He's in the BBC's team of the week too.
    I can't the soccor net link to work.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/shared/...ml/ss_team.stm

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    As I said before, one goal does not an international make. COnnolly subbed yesterday and his replacement (Camara) scored. Mind you Elliott was subbed as well. WHat about Man City's, Stephen Ireland ? He had a good game yesterday.

Bleak news about Keane but the Daily Telegraph gave Kavanagh man of the match.

Quote Originally Posted by livehead1
    Gary Doherty
    doherty is simply a pile of wa*k. he cant give a long pass, he cant give a short pass,when in defence he cant deal with anything on the ground, when
    Slice of humble pie in order after his long pass to Huckerby in the Ipswich match yesterday. It was reminiscent of Hoddle about 25 years ago!

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    i still think dunne lacks that 100% error free game, with 100% concentration throughout a game
    How accurate are you? 90th min against Bolton yesterday, no real danger, up pops the Honey Monster with an abhorrence. I should have read your post before hand. Kudos on the advance prediction though.
    Last edited by Duffman; 19/09/2005 at 11:16 AM. Reason: not clear

how many second chances will connolly have gotten if he is picked again?
    too much too soon, never lived up to early promise.

well at least connolly shows for the ball, some earlier said he was cr*P away in swiss (when we lost 2-0) but aleast he showed and had shots.
    as for the 'alco money burner' robbie keane he runs away from the ball.
    alhtough he scored a great goal on saturday....

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Sigh! Now Connolly is being touted as better than our record goal scorer.

In the land of the blind, the one-eyed is king.

Post Kerr hands Connolly recall

Kerr hands Connolly recall
    27/09/2005 - 16:30:23
    http://breaking.tcm.ie/2005/09/27/story222762.html

Republic of Ireland manager Brian Kerr today ended David Connolly’s exile from international football.

Connolly, 28, has been named in a 24-man squad to face Cyprus and Switzerland in critical World Cup qualifiers next month.

Despite 40 caps to his name, Connolly has not played for Ireland since the country’s devastating 2-0 European Championship qualifying defeat to Switzerland in October 2003.

The Wigan forward was effectively one of the fall guys for Ireland’s failure to reach the subsequent finals in Portugal, earning his last call-up just under a year ago, only to withdraw through injury.

But following a recent £2m deadline-day move from Leicester, Connolly is in form as he has scored five goals in his first six matches this season to earn himself the recall.

Kerr is without the suspended Clinton Morrison for the game against Cyprus in Nicosia, while Tottenham’s Robbie Keane and Sunderland’s Stephen Elliott are both short of goals and match-time this season.

Connolly recently expressed his disappointment at failing to figure in Kerr’s World Cup plans this campaign, and the Ireland manager responded: “Players always feel hard done by if they are not in the squad.

“But he has always been in our thoughts because he is an experienced international player.

“He had a decent season last year with Leicester, and I have seen him in action for both Leicester and Wigan this season.

“I have good reports on him because he has made a bright start and he looks like his old self.”

Kerr has also handed a debut squad appearance for Reading’s Kevin Doyle, who has made a superb impact for the Royals in the Coca-Cola Championship this season following his recent £80,000 move from Cork City.

“I’ve watched Kevin at various levels, including for the Under-21s, and I’ve seen him this season for Reading,” added Kerr.

“He has maintained a high level of performance and I am obviously serious about bringing him in.

“We don’t have too many centre-forwards in the squad, and as to whether he plays, I will see how he does in the next couple of matches for Reading.”

Morrison is joined on the suspension list for the Cypriot clash by Tottenham winger Andy Reid, while more crucially there is no Roy Keane as the Manchester United midfielder misses both games after breaking a metatarsal bone in his left foot recently.

