Talking Dublin City claim play-off spot

Dublin City claim play-off spot
    Saturday, 19 November 2005 10:31

Roddy Collins will have to plan for a play-off with former club Dublin City as he bids to ensure that Shamrock Rovers remain in the eircom Premier Division

Dublin City claimed a promotion play-off spot as they overcame Athlone by 3-1 at Golden Island Park this evening.

Robbie Hederman put the side from the capital a goal in front after sixteen minutes. David Freeman added another just after half-time before Austin Skelly grabbed one back for Athlone with just six minutes remaining in normal time.

Derek Pender put the result beyond doubt three minutes later to set up a play-off with Shamrock Rovers to see who will play in the eircom Premier division next year.

Roddy Collins will now take his Shamrock Rovers side to face the club he left in acrimonious circumstances before the end of last season.http://www.rte.ie/sport/2005/1119/dublincity.html

Well done DCFC. Fair play to ye, I suppose in the end up, ye deserve it as Cobh could not hold it, well done and good luck in the play-offs. We might be playing ye again next season after all.

Sweet! These games are gonna be fantastic!
    God

57 Posts
    Roy Keane to sign an exclusive 2 match deal with DCFC for the play-offs?

We could have a whipround for it - 300 of us paying €100 each - €30,000 - nice little bonus for Roy
    Kom Igen, FCK...

i'll go for that

Dublin City fans,what songs do youse sing,i'll practise them before the games

when the rod rod roody , goes bob bob bobing along.......

Where's your Roddy gone, wheres your Roddy gone.........far far away( we hope)

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    Dublin City claim play-off spot
    Saturday, 19 November 2005 10:31

Roddy Collins will now take his Shamrock Rovers side to face the club he left in acrimonious circumstances before the end of last season.http://www.rte.ie/sport/2005/1119/dublincity.html
    Presumably RTE have forgotten all the previous news reports about Alan O'Neill and Noel Synott being in charge of the first team matters??

Talking

H A H A H A

you couldnt write the script yourself

Quote Originally Posted by thomas
    Presumably RTE have forgotten all the previous news reports about Alan O'Neill and Noel Synott being in charge of the first team matters??
    Not really, did Rovers not suspend Roddy for a week, and according to reports that week is up this weekend. So is he not back in charge for Tuesday?

Quote Originally Posted by chippie0001
    Not really, did Rovers not suspend Roddy for a week, and according to reports that week is up this weekend. So is he not back in charge for Tuesday?
    I was just about to start a thread asking that question - anyone able to confirm if he'll be in charge on tuesday?
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    when the rod rod roody , goes bob bob bobing along.......

Where's your Roddy gone, wheres your Roddy gone.........far far away( we hope)
    Yeah, we'll really be offended by that one

If you actually had enough fans to get the chant going we would, in all likelyhood, happily join in!

As for his so-called one week's suspension - what kind of planet are RTE on with that rubbish? Collins is HISTORY and hopefully will never be seen at a Rovers match ever again. Alan and Noel's Gren and White Army to see off the challenge of CHF and maintain our Premier Division status
    Ireland: Discovered!

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    I was just about to start a thread asking that question - anyone able to confirm if he'll be in charge on tuesday?
    follow the sequence yourself:
    a written warning, a final written warning, then suspension pending inquiry.
    this is often followed by dismissal.
    just crossing the t's and dotting the i's so the case is legally watertight i would assume.
    you dont seriously expect to see shoddy in a rovers dugout ever again do you?

so what will the CHF fans whine about now he is gone? imagine being idiotic enough to think we would somehow be offended by a song about roddy being gone?

33 Posts
    I know the build-up to these matches started over a year ago. But it's a shame Rovers fans are dissappointed that the opposition don't see songs that insult them.

Its almost like hoops fans are annoyed they are not ridiculed.

Rovers fans seem to be very aware of dismissals, no doubt through their own employment history. ( no I don't believe all the rovers posters are employers).

It important to remind SRFC that Constructive dismissal is not the same as dismissal in the Construction industry.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

Quote Originally Posted by kickR
    Like i promised Cobh wouldn't beat us, good luck in the play-offs now, we did you the favour now its all up to you
    Eh, they did themselves the favour by beating Cobh. They beat Athlone 3-1 so your result with Cobh didn't matter to Dublin City.

Ah, last night in Athlone put alot of this seasons bad performances to bed for me. A great night, super atmosphere (the Athlone lads were great craic) and a super-duper goal by Derek Pender to seal the win.

As for Tuesday/Friday all of our songs are fairly easy to pick up, and we'll all be doing our best to sing our hearts out for the lads, they deserve it. We don't have anti-Rovers or anti-any other team songs/chants. We haven't been around long enough to become that bitter (yet) And any anti-Roddy chants will be just that, anti-Roddy full stop.

Hope both games are competitive and keenly fought, I'm sure they will be, and I hope that people will come out to watch the drama unfold.

C'mon City and Up the Dubs!

I might venture up for the game on friday night and i know i will be shouting for rovers i can tell ya.
    No disrespect to CHF but they just dont do it for the league like what rovers do!

70 Posts
    Good man Mental Man!
    C'mon the ROVERS!!!

Smile

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    follow the sequence yourself:
    a written warning, a final written warning, then suspension pending inquiry.
    this is often followed by dismissal.
    just crossing the t's and dotting the i's so the case is legally watertight i would assume.

so what will the CHF fans whine about now he is gone? imagine being idiotic enough to think we would somehow be offended by a song about roddy being gone?
    What's done is done... as ya say & can't now be undone. Remember this though, Roddy in charge (past) was bout 60% the reason why ya's are playin us... ya think?
    Last edited by blueviking1980; 20/11/2005 at 8:12 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    Well the rovers supporters obviously dont want it - so guaranteed he wont be in charge for the play off matches, yeah??

So whats the official line on it? Will they increase the suspension, sack him, etc or what?

Agree with ye though - just looking for the official line on it!!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS