Hopefully but will get back to you on that.
Congrats on yesterday. Hope ye win it now.
Can ye buy that in places like easons, etc or is just at rovers matches?Originally Posted by NY Hoop
DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS
Hopefully but will get back to you on that.
Congrats on yesterday. Hope ye win it now.
http://www.sligorovers.com/club/book...e_red_army.htm
a classic
just forget that he's writing about gah for independent newspapers now !
All books about any aspect of the EL/LOI are important records of our game and are valuable for that reason rather than their literary merit(if any).![]()
actually there are two Rovers books out recently.
We Are Rovers by Eoghan Rice. a fans account of Rovers' history up to this season.
also another Rovers book was published a few months ago, about Hoops fan Robin Browett and his life of following Rovers.
theres two Rovers books anyway
where did the stoy come from about socrates playing for ucd?i heard a version tha the played for them before ucd joined the league of ireland.some people swear this is true
Declan Hughes (if he volunteers his internet name, fair play to him)did an "expose" on it in a UCD/Pats programme a couple of years ago. I'll let one of the UCD internet people do it (not neccesarily Declan Hughes...)
Delighted to (though I'm not Dec!)... Apparently the Doc - Tony O'Neill - is one of those who says he did play for us. We obviously can't ask him any more, but we did ask someone who asked Socrates, who said it's nonsense - he's never been to Ireland.
The article Dodge refers to was in the UCD-Pat's match programme in May 03 and is as follows...
In 1982, and again in 1986, Brazil were, as ever, one of the favourites for the World Cup. In 1982, they scored 10 goals in their first phase group, which contained the USSR, Scotland and New Zealand, beat Argentina, including a young Diego Maradona (who was sent off that day), 3-1 in the second phase group before succumbing 3-2 to Italy in a memorable game where Paolo Rossi, not long back from a worldwide ban for bribery, scored a hat-trick for the eventual winners. In 1986, they again progressed through their group with ease, beating Spain, Algeria and Northern Ireland, overcoming Poland in the second round, all without conceding a goal, before losing out to France in another of the World Cup’s great games. Brazil had players of the calibre of Zico, Careca, Branco, Junior, Josimar and the legendary Socrates, not long from a spell in Ireland playing for UCD.
I’m sure there will be some of you who’ll have read that last bit again – surely not the Socrates Brasiliero Sampaio De Sousa Ferreira Oliveira? Yep, the same. Socrates, like many Brazilians, had a love for the beautiful game, but decided early on that it wouldn’t be a livelihood, and consequently decided to study medicine. The story goes that he came to UCD to study in 1976 and, while here, played for the first team, who were then a non-league side. From there, he went back to Brazil to play with Corinthians, where he won three Brazilian titles, spent a year with Fiorentina in Italy before returning home for two seasons with Flamengo and two with the famous Santos, whom he had supported as a boy.
In his international career, Socrates made his debut in 1979 and went on to be one of Brazil’s top 10 goalscorers of all time by his retirement from international football through injury in 1987 with 20 goals, including a goal in the aforementioned defeat to Italy, as well as a brace in the 4-0 win over Poland in 1986.
Alas, everything in the above story is true, except for one thing – Socrates’ much-lauded appearances for UCD never happened. He did arrive in Ireland to study in 1976, however, while with Botafogo – indeed, he spent two years in Ireland studying medicine, but he was a student in the Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland in town, not in UCD. His love of soccer led him to attend the RCSI’s trials for their Collingwood Cup team. Alas, RCSI weren’t (and still aren’t!) known for their footballing abilities and, after seeing the quality of his potential team-mates, he quickly decided to concentrate on his medicine and gave up any aspirations of a football career in Ireland. Another urban myth which has done the rounds is that he played for Shelbourne – this is is similarly not true.
Socrates did make a comeback after his retirement, but quit football for good in 1990 at the age of 36 to make use of his qualifications and enter the medical practice and, 13 years on, he is by all accounts a very successful doctor in his home country.
Last edited by A face; 02/11/2005 at 9:32 PM.
A bit off topic, but Socrates is also one of Brazil's foremost political activists. He ran a massive campaign prior to the last election to get working class Brazilians to use their vote. Probably helped get Lula elected.Originally Posted by pineapple stu
On the subject of LoI books, I think it's something supporters from all clubs should look into. The histories of most clubs have never been written down, which is a shame because information gets lost over time.
Champions.
16 leagues & 24 cups.
Is the "Who Needs Eric Cantona - We've Got Rod de Khors" book available in major retailers or can we only get it locally?
Kom Igen, FCK...
You can email the author at kevoneill1@yahoo.ie and he should be able to sort you out.Originally Posted by Réiteoir
Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887
I think it's only available in the local area, but you can always try to get in touch with the author (Kevin O'Neill). Rovers bought in a few dozen copies to sell in Dalymount because there's a chapter about Rod's time at Rovers.Originally Posted by Réiteoir
Champions.
16 leagues & 24 cups.
Strings of my Harps by Patsy McGowan
great book about how the harps got started and the nutty goings on of one of the leagues greatest characters
a must read for eircom league fans
Agree 100%. Man's a LOI legend. With thanks to FBTN for the copy. This should be marketed more.Originally Posted by Strabane_Harp
Still trying to get Mud, Sweat and Jeers by Jim Rhatigan though.............
Blatant spam deleted, spammer banned.
Didn't know about that !?!?Originally Posted by NY Hoop
... he writes for the Kilkenny people ... imo that would be a good read, fair play to the fella, he is sound out. How long ago was that do you know ??
can you still get that book anywhere or can anyone lend me a copy please?Originally Posted by Strabane_Harp
Originally Posted by pineapple stu
The Doc was the one who told me he went to Surgeons Pineapple stu. He was the one who debunked the UCD story in the first place.
Must correct that article actually - according to the man himself, he didn't even go to RCSI. He says he was never in Dublin.Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
This author is recommended
http://www.playedinbritain.co.uk/SimonInglis/simon.html
Including of the the best books on football I've ever read. It only a little out of date now but still very relevant for my football holidays.
Luckily it includes architecture, stadium design and facilities, football history, other history, travel ....
http://www.playedinbritain.co.uk/Sim...glis-fooa.html
" I'll go right up to here,
it can't possibly hurt.
All they will find is my
beer and my shirt."