Republic of Ireland squad to face Cyprus and Switzerland in World Cup Group Four qualifying matches on October 8 and 12:

Given (Newcastle), Kenny (Sheffield United), Colgan (Barnsley), Cunningham (Birmingham), Breen (Sunderland), O’Brien (Portsmouth), Dunn (Manchester City), Carr (Newcastle), Hart (Levante), S Reid (Blackburn), O’Shea, Miller (both Manchester United), Finnan (Liverpool), A Reid (Tottenham), Holland (Charlton), Kilbane (Everton), Kavanagh, Connolly (both Wigan), Duff (Chelsea), Doherty (Norwich), Elliott (Sunderland), Doyle (Reading), Robbie Keane (Tottenham), Morrison (Crystal Palace).
    Fair play to Kerr is all I can say. No one can say he has his favourites unlike some of the previous Irish managers. Whether Doyle or Connolly can score a goal between them (not in our net) remainds to be seen. Hopefully we can get something out there in Cyprus and back home

I hope Doyle gets a game even as a sub , He has great talent at getting goals.

" He has great talent at getting goals."

well ye'd hope so wouldnt ye!!!!seeing as he is a striker and all.

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    No one can say he has his favourites unlike some of the previous Irish managers.
    I think Liam Miller and Alan Quinn would beg to differ. Also in previous squads, Barrett and Doherty's inclusion boggled the mind. The Doc is at least playing semi-regularly for Norwich now.

Quote Originally Posted by thejollyrodger
    Fair play to Kerr is all I can say. No one can say he has his favourites unlike some of the previous Irish managers. Whether Doyle or Connolly can score a goal between them (not in our net) remainds to be seen. Hopefully we can get something out there in Cyprus and back home
    This sickens me. Connolly is transferred to a Premiership club and is INSTANTLY deemed good enough to be selected in the Ireland squad. We can now add the Championship to the list of leagues that Kerr has no respect for.

Quite frankly I'm shocked that Brian "I have forgotten my roots" Kerr didn't pick Dominic Foley now that he has moved away from the ****ant, backwater eircom league that Kerr obviously hates so much. It's clear to me now why "PIMP-JUDAS" Kerr only turns up at Inchicore almost every other week to stand on the Camac side watching Pats (a team he hates - note how he did not pick Kevin Doyle for Ireland while Doyle played for St. Pats ). He is deliberately checking who plays in the eircom League so he can be sure he doesn't accidentally include one of them in an Ireland squad.

SIGNATURESCOPE

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint
    This sickens me. Connolly is transferred to a Premiership club and is INSTANTLY deemed good enough to be selected in the Ireland squad. We can now add the Championship to the list of leagues that Kerr has no respect for.

Quite frankly I'm shocked that Brian "I have forgotten my roots" Kerr didn't pick Dominic Foley now that he has moved away from the ****ant, backwater eircom league that Kerr obviously hates so much. It's clear to me now why "PIMP-JUDAS" Kerr only turns up at Inchicore almost every other week to stand on the Camac side watching Pats (a team he hates - note how he did not pick Kevin Doyle for Ireland while Doyle played for St. Pats ). He is deliberately checking who plays in the eircom League so he can be sure he doesn't accidentally include one of them in an Ireland squad.

You're creating a strawman. There have been calls for Connolly's inclusion for some time now. He was doing very well of Leicester and seems to have settled in at Wigan as well. Kerry picking him was the next logical step.

Dominic Foley is just not good enough. Glenn Crowe wasn't good enough either. Both failed on the bigger (and better) stage in England. The EL is just not good enough to expect a player to walk onto the Irish team. That's reality, move on.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint

wind up merchant extroadinaire

what a load of nonsense.

interestinig squad. one fr the future

I can uderstand Kerr calling up Connolly but i'm not a big fan of him. In fact....i'd be a happy man if "Mr.Ireland greatest ever striker" never played again for us. He has never delivered for his country but i hope he can deliver this time.

Dont know much about Doyle...i know he has done really well for Reading and i hope he keeps it up cause i would like to see him start again Cypus. But you never no with Kerr....We might be beating Cypus 5-0 and Kerr will bring on Doyle with 2mins to go.

101 Posts
    Connolly and Robbie Keane to start against Cyprus, Doyle on as a "let's give him three minutes" substitute. Robbie and Clinton to start against Switzerland, Doherty on as a "time for the long ball tactic" substitute.

