Heard that alright. Darragh Maloney I think is his nameOriginally Posted by sfc red
Watching the Arsenal and Sunderland game on RTE today when the commentator (name eludes me at the moment) comments on Daryl Murphy...
"Scored 20 goals for Waterford Utd last season...Helped them to an FAI Cup Final...BUT PLAYING IN THE BIG LEAGUE NOW".
Thanks again lads, good to know that you can always rely on your national broadcaster to promote your national league. Any takers on when Murphy will be called into the Irish squad, seeing that he too has suddenly dramatically transformed from an average LOI player to a Premiership superstar???![]()
Heard that alright. Darragh Maloney I think is his nameOriginally Posted by sfc red
Are we honestly comparing ourselves to the premiership?
He mentioned he was a former LOI standout and we should be happy he's playing in the premeirship. Next we'll be giving out about people rating the CL above our competitions![]()
ya there is always one. he didn't compare, he was just correctly pointing out that our national broadcaster should support our national league. in this country the BIG LEAGUE is the eircom premier. the sooner people start realising this the quicker the league will develop.
if you keep your head while all around you have lost theirs, then you obviously don't understand the seriousness of the situation!!
Utd Tilll I Die
Stephen Alkin was the commentator, with Jim "I don't think Henry is playing well tonight" Beglin.Originally Posted by sfc red
I'd have thought so because i think Darragh Moloney is a fairly decent and competent commentatorOriginally Posted by town73
we should all e-mail rte with our views on this
Stephen Alkin is incompetent.
Michael O'Donnell has been playing for UCD since 1995. Tony McDonnell has been playing for UCD since 1993.
Alko refers to them as Michael McDonnell and Tony O'Donnell.
Michael McDonald used to be lead singer with the Doobie Brothers whose biggest US #1 hit was " What A Fool Believes" appropriate for Mr. Alkopop
Darragh hosted the Premiership highlights show last night.Originally Posted by Anto McC
In fairness, the Premiership is a so called 'Big League' when compared to the Eircom LeagueOriginally Posted by sfc red
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
Exactly.Some people are way too touchy. I take peoples point about promoting the EL as 'the big league'. Think the commentator was merely pointing out that Murphy has stepped up a level in class. Surely we cant deny that thats true. Maybe he should have thrown in a little EL praise at the same time thoughOriginally Posted by Cosmo
It really doesn't matter how it compares to any other league ... the national broadcaster should not be undermining the domestic league, end of .... no argument.
Make a complaint if you want it to change, cos it sure as hell wont change if you do nothing about it.
What you mean instead of completely undermining it ... yeah ... maybe you are right .... ffs !!Originally Posted by Copa Mundial
Originally Posted by Hayser(the 2nd)
Last edited by Conor H; 06/11/2005 at 3:22 PM.
www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.
Europe's Big Club.
"Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am
tee hee !!![]()
Haaa,haaaa!! Oooh, that's good.
RTE are in the bad books with me at the minute anywy - showed a handful of EL games all season and suddenly they can dictate to clubs when they should play ?!?!?!! Shower of ballax!
I'd rather die laughing than trying!
A face, I know you're not a muppet but if I wasn't an Eircom League supporter and saw that comment over what was said, I would just automatically think Eircom League fans wre complete muppets.Originally Posted by A face
They said Murphy moved up to one of the biggest and best Leagues in the world - how is that undermining in the league?
Would you have preferred them to say?, oh look there's Daryl Murphy, he once played with the great Waterford United in the world famous Eircom League - how his career has gone backwards moving to the Premiership![]()
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
FFS cop on. The Premiership is one of the best leagues in the world and the Eircom League is one of the worst leagues in Europe. Would you like him to pretend otherwise?Originally Posted by sfc red
ffs will you relax before you do yourself an injury. I meant while the opportunity was there to do so!Originally Posted by A face
Dont be so narrow minded, the fact is that the Premier League IS a so called 'big league' and he merely stated that Darryl Murphy had moved from an eircom league club to a premiership club. Im merely stating that i dont believe his intention was to undermine OUR league.