Thread: CCFC vs DCFC dignateries

CCFC vs DCFC dignateries

Talk in City forums of Bishop Buckley and Lord Mayor (Lady Mayoress??) Deirdre Clune being in attendance.
    I think the former is a regular anyway.

Was just wondering (and seen as all of yer fans will be wearing suits) if any of the Derry fans know if Irelands greatest politician, free-man of Cork and all round decent guy will be in attendance?
    Is he an honorary vice-chairman or something like that?
    Now thats a man whose hand i'd like to shake.
    Maybe the two teams could line out at the start of the game like a Cup match?
    Last edited by Risteard; 17/11/2005 at 1:22 PM.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    Talk in City forums of Bishop Buckley and Lord Mayor (Lady Mayoress??) Deirdre Clune being in attendance.
    I think the former is a regular anyway.

Was just wondering (and seen as all of yer fans will be wearing suits) if any of the Derry fans know if Irelands greatest politician, free-man of Cork and all round decent guy will be in attendance?
    Is he an honorary vice-chairman or something like that?
    Now thats a man whose hand i'd like to shake.
    What gob****e made Eamon McCann a free man of Cork or is it Gregory Campbell your talking about

John Hume is honourary President of Derry City F.C i think thats who your on about

Eamon Mc Cann = legend

Would think it's a cert that John Hume will be in attendance. I'm not 100% on this but I think his position is "Honourary President" When did he get the freedom of Cork? Judging by Cork fans comments on several forums over the past few weeks I think they would love Gregory Campbell (D.U.P.) to be there. They could even show him the St. George's Cross that will be in the shed tomarrow!
    Last edited by Speranza; 17/11/2005 at 1:38 PM.
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    They could even show him the St. George's Cross that will be in the shed tomarrow!
    Speranza does not lie here.
    Look out for it folks.
    Gonna be interesting to see how long it lasts.

Anyway fair play to Mr.Hume.
    Besides everything he's done a lot of work for his footie club.
    http://www.corkcorp.ie/citycouncil/freedom_city.shtml
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    They could even show him the St. George's Cross that will be in the shed tomarrow!
    You're not serious? ..................are u?

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard
    Are you serious??? Its still just an f'ing league game ffs
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor
    You're not serious? ..................are u?
    Youse are just jealous.

not jealous at all pete
    Whats the story with the georges cross though
    If its true I'll never have any respect for ccfc again

There was this story that 30 people from London were coming over to the match and bringing a flag "Cockney Rebels Cork City" on a St George's Cross. It was asked in the CCFC forum (methinks) whether City fans would have a problem. Turns out to have been a wind-up tho'.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra Red
    Its still just an f'ing league game ffs
    It's the title decider so it's clearly not "just an f'ing league game."
    This is the biggest league game for at least 12 years.

Talking

I Agree Peadar and the more shutzpa and ceremony put on display for the camera's the better should really try and make an occassion of it
    here's some more suggestions
    1. have fireworks and/or scantly clad cheerleaders as the teams enter the pitch

2. play the national anthem before the game

3. present both teams to the aforementioned dignateries

4. halftime entertainment (garda band or some such thing )

5. and most importantly A CRACKING GOOD GAME!! (with a Derry victory of course))

Quote Originally Posted by derm
    There was this story that 30 people from London were coming over to the match and bringing a flag "Cockney Rebels Cork City" on a St George's Cross. It was asked in the CCFC forum (methinks) whether City fans would have a problem. Turns out to have been a wind-up tho'.

Ah I see, I thought it was meant to be some sort of cheapshot at derry Respect Intact so

When I saw the title of the thread I thought there might be a five a side game at half time featuring Phil Coulter, John Hume, John Creedon and Morty from Sultans of Ping.

Ah well
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by paudie
    When I saw the title of the thread I thought there might be a five a side game at half time featuring Phil Coulter, John Hume, John Creedon and Morty from Sultans of Ping.

Ah well

For a while there I thought somebody was slagging Georgie off for not making more crosses
    Injustice anywhere threatens justice everywhere - Martin Luther King Jnr.