Reading's Doyle handed World Cup chance by Kerr

KEVIN DOYLE had to pinch himself when he learned that he had been included in Ireland's squad for the make or break World Cup qualifiers against Cyprus and Switzerland.

The 22-year-old Reading striker first heard the news via some text messages from Ireland and then his mother rang him from their family home in Adamstown, Co Wexford, to tell him it had been on the radio.

"It definitely caught me by surprise because I was given no reason to think that I was going to be called in. I wasn't even aware that the squad was being named," said Doyle.

"I am thrilled. I think it is the first time somebody from Wexford has been called up and at a moment like this I'm thinking about Mick Wallace, Pat Dolan and all the other managers I have had and all the work they put into me - not to mention all the bollockings they gave me."

Doyle first caught the eye while playing for the Wexford team that won the FAI Inter League Youth Cup in 2000 and lost in the final the following year.

He was signed by Pat Dolan while he was at St Patrick's Athletic and then moved to Cork City in 2003 when Dolan took over on Leeside.

He joined Reading this summer in a £100,000 transfer at a time when he was top scorer in the Eircom League and Cork will earn a substantial bonus when he wins his first cap. "I don't think I would have liked to come to England when I was 16 but it has worked out for me after a lot of hard work," said Doyle.

Kerr watched him in Reading's recent win over Crystal Palace but gave no hint of what was to come.

"I was just told to keep it up but it was a good game for him to see me in because I played very well. It was one of my best performances for Reading and I got a good goal."

Doyle has scored goals at international level for the U-20s and U-21s but accepts this is going to be a lot different to what he has previously experienced.

Mick Wallace, who was on his way to Juventus' Champions League game in Turin last night when he heard the news, admitted he wasn't surprised.

"I was at the Crystal Palace game and he was super.

"I had a good feeling about him for so long that I could see him making it."

Kerr wouldn't be drawn on whether Doyle would win his first cap against Cyprus but said he had every chance.

"Kevin is in the squad and we don't have that many centre forwards. We will see how he does in the training," said the manager.

As expected, Wigan's David Connolly has been included in the squad. His last game for Ireland was against Switzerland two years ago.

Meanwhile, top coaches from all over Europe are to be given an insight into the success of Ireland's senior and underage teams today.

Senior team manager Brian Kerr, his assistant Chris Hughton and the FAI technical development director Packie Bonner will present a theoretical and practical demonstration to delegates attending the sixth annual UEFA Symposium for Coach Education Directors, which is taking place in Dublin this week.

The trio will address the 150 delegates from 52 countries at the Berkeley Court this morning before taking them to nearby Lansdowne Road for a practical demonstration involving local schoolboys.

Later today a mini-pitch, funded by UEFA's HatTrick Programme, will be officially opened in the capital.

Elsewhere, Manchester United manager Alex Ferguson has become the new head of the UEFA Coaches Circle which will play an important role in keeping top coaches in contact and providing them with the latest information via a dedicated extranet service.

Gerry McDermott
    http://www.unison.ie/irish_independe...issue_id=13055
    Doc' is a waste of time up front. Its about time Kerr gave other players a chance to have a go. It would be fantastic if one of them scored and put this doc up front to bed once and for all.

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong
    Doherty on as a "time for the long ball tactic" substitute.
    Doherty should never be in an Ireland squad again - he's inept at playing football and how he ever made it as a professional is beyond me.

Alan Quinn should be in for Liam Miller. Maybe Miller is being brough in for his bench warming skills.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979
    I think Liam Miller and Alan Quinn would beg to differ. Also in previous squads, Barrett and Doherty's inclusion boggled the mind. The Doc is at least playing semi-regularly for Norwich now.
    Agreed. Kerr does seem to have his favourites & Miller is very much one of the. I'd like to think Kerr will give Miller the advice he needs to hear - MOVE SOON!

Miller might get a few games this season, if he does then maybe he should stay. But he HAS to move at the end of the season if he doesnt get a first team place.

Page 8 of 31 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast