Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Thread: It's Terry O'Venables

Quote Originally Posted by brine3
    He was never a player of note...
    Mark Kinsella won't be impressed so. What are his party planning skills like...?
    SIGNATURESCOPE

what about bora milutinovic....he got a lot of crap teams to the world cup and did okay with them when he got there....

EL Tel ........ah JAYSUS!!

1,928 Posts
    Otto Rehhagel has received a new contract with Greece. I note that the bookies still list the non runners like him and Troussier.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar
    And he will not give up his day job at PSV.
    Hiddink is finishing up with PSV at the end of this season AFAIK.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brine3
    The man has a massive CV. He was never a player of note and started managing in his 20s. (in the 1960s)
    Here:
    http://www.beijen.net/frank/cvs/beenhakker-l.htm
    He's been in management for nearly 40 years at 16 different clubs/countries and has won three league titles with Real Madrid plus two with Ajax and one with Feyenoord.
    I don't think he's the kind of guy who could give two proverbials about the development of youth players and the future of Irish football at a domestic level. If he gets bored he'll quit and find another job.
    I don't have a clue about his credentials but can he be so easily dismissed?
    According to the factfile he has been with Ajax three times and Feyenoord twice. He doesn't burn his bridges.
    Its not part of the job to develop the youth structure.
    At T&T, he can talk the talk.
    http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/050429/1/3ka7.html
    What about the story when Cruyff, after a time in the US, had just returned to Ajax at the time when Beenhakker was coach. With about 25mins to go, Cruyff could not bear it any longer and left his seat in the stands and came down to stand along the touchline with Beenhakker biting his tongue on the bench. Cruyff started to direct the team who scored 3 or 4 goals to win the game.

"El Tel meets Irish party in London"
    http://www.eleven-a-side.com/boysing...p?newsid=19955

Really starting to fill with dread now.
    Granted, there may not be a whole out there, but this is the result of "headhunting"? What a joke.

Quote Originally Posted by JimmyP

Granted, there may not be a whole out there, but this is the result of "headhunting"? What a joke.
    TV still 3/1 with Paddy Power. Nothing must have come from Friday night's little get together or else someone would have been piling it on. No secrets at Merrion Square!! Still, nice night out in the big smoke for Johnny D, Milo et al on exes.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

3,491 Posts
    Source - The Sun. End of that story. Sure it could be business men or random ex-pats the Sun paid to talk to him to get a story.

1,928 Posts

Monday’s Irish Sun... quoting an eyewitness.... reveals that Milo Corcoran was possibly....
    You need to use road salt on that report and then whats left is one word, Monday.

182 Posts
    so now el tel comes out and says he wants the job (according to sportinglife.com), but also says that he's not going to apply for it, but if he's approached he'll talk.

he's acting the langer already and he's not even in the job

214 Posts
    BBC seem to think he is keen. HELP!!!!

El Tel is a step backwards, he is old (62 OR 63) and not what Ireland need right now. I just hope we are not rushed into anything just for the sake of it, we have plenty of time so why hurry? It isn't as if we have any big games coming up sometime soon. Hiddink I am fine with and I'm sure he will be approached if the Oz don't make it.

there will quite literally be a riot if he el bung gets the job.

delany out now

1,928 Posts
    He may have put the word out that he is interested and the media have megaphoned it, the bookies took less notice this time and I can't see the FAI being too bothered about him.

Before chinese whispers starts in on this story, here is what he actually said....slightly different than the headlines I'm reading on the net i.e Tel admits desire to manage Ireland, Tel Wants Job only if the fai call him, Tel: I want Ireland Job etc etc.....these comments can be taken out of context very quickly.

''I'm doing other things now and I've been offered quite a lot of positions,'' Venables told Sky Sports News.

''I've had a great time playing and coaching but if something special came up like Ireland, which is international, it might be interesting.

"I don't know anything about it, only what's in the newspapers. That's the truth.

"There are many rumours but until this moment, I have had no contact from them."
    Last edited by Karlos; 16/11/2005 at 3:00 AM.
    Foot.ie - NFL Fantasy Football Champion, 2006!

Quote Originally Posted by geysir
    He may have put the word out that he is interested and the media have megaphoned it, the bookies took less notice this time and I can't see the FAI being too bothered about him.
    Paddy Power cut price from 3/1 to 11/8.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

1,928 Posts
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by geysir
    "He may have put the word out that he is interested and the media have megaphoned it, the bookies took less notice this time and I can't see the FAI being too bothered about him."
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops
    Paddy Power cut price from 3/1 to 11/8.
    Last time they slashed his odds to 1/4.
    This time they cut his odds to 1/1 before drifting out to 11/8 yesterday.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345