There's already a thread on this in the Ireland forum.
http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=31633
Qulaity TV last night. I'm a big Dunphy fan normally but he did himself no favours last night. He said he wouldn't resort to name calling and in the next sentance called Quinn an idiot. I'm a supporter of Keane too but Dunphy seems to think he is completely flawless which everyone knows is not true.
It was great when he ripped the microphone off but then had a change of heart and stayed.
He was right to slate Liddle. Bill should have had his facts on the story too.
There's already a thread on this in the Ireland forum.
http://www.foot.ie/showthread.php?t=31633
[QUOTE=thejollyrodger] He was way out of line criticising fellow players on the telly.
QUOTE]
im not a utd fan but if they my team played as badly as utd did thatday id want my captain to come out and slate them ,
surely footy hasnt gotten so bad that you cant tell a player who earns 100,000 a week that he had a bad game when he did ,incase you hurt his feelings![]()
One of the few pre match discussions where there wasnt more than one mention of the teams involved or anything relating to the match!
i just spotted that now cheers didnt think of looking for it in the ireland section .
Should really be in off topic...
I missed it but the lads in the house told me all about it.
I think Dunphy is an awful tw@ , but he does liven up
debates![]()
Larry Be Wyse
www.acsportsimages.com
Eamo lost the head last night, Classic TV though.
Called Qunnier a "creep" and said that if you want to see the real Quinn then go to the Olimpia and watch I Keano, hilarious stuff.
Quinn too busy creaming it on Sky Sports to be bothered i reckon.
Dunphy looked an awful tool, went too far.
Wetting himself dreaming of a re issue of Keane, ching ching
"Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."
http://worddok.blogspot.com
seen it, classic , dunphy was crazy, as someone said earlier is he overdoing the roy keane thing, nothing he can do is wrong according to dunphy...totally over the top slagging off quinn.
would love to let keane\quinn see it and get his reaction.
they'd probably laugh
No, Quinn would run across the studio to shake Dunphy's hand. I still cringe when I think of that gesture and not one I've forgiven him for. He let down all those people who supported Ireland over Keane in the Saipan issue and yet he still gets stick from Dumpy and Keane. Hah!Originally Posted by mandrake
I didn't see the whole argument (wife turned over to Corrie :eek) but it looked as if it was getting out of hand until Laughing Bill brought the conversation back to the Liverpool game.
ill move my thread to general football ..
Originally Posted by OwlsFan
I am almost as big a wimp as Quinn allowing her to do itOriginally Posted by anto1208
Im not a man united fan either but its pretty obvious that they are in serious decline. Keane was right in what he said but I agree with Giles and Brady when it comes to their analysis of Keane.Originally Posted by anto1208
There is a line in football ... certainly have a go in the dressing room and say what needs to be said. But going on public television and airing your woes is not on and its just a wonder how Roy lasted so long.
Giles and Brady are right to seperate what he did on the pitch and what he did off it. Since he won the european cup he has done more talking than playing football IMHO. If players dont have a lot of natural ability they can only raise their game for so long. Eventually they go back to their natural level. Roy never realised that for whatever reason. Fergie produced one good team by genius or accident. Since then he has made a mulititude of errors and signings. Its not the players fault that they dont have the natural ability. Its Fergies incompetence that has them there.
Dunphy made a few good points about opposition finding out what make Duff, Robben and Ronaldo tick. Ronaldo is doing all the flicks and tricks waiting for a pass.
Last edited by thejollyrodger; 24/11/2005 at 9:39 AM.
Watching RTE last night was proof positive as to why it is the best station around for analysts. On Sky, ITV etc, they cant say a bad word whereas on RTE they just give honest opinion. I am sure we have all been involved in heated debates that have resulted from the volatile cocktail of passion for football and a willingness to express your true feelings - especially when the matter at hand involves a certain R. Keane.
This brings me on to the irony of what I saw last night. After enjoying the pre match theatre on RTE, I turned to Sky and who was co-commentating? - none other than Mr. Nice Guy - Niall Quinn - the man Dunphy had labelled an idiot and a creep not 20 minutes earlier. Everyone was great, Crouch, Gerrard, Morientes were all fantastic. Not much made of the fact that the european champions couldnt score against a team that are towards the bottom of their domestic league. Typical Sky analysis. Typical Mr. Nice Guy comments. It got me thinking.
The current Keane debate stems from his outspoken tirade when asked to give analysis on MUTV in the wake of Utds 4-1 defeat to Boro. If Roy Keane was a pundit, who would he work for? If Niall Quinn and Jamie Redknapp are Sky, then Roy Keane along with Brady, Dunphy and Giles, are most definitely RTE. Brady may say Keane manipulates the media, but who doesnt? Beckham, Fergie, Mourinho, Quinn - they all do it. At least with Keane you can be sure that he is calling it as he sees it - which ultimately led to his departure at Utd - as well as at Saipan. It is similar to the level of brutal honesty that Brady, Dunphy and Giles are afforded at RTE.
So dont worry Roy, there will always be a job for you in RTE. Someone mentioned in a previous post the shame it is that we never saw Keane and Brady play together for Ireland. Well I look forward to the day when they can play pundit together for RTE. Then they could finally send Dunphy off to the glue factory.
TC
I dont necceceraly (sp) think that the RTE have pundits that are any better than their British counterparts i think its more the fact that they are commentating on players and teams that arent in the same country as they are , therefore they can be more scathing than the ones in the UK.
I am a United fan, and I agree with Giles and Brady in what they said about Keane going public with his greivances. They should have been kept behind closed doors.
However, I agree with Keane on every single rant he cast off, especially those about that girl Ferdinand, and the pussy aka Fletcher. Liam Brady is a tool imo, a tool of the highest order, and Dunphy more than put him in his place last night when talking about contracts Keane was looking for when he mentioned Vieira and Henry at Arsenal. And I thought Dunphy was very kind in his levels of criticism about that long, smarmy, goody two shoes, two faced laaaanger that is Quinnie....He should stick to washing powder ads with the missus
eamon dunphy is really pathetic...brady mentioned certain journalists have helped keane,dunphy took it personally,maybe brady was trying to rise him...he reacted anyway and showed just how much he would love to be roy keanes arse buddy...
the attack on niall quinn....it had nothing to do with saipan..dunphy just cant leave it alone...
roy keane being called a thug
well now i think the haaland incident was the work of a thug...and "stick it up your bol...." to mc carthy wasnt very nice was it...roy keane has many characteristics of a thug and bill o herhily was only quoting yer man.....
if he wants to talk about running away with a young one...personally i think being drunk on tv and drink driving is more of crime....and so was giving him a chat show
...i enjoyed that
I have to say the first part is bollóx, even if the second part is right. The 1994 team was the team - scuppered in Europe by the foriegner rule. Since Veron (a player brought at the top of his game in fairness - not really his fault he couldn't adapt to English football), he's wasted too much trying to "discover" unknowns rather than spend the same money on one or two players (imo).Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
On Keane, a lot of people are saying he shouldn't have gone public. Can I just point out that whatever he supposedly said has never been aired.
Didn't see the show last night, but Quinn is a creep and puts more spin on his image than Bertie if that's any help?
Keane presumably thought it would go public and would'nt be pulled.Originally Posted by Macy