Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Thread: Will Cork blow it all?

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    By saying that they "should" beat us, it implies that he thinks they automatically will.
    Jesus Wept.

Of course it doesn't. The use of the word 'should' implies only that I think we're a better side than you but I acknowledge the chance that you could cause an upset.

If I though we would automatically win, I'd have used the words "We will win".

Cork fans always want threads closed, the minute someone dares to ridicule them.
    Can you show me where I said I wanted the thread closed? I said it was a shambles, which it is!

I'm perfectly willing to respond to criticism of my club but for the record, the only person your posts 'ridicule' is you.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Read my post gavin ffs will ye, i never blamed the pitch i said get it in order, what did i blame the pitch for? Oh and yeah striker forward, whats the difference? and one good game my god get him back to spurs again he thoroughly deserves to go across the water with a good performance in one game!!

Aftre the game at the RSC i'd be worried if I was a Cork fan. O'Callaghan missed a sitter, shortly before he scored, but they didn't create too many clear cut chances. Devine pulled off a stunning save from Vinny and Vinny was clean through at another stage but just seemed too tired to outrun the defence.
    Against Shels, I don't see Cork keeping a clean sheet and with the current striking "problems" (why buy Fenn and Bruton if they're not going to solve your problems?) I'm not sure if they'll be able to score.
    I reckon it'll go down to the last day with Cork needing to win at the cross to win the league - no way would i try to call that game, but I posted after the one-all draw with waterford in the cross that that could be a result that came back to haunt Cork. One thing is certain - there'll be some atmosphere for that last game.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

i think they will blow it

Quote Originally Posted by wws
    i think they will blow it
    Any particular reason why?

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Any particular reason why?

I think Shels will beat them
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

This thread's getting a bit of a head do'er lets just have the football doing the talking!!

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    I think Shels will beat them
    ...and that we won't beat Derry?
    The Shels game doesn't affect us hugely anymore, we know that we'll be involved last day, to a degree the pressure is lessened.

how? we've all heard the complaints from Cork fans about teams who come to the cross to defend and don't play nice football allowing cork to pass the ball etc. surely it'd be better a lot for Cork if Derry needed to come out and win the game?
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

I can see derry get a point down in cork (which would be enough for them to win the league if shels beat ye!).

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    (which would be enough for them to win the league if shels beat ye!).
    Provided that Derry beat Pats, of course.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Well obviously

Quote Originally Posted by bigmac
    how? we've all heard the complaints from Cork fans about teams who come to the cross to defend and don't play nice football allowing cork to pass the ball etc. surely it'd be better a lot for Cork if Derry needed to come out and win the game?
    I know, that's not what I was saying. Probably wasn't clear.

If we'd not won last night, we'd have had to beat Shels Friday, which would have put the management and team under huge pressure, that's no longer the case, we know regardless of the Shels result that if we win at home on the last day, we win the league.

Obviously beating Shels would see us requiring only a draw, and you're correct that if derry have to go for it, we'd be more effective to counterattack them, it's just that with the pressure -v- Shels lessened I think we're more likely to win there.

We can go at Shels safe in the knowledge it won't cost us the league, a draw is as good as a loss to us in tolka if Derry beat Pats.

fair point, but it means derry only need a point an the cross, which is more than possible

Quote Originally Posted by peadar
    now your clutching at straws
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

At the end of the day lads, the destination of the title is in the hands of the respective teams.

If either team win their last 2 games it's goodnight for the other.

And that's how I feel Derry should approach the last 2 games, go for a win in both and forget about all other possible outcomes.

We are at our best going forward, if we only need a draw it could end up costing us dearly, as I feel we are not equiped to play that way.

All the best lads, i'm away now to beg the boss for the Friday off, so say a wee prayer

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Krstic
    And that's how I feel Derry should approach the last 2 games, go for a win in both and forget about all other possible outcomes.
    Whatever about your trip to Cork, you have a handy one against Pats, a poor side with nothing to play for, who won't give a monkeys. The only question is, how many you'll win by.

Sorry we couldn't do yous a favour against Cork, it was a contest in the first half. However, it's difficult to do anyone a favour, when you finish a game with only 8 players on the field.

Happy days the boss just cleared me to take the 18th of November off.

So as long as we beat St Pats on Saturday, I'll see you boys in Cork....ticket or no ticket

Whatever about your trip to Cork, you have a handy one against Pats, a poor side with nothing to play for, who won't give a monkeys. The only question is, how many you'll win by.
    I only hope Derry go into the match with that attitude.
    Everyone wants to raise their game at this stage when facing Derry or City to have their say in the destination of the title.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Some Cork fans feel resigned to the fact that they will be be beat by Shels but that they will beat us. How do this work out when we have been better than the $heliban all year and beaten not lost to them in ages.

Can't wait for Pats match. Display/atmosphere promises to be one of the best!
    "The Derry fans were fantastic in both matches. They sang their hearts out all the time and created an even better atmosphere than the Cup Final. They were brilliant. - David Graham, Gretna striker

Quote Originally Posted by Speranza
    Some Cork fans feel resigned to the fact that they will be be beat by Shels but that they will beat us. How do this work out when we have been better than the $heliban all year and beaten not lost to them in ages.
    Two reasons,
    1. since you beat them they've won 5 in a row and scored 11 goals without conceding.
    2. Cork are away to Shels and home to Derry. Shels haven't lost at home since July (to Derry again), whereas Cork beat Derry in the cross a while ago.

General assumption is that Shels are the form team in the league at the moment, possibly backed up by Cork's results against Waterford and Pats and Derry losing to Waterford as well. Personally, I have a suspicion that Derry will shade it, cos I think Cork have lost a little bit of confidence over the last few games. The Shels game will be huge though, if Cork win it then I think they'll beat Derry, but if they lose badly then there's a chance heads might drop. At least it looks like going to the last day anyway.

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast