Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast

Thread: SRFC v DCFC

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    No problem whatsoever with the result last night - the best team won. Or rather the only team on the pitch won but that comment is a disgrace. Barry spent most of last night in A&E in the Mater after having his ankle stamped on.

agree totally no one should set out to take ut a player deliberatly.

Also i think dcfc are in total control now as rovers defense is diabolical and they will have to score a minimum of 2 goals as dcfc will definty score
    Winners are workers,
    Losers make excuses.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    I was under the Impression that they did!!
    I know this was the case when bohs played cobh in 2000
    It is the norm these days, but in this country away goals have never decided LOI games in any competition, not even when the Cup semis were over 2 legs.

It's one thing being relegated on GD, however, it would be terrible to lose a promotion/relegation spot on away goals, in a LEAGUE game.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    It is the norm these days, but in this country away goals have never decided LOI games in any competition, not even when the Cup semis were over 2 legs.

It's one thing being relegated on GD, however, it would be terrible to lose a promotion/relegation spot on away goals, in a LEAGUE game.

Fair Point: It would be a shyte way to be relegated, but are penalties any better
    I stand corrected so ........Check the oven and see if my humble pie is ready yet

Quote Originally Posted by Breifne
    Okay lets do a quick survey:

Club Colours
    Home Farm: Royal Blue and White
    Dublin City: Sky Blue & Navy
    Verdict: Different

Home Ground
    Home Farm: Own Whitehall
    Dublin City: Rent Whitehall
    Verdict: Dublin City play out of Whitehall for a number of reasons, including its smaller so a better atmosphere, better surface, nicer bar and very importantly, its cheaper than any of the rental alternatives in Dublin.

Ethos
    Home Farm: Focusing on the Schoolboy aspect of things, developing players, have a couple of junior/intermediate sides, but aren't the main focus of the club.
    Dublin City: Senior Football is the priority of the club, also fielding an U-21 side.
    Verdict: Completely different in its focus.

Fan Base
    Home Farm: Parents and family of the players
    Dublin City: A small group of enthusiastic supporters has been garnered bit by bit over the last few years. although there is probably about 10/15 people who are a hang over from the Home Farm days.
    Verdict: Dublin City has attracted new supporters through its identity as a City wide club.

Reality
    Home Farm are a hugely successful Schoolboy and Junior side who have a host of Internationals in their illustrious past.

Founded by Don Seery (Ronan's Father) and Brendan Menton Snr. they have collected many national titles at numerous levels, including an FAI Senior Cup.

When Home Farm decided to pull out of Senior Football, there then head of the senior set up Ronan Seery, decided that he would take on the mantle of running the club. He rented Home Farm's facility to play in, recruited a manager, players and Dublin City was born.

Yes, Dublin City and Home Farm have extremely close ties, but they are not and never where the same thing. Every Dublin City fan would love to have Home Farm's history and heritage, but we don't we are now creating our own.

In 5 seasons, we have challenged for promotion for the first three years, finally winning the title in 2003. a number of factors saw us relegated in 2004, and now we are 90 minutes away from securing our top flight status again. Not bad for a nothing club.

Good post. Interesting stuff in it I didn't know about. I hope we beat you on Friday but fair play you were the better team last night. I have no problem with DC. They entered the league under the rules so have as much right to be in it as any other team. If you beat us or draw on Friday you deserve promotion, end of.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Quote Originally Posted by Dotsy
    Good post. Interesting stuff in it I didn't know about. I hope we beat you on Friday but fair play you were the better team last night. I have no problem with DC. They entered the league under the rules so have as much right to be in it as any other team. If you beat us or draw on Friday you deserve promotion, end of.

At last a bit of sense and civility : fair play

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Brendan
    it'd be daft if away goals were to decide the outcome of this one given the two teams involved

It wouldn't be just daft it would be down right fcuking hilariously Ironic
    so much so in fact that Alanis Morisette would probarbly feel compelled to write a song about it
    Last edited by Block G Raptor; 23/11/2005 at 11:36 AM.

Firstly no problems with the result. Better team won on the night no complaints. We still have a chance and the fact away goals dont count is a blessing no matter how small it is.

However I have to say this If we go down on friday on the pitch we'll deserve to off the pitch we'd be a bigger loss to the premier division than CHF would be a gain for the premier division. Lads that is a fact. im dissapointed with some of the reactions of the chf fans. Ringo youve been bitter all year so im not surprised there but sheridan that comment about Barry Murphy was sickening call yourself a football fan hurry up back to tarquin. Briefne good post but no matter what it will take a long time for dcfc to be recognised as a club of their own, wheather thats a good or bad thing I dont know.

Still friday is another day. Where there's hope

JUZ

71 Posts
    Was it wrong? Compared to our previous experiences, nut-throwing doesn't even register as disorder, never mind hooliganism.
    Eh, yes it was wrong. Throwing anything at opposition fans is wrong. As I said, just because you have seen worse doesn't make this right.

