Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: Congratulations Cork City

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    If you were as you claim "far superior" then the league wouldn't have had run to the last day. The teams are on a par.
    I'd agree we're close enough to it, I wasn't having a go at Derry, just pointing out that the league (despite the format) balances out over the season and you end up where you deserve to.

The only team to give us a lesson this year were Derry (edit: and Slavia I guess)
    I'm sure last friday was the only time Derry were played off the field too.

There was nothing between the teams in fairness, two point difference in the end from a possible 99 goes to show that.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc
    bottom line we played 17 away games and 16 home games and still won.
    Ahm....so did we

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    I'd agree we're close enough to it, I wasn't having a go at Derry, just pointing out that the league (despite the format) balances out over the season and you end up where you deserve to.

The only team to give us a lesson this year were Derry (edit: and Slavia I guess)
    I'm sure last friday was the only time Derry were played off the field too.

There was nothing between the teams in fairness, two point difference in the end from a possible 99 goes to show that.
    Thank you tiktok - at last we get a reasonably fair appraisal of the season from someone on here.

Never got round to posting, but well done Cork on the league win.
    For all your League of Ireland news - www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    The only team to give us a lesson this year were Derry (edit: and Slavia I guess) I'm sure last friday was the only time Derry were played off the field too.
    I agree. We only lost 3 league games & Derry was only one that was fully deserved. Loses to Drogs & Pats involved bus parking by both teams at the cross.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    Add 1 away to UCD and 1 away to Pats? et voila - thats 8 trips to Dublin 22/24 points. We only won 5 out of 7 - wow, yer right, we must be far inferior than you!!

Ok you played 21 games outside the league (Setanta:4, LeagueCup:2, UEFA:6, FAI Cup:6, and the Munster Senior Cup:3). But seriously, I'm sure youse fielded a sh!t hot team against St Marys, Avondale, AND the mighty Carrick Utd. You played 6 in the FAI Cup due to the fact you couldn't put away Harps or Galway in 90 minutes - so that was yer own tough titty.. Let's take out the MSC, you played 18 (should have been 16 but ah well)...we played 4 FAI Cup, and 5 League Cup. Therefore you played 9 extra games than Derry this season. Sure thats nothing when you consider that Cork are a full time team and that we are NOT. So thats that part of your argument gone too.

I REALLY hope we do too - coz our European record so far makes for some dire reading to be brutally honest.

As for your argument that "if derry were on a par with cork we'd have got the same amount of points" - surely you can do better than that!!!
    Get over your bitterness, you had a good season, so let it go...
    Suddnely Derry are a part-time team?
    Get a grip. Why does your manager make such a big thing of having all his players living in Derry so that they can train together every day?
    Thats full-time, no matter how many hairs you try to split.

City played 9 league games in Dublin
    2 v, $hels, Bohs, Rovers = 6
    1 v UCD, SPA, Bray = 9
    25 points from 27.

City played 51 games within the same period of time as you played 42.

City are by far the better side, coming on here whinging that Derry are the same just because you claim they are isn't much of an argument.

I hope Kenny strengthens your squad, btw, I think you will need to for playing in Europe.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    Get over your bitterness, you had a good season, so let it go...
    Suddnely Derry are a part-time team?
    Get a grip. Why does your manager make such a big thing of having all his players living in Derry so that they can train together every day?
    Thats full-time, no matter how many hairs you try to split.
    Patsh, you really should do some research there my friend. Quick example...why do you think theres so much speculation surrounding Delaney? Coz he can't get a job in Derry. Eamonn Doherty? Fireman. Gary Beckett? Postman. Ciaran Martyn? Lawyer. Starting to understand the whole "part-time" concept are we?

City played 9 league games in Dublin
    2 v, $hels, Bohs, Rovers = 6
    1 v UCD, SPA, Bray = 9
    25 points from 27.
    Yeah well the rest of the teams in the league travel to Wicklow to play Bray, but its nice that ye seem to have played them at a neutral venue

But lets go with your twisted geography and rationale for a sec: 1 v, Shels, Rovers, Pats = 3, - 2 v, Bohs, UCD, Bray = 6. Therefore we played 9 matches in "Dublin" too!!! Accumulating 22 points - I know, I know, pathetic in comparison to your gargantuan 25!!!

City played 51 games within the same period of time as you played 42.
    54 - ye can't forget those 3 titanic struggles in the Munster Senior Cup! Do ye want me to explain the part time thingy to you all over again?

City are by far the better side, coming on here whinging that Derry are the same just because you claim they are isn't much of an argument.
    I think I'm doing a better job of arguing my points better than you are.

I hope Kenny strengthens your squad, btw, I think you will need to for playing in Europe.
    So do I, but I don't think we need to do too much to the squad. I'd really like us to progress a round this time...because as I pointed out above, our Euro record makes for tough reading. Also because we are a part time team, the Setanta and Europe is going to take a toll on the team, so we need to add a couple of bodies to the squad.

Also, I think Rico needs to strengthen Cork's squad too - ye need to be able to give teams like Slavia a better game than you did if you want to go anywhere...but don't get me wrong - if we do half as good as you lads in Europe I'll be fairly happy, ye lot just have higher expectations in Europe than most right now.

In all this ranting in this post and others I forgot - Congrats on the title!!
    Last edited by dancinpants; 26/11/2005 at 4:07 AM.

Training as a squad together EVERY day is the same as a full-time setup.
    Bizarre that the Fire service didn't need Doherty last Friday, or that the mail still got delivered when Beckett wasn't there. Or did he have to do his route before he travelled down to Cork?
    Continually plaeading that a team that trains together every day is some how a part time setup is ridiculous.
    How many games did Doherty, Beckett, others have to miss this season because they had to be at work?
    You are spliting hairs to have a whinge.
    In actual fact, what we should have are 2 league titles.
    1 for the "full-time" team finishing the highest, and one for the "part-time" team finishing highest. Therefors by your reckoning, Derry are the part-time league champions. Congratulations.

Training as a squad together EVERY day is the same as a full-time setup.
    Bizarre that the Fire service didn't need Doherty last Friday, or that the mail still got delivered when Beckett wasn't there. Or did he have to do his route before he travelled down to Cork?
    Continually plaeading that a team that trains together every day is some how a part time setup is ridiculous.
    How many games did Doherty, Beckett, others have to miss this season because they had to be at work?
    You are spliting hairs to have a whinge.
    In actual fact, what we should have are 2 league titles.
    1 for the "full-time" team finishing the highest, and one for the "part-time" team finishing highest. Therefors by your reckoning, Derry are the part-time league champions. Congratulations.
    It just seems to have all gone over your head

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants
    It just seems to have all gone over your head
    Excellent. You've completely proved your point and won me over.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345