Thread: Cork Look Set For Title

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac
    Also tonights result confirms that Shelbourne have nothing to play for, what a disasterous season its been for them.
    Errr - no it doesn't.....

If Derry lose their next 2 games and Shels win theirs, Shels get 2nd spot and we go 3rd. How is that "nothing to play for".....??

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac
    we dont need 6 out of 6

3 will do
    Only if your 3 points are all againt Derry. A danegrous way of thinking, GZ, but would certainly make for a great last game....

A win against Shels and a draw with Derry will do it for Cork!
    won't it?
    I can see Shels putting up a strong resistance but Cork winning 1-0, Georgie knocking in the only goal..
    That will be all the Dublin teams (in Premier division) beaten by Cork this season..
    Last game of the season in Cork should be great..

I think the League is Corks this year
    Last edited by Eire06; 08/11/2005 at 10:03 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfc_legend9
    but if we dont im glad it is going to cork
    cheers, i'm sure the vast majority of us feel the same way bout ye.

should be magic on the last day of the season and win or lose i'm sure both sets of fans will have a jar together afterwards..
    Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06
    I think the League cup is Corks this year
    Hands off the League Cup - that's our already...... !

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Hands off the League Cup - that's our already...... !
    League title

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Only if your 3 points are all againt Derry. A danegrous way of thinking, GZ, but would certainly make for a great last game....
    certainly. no matter who wins the title i'll be proud of our team and your team too. fair dues to derry,any other season we'd have the title wrapped up already. you've always been my 2nd team, and hopefully the league will reflect that
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

A few things....

The League is far from won Gav.
    Shels have a huge amount to play for, it's called the UEFA Cup.
    We were the better team by a considerable distance last night, the 1st was not against the run of play.
    Ref was a joke, red cards were ridiculous.
    The second especially should be rescinded, it was an accident ffs.
    If we beat Shels, which we could, there will be pressure on Derry Saturday, since were they to lose, they'd lose the league there.
    It wasn't a great win, it was a professional performance against a poor team.
    Fair play to the Rovers fans at the end, it's easy to sing when things are going well, it must have been hard last night.

...I THINK that whichever team wins the League this season will do it with a record number of points, which is a great compliment to both Cork and Derry.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    A few things....
    The League is far from won Gav.
    i know, but i had to counter-balance "Will Cork Blow it" with something confident!

Shels have a huge amount to play for, it's called the UEFA Cup.
    i suppose i have to give them that.

...I THINK that whichever team wins the League this season will do it with a record number of points, which is a great compliment to both Cork and Derry.
    we will set the record (we already have)
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by Roverstillidie
    christ, 1st goal against the run of play, second a gift from a meltdown in the rovers defence and then hugo goes ape**** and starts flashing the cards. 3 points, but hard won.
    can the cork fans comment on the ref? whatever about the first red which was just controversial, beach's sending off was hilarious.
    im not one of those rovers fans to talk about conspiracies, but thats 2 in 1 week....
    1. "against the run of play" ???
    You were havng a good spell, but City were ALWAYS on top.
    2. Both goals came from exquisite skill from Fenn.
    3. The second red was a disgrace, it was hardly a yellow even.
    4. I hope you manage to stay up, your fans and players are a credit to the club, it's a pity about your manager.

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Jay$i$ listening to Rico on the radio this morning, he didn't think it was great. Adequate I think he said. He claims he gave the players a bollockin' for not 'pushing on' and scoring 4/5 goals ??
    Probably did, we could certainly have scored more goals if we kept going for it, but we just played out the last 20 minutes or so with keep ball.
    Players taking it easy for the games ahead?

Quote Originally Posted by Cop on
    Jay$i$ listening to Rico on the radio this morning, he didn't think it was great. Adequate I think he said. He claims he gave the players a bollockin' for not 'pushing on' and scoring 4/5 goals ??
    He's upset cause someone stole his lucky hat and won't give it back

Code:
    Shelbourne 0:1 Cork
    Derry 1:0 Pats
    Cork 0:1 Derry

Shelbourne 1:1 Cork
    Derry 1:0 Pats
    Cork 1:1 Derry

Assuming a run of results similar to those, our league champions will not be from Munster.
    Its too close to call, and I sincerely hope Derry do it. 1) Because it benefits Shels 2) I'd love to see certain people whinging about being the best yadayadayada, depsite the fact we've been listening to it for too long with no reason as to why

If Cork draw with Shels and Derry, and Derry beat Pats, Derry win. Tbh, I wonder what the odds on that are, it seems like a good bet!
    God