Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: SRFC v DCFC

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student
    Are you joking? John83, poster here, standing right beside me had nuts thrown at him when we scored our equaliser by a group of 3-5 scangers. It happened once, which is once too many. There doesn't need to be any arrests for it to have happened. For God's sake, we're the ones who would be fined for your fans behaviour. I find it odd that you seem to only consider it a problem if it happened on a grand scale, more than once and contained arrests. Supporting Rovers too long perhaps?
    I can see the Herag Headline now: "Rovers nut-ters in Belfield rampage!!!!!"

Over the last 10+ years at Rovers games, I have been hit with stones, and had missiles of varying degrees aimed in my, and other Rovers' fans general direction. I have witnessed riots and near riots, in other matches. That was what you would call a problem. I have been branded a "Judas" by a Home Farm fan after we played them post-Collins last season, for no reason. The only thing I heard being thrown at UCD, was the sound of pins dropping.

While the disgraceful behaviour of nut-throwing cannot possibly be condoned, it is not rowdy, not hooliganism, not a reason for arresting fans, nor a fining offence. Get over it, will you? All you're doing is taking a leaf out of Longford's anti-Rovers paranoia book.

1,550 Posts
    All joking aside, fans of every club have a right to watch football without having ANYTHING being thrown at them.

Strangest one I experienced was wee boys firing chocolate at us in Cobh. Sore enough it was too.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Support your team, hate your rivals.
    What's the point in having your rivals playing in a different league?

DC is a rival to nobody...
    Exactly! They're a pointless club that no one enjoys going to watch.
    There were already enough clubs in Dublin without this ridiculous venture.

At least with Rovers, there is rivalry, there is passion and the fixtures are entertaining.

70 Posts
    Well said Peadar... I'm 99% in agreement, as i'm sure most people on this forum would agree with aswell, with the exception of bohs and the 3 home farm posters....
    Last edited by Buller; 22/11/2005 at 8:47 PM.

Rovers must be in total disarray altogether, are DCFC just a better team than them now?

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    I can see the Herag Headline now: "Rovers nut-ters in Belfield rampage!!!!!"

Over the last 10+ years at Rovers games, I have been hit with stones, and had missiles of varying degrees aimed in my, and other Rovers' fans general direction. I have witnessed riots and near riots, in other matches. That was what you would call a problem. I have been branded a "Judas" by a Home Farm fan after we played them post-Collins last season, for no reason. The only thing I heard being thrown at UCD, was the sound of pins dropping.

While the disgraceful behaviour of nut-throwing cannot possibly be condoned, it is not rowdy, not hooliganism, not a reason for arresting fans, nor a fining offence. Get over it, will you? All you're doing is taking a leaf out of Longford's anti-Rovers paranoia book.
    As I said, just because your experiences as a Rovers fan has lead you to see a lot worse than nut throwing it does not excuse what is a wrong act in principle. When you throw stuff at opposition fans you have crossed the line between rivalry and banter. Considering the fact it was a meaningless game against a club you have no hostilities with I find it ridiculous anyone felt the need to do it. I didn't ask for fans to be arested or clubs to be fined, I am simply holding it up as very recent first hand example of pointless unrpovoked knacker behaviour by your fans. What exactly is your point here? You can't defend it and I am not asking for anyone to be hanged here, why are you going so mad about it?

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Rovers must be in total disarray altogether, are DCFC just a better team than them now?
    On the looks of that match, clearly. Not to say Dublin City are a decent side in any way.

Quote Originally Posted by Rebal Boy
    If Dublin City do go up will they play their home games in Whitehall or in Tolka Park. I think they should have them in Whitehall. I've never been there, but I was at Tolka and thats a dump of a place. They don't even have lights in the toilets. I guess someone forgot to pay the ESB bill.

have you ever been to santry

I couldnt make the game tonight but i was delighted to hear the result and i'll be along Friday to watch DCFC put the final nails in Rovers coffin

C'mon DCFC

PS. do you like my new sig

can anyone there tell us what the crowd was like? Particularly if there were any "nuetrals" there....

Initially was told the crowd was around 1,100 but later about 1,800 or so.

