Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Time for the GAA and schools to admit they are ashamed of their past.

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster
    Then the Meath county board chairman should step aside, the little, soccer-hating muppet and move back to the time of the goths or barbarians. The club that went into a tizzy over a soccer game, I would have wrapped the TV around their necks. Surely, bigots would not accidentally park their car in the middle of a football pitch and litter it with broken glass. That is NOT being the fabric of the community, the pride of the parish; that is intimidation and thuggery.
    Oh, Gerrit won't like that!!!

You're right though, that Ginnity is a piece of work, as the Yanks put it.
    Last edited by hamish; 13/12/2005 at 8:42 PM.

There's some stupid arguments being put forward here. Hear say stuff and friends of friends stuff. Incorrect figures for money and attendances. There are many backward thinking people in the GAA, fair enough, but there are also some very backward people involved in soccer.

And before I go any further, can I just say I have represented my county in both soccer and Gaelic football, so I have no direct interest either way. I will be at the World CUp in Germany next year, but will also be at both Leinster finals in GAA.

The GAA have now said they will allow the FAI and IRFU use of their main ground when redevelopment takes place. Did they offer Lansdowne when Croke Park was being redeveloped?

I played U.21 football for my county, and on that panel, we had four players also playing for LOI clubs (2 Waterford, 1 Bohs, 1 St Pats). One of the guys was told if his name was spotted in the paper playing GAA his contract would be terminated. He left them at the end of the season.

If Dublin cant fill Parnell park for league games, why did they play some of their league games in Croke Park to over 50,000 people?

Liam Griffin, is one of the most outspoken GAA persons in Ireland, has said that he much prefers to see kids with hurls, but if they dont hurl he wants them playing sport and aas long as they get out, he doesnt mind. He also criticised Tyrone for them not wanting to open up Croke Park. He said how can they justify not wanting to open up Croke Park for other games if they dont even promote Gaelic games in their own county (hurling).

And a lot of the arguments here say that its in small rural areas where the 'ban' is worst. I come from a very small rural area. And between the first teams in hurling, gaelic football, and soccer I can only think there's about 5/6 players that dont play all 3. And the president of the soccer club is the seceratary of the GAA and previous U.21 selector, the manager of the football team is chairman of the soccer, the manager of the hurling is centre midfield for the soccer. But we're a small rural backward parish of farmers.

Its a different situation everywhere, but dont generalise everyone and areas as being the same.

57 Posts
    I'm not surprised by the examples you mention. Indeed I was heartened to see ordinary GAA folk in places like Laois and Roscommon come out firmly in favour of abolishing Rule42.

Lansdowne Road is available for any sporting organisation that wants to use it. It is owned by the IRFU anyway not the F.A.I. but they let it out to anyone. Likewise with any of the football pitches in this country. Indeed worldwide the GAA are the only organisation I'm aware of that limits what sports can be played at its venues. Linfield even made their facilities available to the GAA!!!

I've no doubt there are bigots involved in football in this country and indeed in rugby, table tennis and tiddlywinks. However no other sporting organisation
    has rules like the GAA. The F.A.I. is concerned with football. the IRFU with rugby. The GAA has positions on "the struggle for national liberation", court cases in Mayo, naming cups/clubs after convicted terrorists etc etc.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain
    Indeed worldwide the GAA are the only organisation I'm aware of that limits what sports can be played at its venues.
    The GAA would barely exist world wide if it wasn't for the use of football, rugby, criket grounds. That's whats always really píssed me off about the ban, it only worked one way.

Quote Originally Posted by G-Man
    I played U.21 football for my county, and on that panel, we had four players also playing for LOI clubs (2 Waterford, 1 Bohs, 1 St Pats). One of the guys was told if his name was spotted in the paper playing GAA his contract would be terminated. He left them at the end of the season.
    If he's beind paid as a professional sportsman I'd like to think he'd only play one sport, (particularly at a competetive level). If a pats player missed one single game because of an injury sustained at a GAA match I'd go ballistic. Do not see anything wrong with this policy.

Would also have no problem with the GAA strictly enforcing their no foreign games on it, if it was some romantic ideal but when they allow (and actively court) American Football, its obvious why the ban is there and thats to combat the competition.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    The GAA would barely exist world wide if it wasn't for the use of football, rugby, criket grounds. That's whats always really píssed me off about the ban, it only worked one way.
    Wembley and Melbourne Cricket Club are two classic examples.

Indeed I was heartened to see ordinary GAA folk in places like Laois and Roscommon come out firmly in favour of abolishing Rule42.
    there is nothing ordinary about people from roscommon!!

