i dont like the phrase though "THE big league" as if it was something we should all be aspiring to . i of course acknowlege he is playing in a bigger league
Originally Posted by Copa Mundial
Maybe so but it is indirectly.I meant while the opportunity was there to do so!Dont be so narrow minded, the fact is that the Premier League IS a so called 'big league' and he merely stated that Darryl Murphy had moved from an eircom league club to a premiership club. Im merely stating that i dont believe his intention was to undermine OUR league.
Cosmo, i know what you're saying but ..... imo .... i think that RTE are out of order devoting some much air time to a league in a different country. They are a national broadcaster and they should be covering national leagues, i am not saying totally give up on the premiershi* but proportionate ... our league is suffering as a result, and i aint a bit happy with it.
And that comment that he made, i know wasn't intended to undermine the league but it did, indirectly .... it wasn't a jibe, i'll give you that but its a comment like that, made so casually that makes RTE giving preference to the English league seem more acceptable ..... and it is FÚCKING NOT.
They are not fulfilling the role of a national broadcaster and i think they should be pulled up on it every time .... every single time.
i dont like the phrase though "THE big league" as if it was something we should all be aspiring to . i of course acknowlege he is playing in a bigger league
I was watching Seria A highlights on Satanta today. Some Irish bloke was going on about how good a league Seria A is. Quick people get e-mailing !!!!
Thank god Mike Murphys Mailbag is off the air a few years now. Some of you nerds (oops sorry I mean sensitive types) would of had a field days
joeraki .... Setanta are not a national broadcaster so it would make no odds whatever the fúck they say or show on it .... Its on Bravo aswell on Tuesdays .... great show, i love it .... cant beat it, it is a great league.Originally Posted by joeraki
But back to the point that I was actually making ..... RTE are out of order, there is actually no debate on this for me, no matter what is posted here or any fúcking where will change my mind.
Mailbag ..... was that from a time when the licence fee payer had a say ??
Licence fee = Money i am paying out of my fúcking pocket for that sh!te service. Yeah .... i dont have a right to show how discontent i am, we'll all just sit back and accept mediocrity ..... thats what Dundalk fans have been doing for years and look where it got ye ... and a fúcking plastic pitch !!![]()
We need to catch ourselves on with this notion that "our national broadcaster" has some sort of biblical-given quest to act as supreme advocate for the Eircom League. Sadly they don't. Why not? Possibly because that's not what the country wants to watch...Originally Posted by hynzy
The only organisation in this country that has a compulsion to "support" domestic football is the FAI. They are the ones who are clearly failing in their stated duty. RTE, nor any other channel, do not exist to promote domestic sports or, frankly, any other minority interests. That is a simple fact. If they were to do a survey of license payers tomorrow on whether they'd rather see more English than Irish premiership coverage, I think we all know what the response would be. That's the verdict of the people who pay for them to exist.
Save your misguided venom for the FAI - the one organisation who clearly SHOULD be working for the benefit of domestic football. Barking at the moon is not going to help anyone....
But Steve .... just answer this .... viewing figures .... why did they favour the domestic game ??Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
What would the verdict be ..... seriously ..... i would love to know !!
That public charter a while back wasn't very public if you remember ... why is that i wonder ??
You might be suprised i'd say !!
And again .... there is no way i'll accept that RTE dont have any duty to promote Irish sport .... at least that is ..... they should promote a foreign league at the cost of the domestic one, there is no way i'll accept that at all.
Playing for Sunderland, is the Premiership equivalent of playing for Waterford. And of the two sides, Waterford have more fans in this country.Originally Posted by Copa Mundial
The Premiership is not the big league. It's the hyped-up league, of which RTE are one of the worst contributors. In reality, practically no-one here supports any other team in England except Liverpool, and the Mancs. For barstoolers, watching Charlton, Blackburn, Aston Villa, Wigan, and Sunderland, is the same as watching the NL. They have zero interest in both.
Tu as raison mon vieux... or as they say outside the pale... Fair play to you boss!Originally Posted by A face
I'm surprised you bothered watching a premiership match.Originally Posted by sfc red
Always look on the bright side of life
I watched the match myself and the minute he said it i thought to myself " i bet someone will take offence to that and post it on foot"
Whats the big deal in what he said ? Lads, we do not compare to the Premiership what so ever ! thats fact and we never will. They are the Big League compared to us, sad fact but true ! and as for Murphy, BRUTAL ! any eL player could have done what he did on Saturday ! but there are so many better players who could have done a much better job. Still can't understand how he is playing premiership football, he was never the best striker in the league - never mind best left winger !
A better comment would have been....
"Scored 20 goals for Waterford Utd last season...Helped them to an FAI Cup Final...and he certainly doesn't look out of place at Highbury".
No-one can seriously argue that the EL is near the standard of the Premiership to be fair, no more than they can seriously argue that the Premiership is the best league in the World.
Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.
Hello steve,RTE, nor any other channel, do not exist to promote domestic sports or, frankly, any other minority interests. That is a simple fact.
As soon as I read your quote above my bull**** detector shot off the scale.
Sorry to point out that your ‘fact’ is…well… not even nearly a fact. It’s not even a little bit true. Worse still it’s not just a little bit wrong it’s totally wrong. Actually, the exact opposite to what you said is the fact.
Here is why,
Go to the RTE website, there is information there on the Guiding Principles of RTE.