I also find it ridiculous that a poster here felt the need to make it an issue.
    In light of the discussion about the need for added security at our ground, given you're the only club's fans I've seen throw stuff at us in our own ground it is relevant.

Er, yes you did. See below.
    You're taking my post out of context. You were asking who was fined. I was alluding to the fact that this was pointless as we were fined for behaviour of Bohs fans the other week.

There is nothing to defend, as this is not an incident. No arrests were made, because it is at best, a trivial matter. Ì'm going mad about it because, here we have a case of another club's fans looking to make a big deal about a non event regarding our fans. Longford started it, and look at the anger that has caused between them and us. You shouldn't be going down the same road.
    As I say, as a Rovers fan you have lost scope. Your argument is that it needs to be of a grave or very serious magnitude before it is worth discussing. I think that in itself says something. I'm not making a big deal of it, I simply highlighted the incdicent in this discussion and you took offence to me even mentioning it.
    Last edited by Poor Student; 23/11/2005 at 12:47 PM.

3,503 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    I was under the Impression that they did!!
    I know this was the case when bohs played cobh in 2000
    You didn't play Bohs in 2000 - you were runners-up in the league in 2000! Waterford-Kilkenny was 2000, Bohs-Cobh was 1999 I think. UCD played Athlone in 2000/01 which went to extra time and penalties and I remember asking about away goals during extra time and being told there wasn't any. So it looks like away goals haven't counted for the duration of the play-offs. Which, for a league which ten years ago didn't recognise goal difference, makes sense.

In case you haven't noticed, away goals in this tie, DO NOT COUNT. So we only need to score 1 goal to stay in the league.

so your saying a draw over the two legs is enough for ye to stay up??

thats a more stupid suggestion than the away goals idea.

surely the game would then go to extra time/penalties?
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

3,503 Posts
    Yes, the game goes to extra time if it's level.

Rovers can win 1-0, win on penalties, have scored one goal in the 120 minutes and stay up, which was his point.

No he said we only have to score one to stay up. Which, being hugeky pedantic, is wrong

Oh for ****s sake. For anyone who was at the game last night will know that we are down. Case closed. We are/were awful, diabolical and were deservedly beaten on the night by an average, hard working side.

If we stay up I'll eat Damiens hat. The 8 point deduction because of the previous boards disgraceful incompetence was the root of all this coupled with Roddy telling all and sundry that we were safe despite the players not being fit

Premier clubs enjoy CHF cos it could be a long time before we're back.

You can never truely miss something until it's gone. Trust me, after a year enduring mind-numbing, souless games against CHF they'll be praying for us to win the First Division.

BTW that suggestion of a 22 team single division doesn't seem all that hair-brained now
    Ireland: Discovered!

Quote Originally Posted by manic da hoop
    You can never truely miss something until it's gone. Trust me, after a year enduring mind-numbing, souless games against CHF they'll be praying for us to win the First Division.

BTW that suggestion of a 22 team single division doesn't seem all that hair-brained now
    Come on lads have faith in your team

It will be all the more pleasent for us if u think you are going to stay up

ah no but seriously I hope you do make a swift return ...............I'd say 10 years should be swift enough for me

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by manic da hoop

It's not a suggestion, it's a highly likely proposition. Officials at 3 clubs have said it to me. At the moment only one club looks like getting a full licence next year. Although the other rumour doing the rounds is that they'll bottle it again and use Genesis as an excuse to bring it in in 2007.

I'd still hate to be relegated even if we did stay up on a technicality. That would be like Bohs - never relegated but re-elected a record 16 times. AFAIK they even did a 6-in-a-row around the time we were winning 6 cups on the trot.

PS Will someone get a bottle of whiskey and a loaded gun for NY Hoop...............
    No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

PS Will someone get a bottle of whiskey and a loaded gun for NY Hoop...............

On the Way

Bohs - never relegated but re-elected a record 16 times. AFAIK they even did a 6-in-a-row around the time we were winning 6 cups on the trot.

same old rovers living in the past
    face it your glory days are over and will never return
    if you dont get out of the 1st straight away i really feel that the club will dissappear (and that my friend would be a sad day for Irish football.. Friday will not be )
    Last edited by Block G Raptor; 23/11/2005 at 4:17 PM.

It's not a suggestion, it's a highly likely proposition. Officials at 3 clubs have said it to me. At the moment only one club looks like getting a full licence next year. Although the other rumour doing the rounds is that they'll bottle it again and use Genesis as an excuse to bring it in in 2007.

I'd still hate to be relegated even if we did stay up on a technicality. That would be like Bohs - never relegated but re-elected a record 16 times. AFAIK they even did a 6-in-a-row around the time we were winning 6 cups on the trot.

One problem/good thing with a league ruled by self interest is that we are now self interested to pus through a structure that will keep us up.

WAR, I presume you mean WE are the only club getting a license so far?

81 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas

WAR, I presume you mean WE are the only club getting a license so far?
    "Thomas", you know as well as I do that I would never comment on official SRFC business.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

is the technicality not the 8 point deduction?

Page 8 of 10 FirstFirst ... 678910 LastLast