Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: eircom League Books

The Dyed In The Wool book by Robin Browett is good if any Hoops fans are reading this. Robin passed away in January 2003 so it is also a memorial to one of Nature's gentlemen. Robin would have been well known the length and breadth of the country as he frequently visited away grounds following his beloved Shamrock Rovers.

Does it have to be footie books lads??
    Here's a few I bought recently:

The Truth with jokes.........by Al Franken
    Mr. Galloway goes to Washington........by George Galloway
    Will they ever trust us again...........by Michael Moore
    Chain of Command...............by Seymour Hersh
    Imperial Hubris............by Michael Scheuer
    Big Lies...............by Joe Conason
    No place like home...........by Gary Younge

and a footie one

Dynamo (triumph and tragedy in Nazi-occupied Kiev).....Andy Dougan

Quote Originally Posted by Martinho II
    can you still get that book anywhere or can anyone lend me a copy please?

Post a message on the Finn Harps website and someone will get u a copy im sure

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Still trying to get Mud, Sweat and Jeers by Jim Rhatigan though.............
    Absolutely brilliant, laughed the entire way through it, all the stories are specific to Kilkenny City, but if you've ever been involved in Football at any level you will recognise the different characters from each story.

3,489 Posts
    Has anybody read Baghdad FC yet? There's also a book out now about a season with East Stirling - the worst team in Scotland - called Pointless. Supposed to be fairly good.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Has anybody read Baghdad FC yet? There's also a book out now about a season with East Stirling - the worst team in Scotland - called Pointless. Supposed to be fairly good.

I got Baghdad FC as a present last week, quite good

although they seem to have better referee's

STRABANE HARP

Do you know if Patsy's book is available new anywhere?

Cheers,

Monzo if you speak to Patsy himself at the last home game im sure he will quite happily help out

StrabaneHarps, might leave it next year - don't have much time on my hands anyway - would Patsy have some copies?

Monzo, come to me at the game on Friday and I'll see if I can get you one.
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

A face, did ye find out where ye can get from the lodge to the box - my mothers looking for it
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

25 Posts
    Have you forgot about me Chris???
    Say nothin til ya hear more!

Quote Originally Posted by Finlay Harp
    Have you forgot about me Chris???
    Aye

Mind me again on Friday night at the game
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

33 Posts

When Saturday Comes

When Saturday Comes annual subscription
    http://www.wsc.co.uk/issues/index.html
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

best football book I've read is"Football against the enemy" by Simon Kuper. Just finished it, but great story telling. F*** ing hate hoolie porn

harpskid - cheers for the offer - but not much point in me getting it - not much time on my hands with exams and stuff- First game of next season I'll get it, if that suits ye, or maybe a friendly or whatever - ill remind you. Fair play anyway. Is the book top-notch as McGowans articles in the DD?

Apologies for the lateness of reply

Quote Originally Posted by Strabane_Harp
    I got Baghdad FC as a present last week, quite good

although they seem to have better referee's
    If you thought a suicide bomber would blow up your house if you made a bad decision , wouldn't you be a better referee?

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123