour that the club lost money on the draw would make anyone worry. Here's hoping honesty will prevail despite these glaring issues.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Lim 'Til I Die:

I think you need to go back and re-read my post - hell, even re-read the quotes you pulled from it. Flaming me because you didn't read something correctly is a bit embarassing for you.
    Just read back over them there and must say I'm horribly embarressed

Good! But aren't you so brave to be coming out with such a hairstyle!
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."

Good! But aren't you so brave to be coming out with such a hairstyle!
    Please Clarify this statement

The fact that it hasn't been made, details for when it will be made have not been released by the club, it seems it is only for the first car now, and the persistant rumour that the club lost money on the draw would make anyone worry. Here's hoping honesty will prevail despite these glaring issues.
    Well then perhaps you should have said that first time out instead of making some very thinly veiled accuasations of fraud? In fact according to you it's 'a clear case of fraud by the club'. This is just scaremongering and it should be beneath you. By all means criticse but save the judge, jury and executioners act for elsewhere.

Personally I think the club has scored a massive own goal by not having the draw at the end of the last match (when you would have missed it anyway of course ) but I don't think that deciding that the whole matter should be handed over to our dear police force would be of much assistance to club, supporters or anybody else.

I'm sure you'll be first in line now though when the draw does actually take place, probably with a couple of legal experts at your side as well.

Sadloserkid:
    'a clear case of fraud by the club' - this was not the FULL quote.

This is the full quote:
    "if it isn't rectified the SC should be alerting the gardai as it is a clear case of fraud by the club." - Please notice the "if." It gives the quote a substantially different meaning to the one you are inferring.

Lets do the same to your last post.
    For example:
    Posted By Sadloserkid:
    "draw at the end of the last match" - info is incorrect, we lost. I know that and I even missed the last 20 minutes!

Posted By Sadloserkid:
    "whole matter should be handed over to our dear police force" - Pot-kettle?

Not trying to be an a$$hole here, just showing you how easy it is for people to misread, misquote and flame people on message boards.

Surprised that the old "I saw more matches than you" argument had to be used SLK - Really it's beneath you. I bought a season ticket at the start of the season knowing full well that I'd miss matches due to other commitments. Making sure I contributed to the club for every home match, even when I wasn't there - hardly the MO of an anti-club "judge, jury and executioner."

And you know what? I'll still buy a season ticket next year despite all of the crap that went on this year.

Oh, and does anyone have details about the car draw yet?

are ye married by any chance????????????

Separated for a few years!

Quote Originally Posted by see's it
    are ye married by any chance????????????
    I did live with him for a time actually back in the old uni days but it was never going to work out.

And I'm not attacking your attendance record at all Deise. To suggest that that is the main point of my argument is a bit of a misnomer and is to ignore the real issues.

I think you're totally OTT here. The very mention of the police in this thread is completely needless, regardless of whether it's speculation,threat or somewhere in between. There's was enough aggro between club and support last season without getting warmed for next season already.

To suggest as forcefully as you have that some wrongdoing has occured is unfair. I've been as critical as most this year of the club at times (some would have said too much so) but there are times when a certain amount of reason should be expected from anybody.

The lack of the car draw was unprofessional looking and unfortunate. To assert as plainly as you have that this means something sinister is afoot is pretty ridiculous IMO, especially allowing for the fact that there would have been no club this year were it not for the intervention of those now running the club and the fact that in this thread alone you've wailed about flaming on more than one occasion.

And as the takings were pretty paltry anyway I can't imagine that they'd be of much interest to DD anyway, it's pretty small change all things considered.

I'd just like to hear your evidence, as opposed to your hearsay, that there's sufficient cause to launch a full investigation.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    and the fact that in this thread alone you've wailed about flaming on more than one occasion.
    I know I'm old and past it, but what's 'flaming'??

Posted by SLK:
    "To suggest as forcefully as you have that some wrongdoing has occured is unfair."

Wrongdoing has occurred - the draw was not made on the specified date. Hopefully the club will act and make good on this, but at the end of the day not having it was simply not good enough.

Posted by Joesoap:
    "I know I'm old and past it, but what's 'flaming'??"

Lets leave Lim Til I Die's lovely new hairstyle out of this! Damn sexy Lim Til I Die!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    I know I'm old and past it, but what's 'flaming'??
    Apparently its upsetting deise deserter

Posted by Joesoap:
    "I know I'm old and past it, but what's 'flaming'??"

Lets leave Lim Til I Die's lovely new hairstyle out of this! Damn sexy Lim Til I Die!!!!
    Gay Jokes? Real Mature man, almost as mature as your original whinge on this thread

BTW reckon if their was a hair debate among Limerick fans I would by no means come out as the only culprit

Wrongdoing has occurred - the draw was not made on the specified date. Hopefully the club will act and make good on this, but at the end of the day not having it was simply not good enough.
    And you really, really believe that there's call for a police investigation because a draw has been delayed? Not cancelled, but delayed.

Like I said, unprofessional and unfortunate for sure but hardly a reason to blacken anybody's name. There's been nothing so far to suggest that the current operators of the club have been fiddling with the books, whatever mistakes they've made in other areas. Your rush to round up a lynch mob seems a bit personal to be honest.

Anyway this thread has descended into farce I feel so I'm going to lock it. A slap on the wrists for Lim til I die, Deise Deserter and myself for our misbehaviour...