Thread: Racist incident in Liverpool v Anderlecht

Racist incident in Liverpool v Anderlecht

can't believe that in this day and age ,a professional footballer would racially abuse another footballer on the pitch in the way it was done tonite
    The look of hurt on sissoko's face was heart breaking after it
    Uefa should throw the book at him ,tho knowing that shower of bottlers ,it'll be swept under the carpet

way to go tv3 ( and the agenda filled sky ) totally misreading the incident and even more so missing neilsens interview afterwards
    Delighted the referee took action against the player -

pity sky can't be saying anything nice about a referee that sent of both their wonderboys tho
    Last edited by Poor Student; 02/11/2005 at 2:14 PM.
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

Who abused Sissoko and in what way?

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    Who abused Sissoko and in what way?
    yer man that got sent off,the serbian fella for anderlecht - came on as sub , was tripped as he went past sissoko ,and when he got up called him something that sounds like " You fcukin moon"
    Nielson was standing next to him,heard it and gave him a straight red ...said after the game on ITV that he sent him off for giving racist abuse

TV3 and Sky chose to ignore this fact and instead focus on his sending off fatboy and the ponce in past england games
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

Quote Originally Posted by redgav
    TV3 and Sky chose to ignore this fact and instead focus on his sending off fatboy and the ponce in past england games
    Why does'nt this surprise me .

They should hit this guy (racist, if proven.did'nt see it myself) heavy with a ban and fine and then literally throw the book at him and I hope its heay with sharp edges .

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redgav
    yer man that got sent off,the serbian fella for anderlecht - came on as sub , was tripped as he went past sissoko ,and when he got up called him something that sounds like " You fcukin moon"
    Nielson was standing next to him,heard it and gave him a straight red ...said after the game on ITV that he sent him off for giving racist abuse

Story correct, but I watched Tosh and Lawro state they thought it was harsh at the time, but then they saw the replay and were both appaled that what it appeared was said looked racist. So TV3 did not gloss over it.

Good on Kim as well, good ref.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

This is disgracful. I didn't see the game or the incident so cant comment on what happened but this player should be given a season long ban. Racism is not acceptable in football anymore

43 Posts
    This is disgracful. I didn't see the game or the incident so cant comment on what happened but this player should be given a season long ban. Racism is not acceptable in football anymore
    Need to throw him out for a long time, he's caught on camera saying it. I only hope that Sissoko and Pool make a point of getting this guy done cos it's heartbreaking that it still happens.

I'm watching Chels game in Seville now and I'm not sure what to make of some of the noises coming from the stands either.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Quote Originally Posted by kickR
    Racism was never acceptable in football Sligoman.
    Course it was. It was often acceptable in football years ago just like it was acceptable in life too, unfortunately

think you're way off the mark there.

Quote Originally Posted by lim abroad
    think you're way off the mark there.
    Acceptable might be the wrong word for sligoman to use.
    But he's certainly correct if his point is that it was tolerated.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Well done to the referee, no hesitation the red card was straight out. The look of surprise on the Anderlecht player was amazing, almost implying that he had no right to get sent off for making this remark.

To be fair to TV3, once it started to become clear that it was for a racist remark then they ame down heavily on the offender.

I think the two boys on ITV were too thick to realise why he was sent off or else they didn't feel like handling the hot racism potato. Memories of Big Ron came flooding back.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Yeah, you just have to look at the success of sitcoms like "Love Thy Neighbour", and the people who looked at Alf Garnet as a hero in Till Death Do Us Part.

wasnt the point of "till death do us part" to show up people like alf garnett for the idiots they are .

long ban. Racism is not acceptable in football anymore
    And when the hell was it acceptable?
    j'accuse!

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    857 Posts
    Phil Thompson on the sky soccer special did say he could only assume it must have been for a racist remark when it first happened. i didnt watch that chanel much longer though so i dont know how much more he was 'allowed' to say on it.

i went to club bruges v racing genk in the belgian league about a year ago and some of the tripe coming from the stands from both sets of supporters towards black players genuinely shocked me.and within view and earshot of stewards.

all towards the players on the opposing side,not to their own sides black players. so it is tolerated over there to some extent. not good.

I think we've been here before with Serbs so its not surprising in that sense. No footballer should be subjected to that abuse in this day and age and fair play to Nielsen for acting so decisively. Also makes you think what any black teamates of his think of it all. None too pleased I'd imagine.
    Mens sana in corpore sano

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    wasnt the point of "till death do us part" to show up people like alf garnett for the idiots they are .
    Yes, but (far to) many couldn't see it.

Hate to cause a row or anything here but isn't there a slight bit of hypocrisy at the crux of what is a freedom of speech issue? Don't get me wrong I am by no means a racist and most of the policies of the far right disgust me but why is it that it is presumed banter to call somone from Dublin a junkie or someone from Limerick Stab City scum etc. but when you insult a black player it is going beyond the pale. Surely someon born in Dublin or Limerick can help it no more than someone else can help the colour of their skin

Could it not be that the whole hub bub about racism in recent times merely involves a lot of the guilty conciences of the weak willed liberal left?

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Yeah, I suppose that's a better way of putting it. It was used in football and nobody really bothered about it so it was tolerated/accepted