71 Posts
    There was about 150 in the Des Kelly stand and the Jody was about 3/4 full though cannot be entirely sure if all the gaps were filled as people were standing. At the start of the game the Jody was only half full. My estimate is 2,000 maximum. Was there many neutrals? Well I know of 4 UCD fans being there myself included. I saw a few Bohs fans but a lot of people in the Des Kelly stand were without colour so they could have been Dub City or neutral. City's most vocal singing group numbered about 30. Couldn't tell you how the break up of the Jody went but at least half the stand looked green.

there was at most 100 fans in the shed, at least 10 of whom were burberry wearing bohs scrotes. hardly the hoards that some here were predicting.
    CHF's biggest ever game and they couldnt manage 100 fans.
    seemed to be a few neutrals there alright. about 1900 at the game.

some consolation from a poor result was we were truely awful and they were at their best. they got 2 goals from speculative shots, 1st was a cracker, 2nd keeper made a mess of. 1 or 2 half chances from set pieces, but that was it.

we lost midfield and were still very unlucky. o'connor hit the post and the ball just wouldnt break in the box for us. CHF looked very vunerable to players like sparky and billy boy running at them.

worrying to be behind, but we cannot play that badly again and CHF celebrating at the end was a very, very unwise move.

Of course they were going to celebrate... And how do you know thats the best they could play?

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    there was at most 100 fans in the shed, at least 10 of whom were burberry wearing bohs scrotes. hardly the hoards that some here were predicting.
    CHF's biggest ever game and they couldnt manage 100 fans.
    seemed to be a few neutrals there alright. about 1900 at the game.

some consolation from a poor result was we were truely awful and they were at their best. they got 2 goals from speculative shots, 1st was a cracker, 2nd keeper made a mess of. 1 or 2 half chances from set pieces, but that was it.

we lost midfield and were still very unlucky. o'connor hit the post and the ball just wouldnt break in the box for us. CHF looked very vunerable to players like sparky and billy boy running at them.

worrying to be behind, but we cannot play that badly again and CHF celebrating at the end was a very, very unwise move.
    lol no goals from play and a dubious peno ,cop on, you were $hite, and we shouldn't have celebrated?, Fcuk off

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    lol no goals from play and a dubious peno ,cop on, you were $hite, and we shouldn't have celebrated?, Fcuk off
    no-one said you couldnt celebrate, just i think it was a silly thing to do at half time, and will motivate the hoops no end in training.

as was said on the other thread, stonewall peno. ill assume you hadnt a view, watch the highlights.

you were poor, but we were awful and you only won with a lucky late goal. our pace caused you allsorts of problems, if we get any grip on midfield we will win handy. but if we let the game develop into a kick and run physical game again, id worry

and well done taking out our player of the year within 10 mins. and giving him the treatnent 5 mins later. and people wonder why kicker is hated?

Talking

is anyone else getting google ads for beer nuts and macadamia processing?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    In fairness, there was nothing dubious about the penalty, it was a reckless tackle. The remainder of the quoted post was b0llocks (the players trotted over to acknowledge the support, as they do before and after every game; in fact, the most OTT celebration of the night was perpetrated by Junkie Molloy, who went tearing away slobbering all over his shirt as though he'd just settled a Champions League final ), but you could have gleaned that in advance by glancing at the avatar. Aside from the penalty, I think Rovers had two chances in the entire match - Cottsy's shot against the bar (effected by a hitherto undetected left foot) and a tame header which Brendan fielded comfortably. By contrast, I think we fashioned at least four clear goal-chances; McGill's near-post header which skidded inches wide early on, Robbie Collins' cut-in-and-drive which barely cleared the crossbar, and a couple more goalmouth scrambles in the second half.

Top marks to whomever (inadvertently) clobbered Barry Murphy. He never moved for the first goal and his replacement f*cked up royally on the second.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

no-one said you couldnt celebrate, just i think it was a silly thing to do at half time, and will motivate the hoops no end in training.
    same old same old, excuses.
    It may also motivate us in training
    you were poor, but we were awful and you only won with a lucky late goal. our pace caused you allsorts of problems, if we get any grip on midfield we will win handy. but if we let the game develop into a kick and run physical game again, id worry
    I think we played very well, maybe you just can not give credit for the way we beat you.

and well done taking out our player of the year within 10 mins. and giving him the treatnent 5 mins later. and people wonder why kicker is hated?
    What?

To be honest it was a god awful match and a god awful performance and pathetic behaviour towards the end...

all round.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast