Thread: Who has the best website?

monkey magic, in the close season one of the main aims is to move the design to a pure css one. Its almost there but not quite. There is a very good backend on the site and the current site doesn't use a 1/4 of the potential. As a designer myself, I am getting more and more anal about standards and I think Shels was the last site I did that was a hybrid table/css design.

I think our content will catch Corks next season without doubt.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

just copied the links from another site. think they're all there

Bohemian FC
    http://www.bohemians.ie

Bray Wanderers
    http://www.braywanderers.ie

Cork City FC
    http://www.corkcityfc.ie

Derry City FC
    http://www.derrycityfc.net

Drogheda United FC
    http://www.droghedaunited.ie

Sligo Rovers FC
    http://www.sligorovers.com

Longford Town FC
    http://www.longfordtownfc.com

UCD
    http://www.ucd.ie/soccer/

Waterford United FC
    http://www.waterford-united.ie

Shamrock Rovers FC
    http://www.shamrockrovers.ie

Shelbourne FC
    http://www.shelbournefc.ie

St. Patrick's Athletic FC
    http://www.stpatsfc.com

Athlone Town AFC
    http://www.athlonetownfc.com

Finn Harps
    http://www.finnharps.com

Cobh Ramblers FC
    http://www.cobhramblers.com

Dublin City FC
    http://www.dublincityfc.com

Dundalk FC
    http://www.dundalkfc.com

Galway United FC
    http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie

Kildare County FC
    http://www.kildarecountyfc.com

Kilkenny City FC
    http://www.kilkennycityfc.com

Limerick FC
    http://www.geocities.com/sadloserkid/limerick - Supporter's Website

Monaghan United FC
    http://www.monaghanunited.ie
    of course, everything looks bad if you remember it.- Homer Simpson
    www.sliceco.com

with a site that has a lot of changing content, or even for any site really, cascading style sheets make sense, tables can be messy... the site in general has come on so far from the thing that was there before that i wouldent be surprised if ye passed corks next season, keep up the good work! what software do you use? dreamweaver?
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

I never use any applications to produce my code. I use a php textpad and for the html I write it myself. I hate not fully knowing what all my code does and I find applications whack in too much other stuff. I have been kinda doing this stuff for the last 9 years so I find I can produce better stuff when I code it all myself.

Tables should be only used to display tabular data and never used for design and layout. Happily the tags in html are finally being used for what they were meant to be used for now and not just cos it looks right on the web. IE is very forgiving to bad design.
    Last edited by Gareth; 23/11/2005 at 1:33 PM.

Jaysus lads, simple question, which website is best, you didn't have to turn it into a geek convention!!!
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth
    I never use any applications to produce my code. I use a php textpad and for the html I write it myself. I hate not fully knowing what all my code does and I find applications whack in too much other stuff. I have been kinda doing this stuff for the last 9 years so I find I can produce better stuff when I code it all myself.

Tables should be only used to display tabular data and never used for design and layout. Happily the tags in html are finally being used for what they were meant to be used for now and not just cos it looks right on the web. IE is very forgiving to bad design.
    fair play. nowhere near that capable myself, tbh experience is probably the best teacher when it comes to website design.what i have is only an add-on one year degree designed to give us the basics of web design i.e. we were thought how to use dreamweaver,access, html, a bit of javascript and we were then taken through the whole creating a website process, from hosting to uploading and editing. spent a lot of time on good design theory and internet marketing aswell so twas interesting. the whole purpose was to give us the skills to act as the middle man in an organisation between the tech people and management.

anyways back on topic
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Jaysus lads, simple question, which website is best, you didn't have to turn it into a geek convention!!!

Our website is bogroll but getting a major overhaul apparently. Fair play to the fan who does it though on his own time.

Shame Limerick and Kilkenny do not have official sites though.........

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red

Quality ! was just thinking the same myself.

POTM of me i reckon......

You cant start mentioning websites and not enter into a somewhat technical discussion . Stop giving Roy POTM, he'll become intolerable!!!

Shesl can have this prize if they want - sure what other website would publise confidential files. Besides have to let them win something.

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    Quality ! was just thinking the same myself.

POTM of me i reckon......
    Here then.

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Shame Limerick and Kilkenny do not have official sites though
    Fans do the Cork City FC one ... why cant fans of those clubs chip in and help out. There is loads you can do aswell to improve things for the club by having a site !!

Likewise the Shels site. Done and run by Shels fans. If you think you can't make a difference your not trying hard enough.

dao any of the clubs spend money on the sites ?
    of course, everything looks bad if you remember it.- Homer Simpson
    www.sliceco.com

Thats confidential Btw I will pm you tomorrow in response to your original one.

Quote Originally Posted by Gareth

HAve a look at this one www.StPaulsArtaneFC.com This uses tables as the base, with xml, css, Dhtml, asp, etc, etc.

It's hard to say which website is 'the best' but fair play to all the people that produce their clubs website, it takes a fair bit of work, usually goes unsung and provides a great deal more info. than any other form of media.
    I'd rather die laughing than trying!

Quote Originally Posted by Derek
    HAve a look at this one www.StPaulsArtaneFC.com This uses tables as the base, with xml, css, Dhtml, asp, etc, etc.
    Hi Derek, yeah I see that is uses tables. The reason I say that we should move away from using tables for the layout is very simple. Tables are for structuring tabular data, not for presenting visual layout. You can use css to style your tables, but really we should all be moving from that to actually have a tableless design layout and if we need tabular data then use a table. Anyone who has needed to design a very complex layout can tell you using tables ends up in a mess of <table><tr><td> tags with little chance of readability.

CSS is optional, by design. The site may look plain on browsers which don't implement it, but at least (if the site is designed right) it will still work, in the sense of giving the reader full access to the information content. Since access to information always a higher priority than presenting it in a predefined style, this allows a larger audience to visit.

Tables are designed for presenting tabular data, layouts which use tables may make sense to the surfer using a visual browser, but often the underlying structure of the HTML, the document flow, does not linearise well. Thus when the page is viewed on devices that aren't visual browsers running on a PC (e.g. PDA's, mobile phones, voice browsers etc) the content does not make sense.

What makes tables a bad choice is that when used, it is impossible to differentiate reliably which table actually structures tabular data and which is being misused for layout. This effectively prohibits the use of tables in a semantic sense. Since the web is heading toward a human and computer based information environment, tables based layout dole out a large amount of damage for no advantage.

30 Posts
    I run the Derry one - did a whole redesign recently using CSS throughout.

And no, I don't get any help - financially (or otherwise) from the club!

30 Posts
    Sorry - still used tables for some info - e.g. fixtures, but I use CSS for the layout.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfc_1928
    I run the Derry one - did a whole redesign recently using CSS throughout.

And no, I don't get any help - financially (or otherwise) from the club!