Somewhere under “The role of Ireland’s Public Service Broadcaster” and they themselves say this,
“Specifically it must:
- provide mixed, generalist schedules of programmes to serve mainstream audiences as well as programming for minority groups and interests”
There is also a section called “Basic Functions and Obligations of RTÉ” under which there is a sub-section called “Among specific programming responsibilities RTÉ must:”
Here is reads:
“- cater for the expectations of the community generally as well as members of the community with special or minority interests.”
There was a bit about Irish sport too!
Under “A statement of principles that clarifies what is expected of RTÉ as the national public service broadcaster, including RTÉ’s accountability to its audience.”
“- sports programming that reflects the demands for national, regional, minority, amateur and local sports in Ireland today.”
Of course A face had already touched on this and he was right, they do have a duty.
Then the viewing figures (which I don’t have time to look-up). Didn’t the European matches with Irish teams competing have higher viewing figures than a Man Utd and possibly a Liverpool match on the same night! I’m sure I read that somewhere! And did this not happen on more than one occasion?!
And here is the full document...
http://www.rte.ie/about/organisation...%20English.pdf
Anyway, back to the subject! The commentators comment. It started off well but crashed and burned on the “Big League” statement! It’s great that RTE and others show more EL matches and the EL is getting more matches televised this year but surly it’s not cleaver for RTE to play down the league which they actually cover themselves!
How about our commentator says something like this, “Daryl Murphy, 20 goals for Waterford, FAI Cup final…. The Eircom league is teeming with talent like this and that talent will be on show Monday at 7:45 live and exclusive on RTE One when Cork take on Shamrock rovers in a bid to overtake Derry at the top of the league as it comes to a nail bitting climax. Cork and Derry go neck and neck into the final 2 games having to play each-other and reining champions shelbourne, who are still looking to catch a place in the Uefa Cup next season where they, like cork this year represented the EL in the first round proper of the Uefa Cup and sealed 2 draws against Deportivo and Lille on the way there.” He could then round off by saying something like, “it’s a pity Darly will not get a chance with sunderland to test his skills on a bigger stage like European competition, a chance he could have had if he were to have transferred to a club like Cork, Shels and soon to be Derry.” He could probably continue (because nothing is probably happing in the sunderland game) by saying: “the time will soon arrive when players will be releasing statements to the press that read, ‘I signed for Shels/Cork/Derry for the chance to play European football, Dublin/Cork/Derry are great cities to live in and the supporters are just great. The Eircom league clubs all have good youth academies to hone young irish talent and everything about this club screams ambition and drive.’”
Will I continue??
For now I’m off to the RTE website to complain, then I’m applying for the soon to be vacant commentators job!
Should I send in my CV with the complaint email?
My point anyway is that he could have said a million different things that could have been more encouraging about the EL.
Get rid of the chip on your shoulders ladsThe commentator said nothing wrong and praised Murphy and so did Jim Beglin.Theres no point in taking offence at every perceived slight on the Eircom league.He did'nt look out of place at all there.As a Waterford United fan I was delighted to see him play at Highbury.
[QUOTE=tiktok]A better comment would have been....
"Scored 20 goals for Waterford Utd last season...Helped them to an FAI Cup Final...and he certainly doesn't look out of place at Highbury".
[QUOTE]
He did say that thou, but it would have been a complete lie to say that he did'nt look out of place, Murphy was well out of his Depth
[QUOTE=Roo69][QUOTE=tiktok]A better comment would have been....
I don't agree.I thought he did well,won a few corners and made some nice passes and it was his first full Premiership game too.
He did say that thou, but it would have been a complete lie to say that he did'nt look out of place, Murphy was well out of his Depth
I can't believe you wrote that in French when you could have used your message to promote our own domestic language.Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
UNDERMINER!
SIGNATURESCOPE
And RTE are perfectly able to claim that they do cater to the 'minority interest' Eircom League by showing occassional live games throughout the season, as well as both Cup Semis and the Final. If, as you seem to accept, Eircom League football can be considered a minority interest (which arguably it is) then that level of coverage could be considered about right. Minority interests aren't due wall-to-wall coverage.Originally Posted by dav_sfc
So nothing you've written above changes anything.
One word gets used here a lot - "promote". People are sounding off about RTE "promoting" the English premiership, and how they should be "promoting" the Eircom League instead. *** IT IS NOT RTE'S JOB TO "PROMOTE" ANY SPORT !!! *** They exist to show TV programmes - mostly to cater to a mainstream market, but also occassional ones that cater to minority interests etc etc, but they are not a Sports Promotion agency !!
As for viewing figures - we can all pick an Irish game where the viewing figures were better than an English game at the time. Usually, however, they are European games - not Eircom League - and they DO get coverage from RTE etc.
Can we all stop living in the clouds. Run-of-the-mill English games shown on Irish TV attract much bigger crowds than all but absolutely key domestic Irish games. It's absurd to pretend otherwise. What are we going to claim next - EL replica tops outsell English and Scottish ones....?
Last edited by dcfcsteve; 07/11/2005 at 10:42 AM.
Well considering the team that finished 5th last year won the champions league there is a strong case for it.Originally Posted by tiktok
RTE pay millions to get live & highlights Premiership coverage. They pay pennies for eL & have strong niche market & almost exclusive coverage. RTE always have ads for the Premiership yet i rarely see eL ads - what kind of eL figures would RTE get if advertised on their own stations?
It is disappointing that RTE commentators & pundits know nothong about the eL or the best players within it. If Murphy or Doyle play for Ireland RTE pundits will know nothing about their backgrounds - how sad is it that we have football pundits & eL pundits on TV & radio. Is the eL that much of a special case?