Thread: That time of the year again...

That time of the year again...

Please post cold & 'flu remedies here, I feel like crap!
    Sitting pretty!!!

The best things for a cold or flu is to sweat it out of you. Im sure you can come in with your own way of working up a sweat or you could just have a really hot bath lock all the doors and windows and just sit in the bath with a towel over your head.

I agree, have a hot bath, have a lemsip,get into bed with a heavy jumper and tracksuit bottoms on and sweat the b*astard out of you
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

I'm using Neurofen (sp?) Cold And Flu (though I forgot to bring any with me today ) and it seems to have done some good.

I got laid up with the flu that was doing the rounds a few weeks ago. Felt so rough. I found Beechams cold and flu worked well, but most of those tablets are pretty similar.

Feel better soon.

As hard as it is, I find that a tough training session is the best way to get it out of the system. The hardest part is actually getting yourself to training when you feel like sh!te though. Then when you get home, rattle some Lemsip down you, get straight to bed and you'll be grand in the morning!

I had a reall ybad flu that took almost 2 weeks to shake completely. A lot of people have had bad flus this year.

the feckin nose is like a river with the last week.aghh!
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

Quote Originally Posted by Babysis
    I got laid up with the flu that was doing the rounds a few weeks ago. Felt so rough. I found Beechams cold and flu worked well, but most of those tablets are pretty similar.

Feel better soon.
    Jesus, babysis, I glanced at your post and am glad you added the word "up" there. Whew!!!

Roy find yerself a nice woman, get down to some serious rumpy pumpy and next morning the old bug will be gone - AND the flu, Trust me on that.

Doctor Hamish
    Last edited by hamish; 14/11/2005 at 3:10 PM.

I think best way to avoid the flu/cold is to stay away from Waterford (i'm sure i caught something down there) & don't use public transport as pubs & trains are like virus breeding grounds.

I felt lousy all last week with tiredness but back to normal now.

I think its rare to get the proper flu as would be bed for a week with that - more normally is just cold/big.

Stuff you can get over-the-counter in the chemist called Ilvico - your only man. Pop 2 before bed. Dries you up as well, so life is less uncomfortable.

3,306 Posts
    Had a really bad one this time last year, Uniflu did the job of easing the symptoms, one good night's sleep later and I was in flying form

Quote Originally Posted by sirhamish
    Roy find yerself a nice woman, get down to some serious rumpy pumpy and next morning the old bug will be gone - AND the flu, Trust me on that.
    Doctor medicine himself ha?

Jesus, babysis, I glanced at your post and am glad you added the word "up" there. Whew!!!

Doctor Hamish
    Sounds like Dr Hamish as used this type of prevention before

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Doctor medicine himself ha?
    Oh be nice. I was only trying to help poor old Drumcondra Red with some practical advice. LOL

What with Shels bombing and him sick, he must be feeling very poorly.

Anyway, ye must all have the flu up in a cold, desolate, Arctic-like place like Sligo. They should turn the Showgrounds in to a penguin sanctuary.

No, I'm ok yet thanks, if I get a cold, I'll come to your clinic for advice.

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    don't use public transport as pubs & trains are like virus breeding grounds.
    WTF
    Didnt realise that pubs are a form of transport......so thats what the Luas is for,a session is only a train ticket away.

3,215 Posts
    Feckin wusses! A glass of Lemsip, maybe an orange and just get back to whatever it was you were doing!

[Note - maybe not the best advice. I think it's six years since I caught anything worse than a minor cold!]

In general though, apart from the usual plenty of exercise stuff, don't be afraid to be unhealthy. There's an awful lot of nonsense going around about how you should disinfect yourself several times before you make a sandwich. A good walk in the lashing rain, making a sandwich after putting a couple of logs on the fire, allowing the cat on the dinnertable - all gives your immune system good "exercise" (so to speak) and means it's in much better shape to shake something when it does come along.

My cure,
    1 mug of lemsip and boiling hot water, pour into a pint glass, 1 shot of whiskey(bushmills my pref), (2 spoons sugar only in the morning, no need at night), three layers of clothes, eg 2 t-shirts and a big jumper, track suit bottoms, big duvet.. fall asleep sweating, no windows open! Long steamy shower in the morning followed by coffee. bran'new!

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Ah poor Roy

Make some toast, butter it, add some crushed garlic, lovely as well. Eat this before bed. Try to wear a wooly hat in bed, will help dry up the bug.

Lots of nasty bugs flying about now though!

Get well soon, notice how hamish NEVER has the cold/flu but has problems with his eyesight...wait, what is it that people say makes you go blind....