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    there is nothing ordinary about people from roscommon!!
    Well said POS

not like that either ye fecker hamish.

ordinary i said, not normal.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea
    not like that either ye fecker hamish.

ordinary i said, not normal.

eh...I was agreeing with yeh POS

Happy Christmas amigo

The past reared its ugly head from what I heard today. I heard a story today that a Mayo GAA football team allegedly dropped a footballer because he was playing in a 5 a side soccer tournament. If it is true, then the player in question should give the GAA and his manager the two fingers and never play for them again. Bullies never win.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by Western People
    Underage clash in Mayo

The governing body for underage soccer in Mayo, the Mayo Schoolboys & Youths F.A., have reacted to a decision by the Mayo Bord na nOg to play under-16 championship matches on Monday nights by postponing most of last nights scheduled league games.
    Mr. Jeremy Dee, the chairman of the Mayo S.F.A., said the reason they postponed last nights games was to protect the players involved who would have had to make a choice between the two sports.
    “Soccer in Mayo at Under-16 level has been played on Monday nights for many years now. When players sign for their clubs at the start of a season they are made aware of what night their games will be played and they can plan accordingly.
    “We do not believe that teenagers, particularly ones so young, should have to make a choice between sports when there is no good reason to do so.
    “We have always stuck to playing Under-16s on Mondays, Under-14s on Wednesdays and Under-12s on Fridays.
    “Our fixtures for any given season are produced in booklet form in March every year and are readily available to all from any committee member.
    “We decided to accommodate the U-16 G.A.A. fixtures last night but we will revert to our advertised fixture programme from that date onwards.”
    Mr. Dee said that it was the opinion of the Mayo S.F.A. that, for whatever reason, the Under-16 G.A.A. games could not be played on their normal Thursday nights then they they could have been played on Tuesday night (tonight).
    He said that from an administration point of view it was important for players, parents and supporters to maintain regular nights for different sports.
    “We hope that by accommodating the fixtures last night we have helped the players through a difficult period. Next Monday night (July 14th.) is the second round of our domestic cup and we look forward to all the players returning to normal schedules,” he said.
    Last night the chairman of the Mayo Bord na nOg, Mr. Paddy McNicholas, said it was unfortunate that the clash had occurred but that it had been unavoidable due to the involvement of club players on the Mayo team in the Ted Webb Cup tournament.
    “We were asked by the Mayo Under-16 selectors to switch the games to prevent players having to play in two successive nights.
    “It’s unfortunate that this clash has happened and we would hope that it could be resolved. We don’t want our players having to make choices either and we have always avoided clashes in the past.
    “We’re going to have to look at it because we would be anxious to avoid it happening in the future,” he said.
    However, with the Ted Webb Cup continuing over the next few weeks it is likely that a similar clash of codes will occur next Monday night.
    This article was taken from the Western People on July 9th 2003. What's your thoughts?
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

I have just read this thread and would like to make a point about the Schools not letting soccer to be played. The primary school i went to in co.clare had a very hard ***** of a head master, he himself played hurling for clare. If you were found playing soccer it was straight into his office for some "HOT CHOCOLATE" which was a few good hard slaps of a hurley across the arse.
    He would even have his little "spies" out in the yard to tell him who was playing soccer. I was soccer mad so i suffered alot of hot chocolate.

Secondary School was great tough,it didn't matter what you played so what i'm trying to say is that it isn't all GAA people that are against soccer just the few *****s......I WILL SOME DAY MEET THE HEAD MASTER AND HELL BE A SORRY OLD MAN
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

I WILL SOME DAY MEET THE HEAD MASTER AND HELL BE A SORRY OLD MAN
    LOL. on your main point though, there are probably the same amount into "soccer" that hate the gaa. fair enough they wouldnt go as far as belting the sh1te out of some ( mainly to do with not holding power in those areas and we have moved into the 21st century ) young fella but they would just be as ignorant about gaelic football.

being involved with a soccer clubs i have seen where we have lost several young players down through the years where they were forced to "pick one of soccer or GAA" by our local gaa club.The soccer club have never forced the issue and i think as a result have lost many players to GAA that dont always come back.
    I read an article on Dublin GAA a year or so ago where they were trying to help the growth of the game and in it they estimated to be losing 10-20% of players per year to soccer/rugby.If you look at the GAA club calender - a team plays 15 league games and IF successful maybe 5 champ games yet this takes up to 14 months where in the last 9 month season we played over 40 games.I think the GAA are stretching out the season because they know that if they give players the chance to play soccer that some dont come back.
    As for Croker being by the members for the members how come the GAA are now selling more and more tickets through ticketmaster that through the dublin clubs - extra money maybe?
    Instead of being issued solely thru the clubs allowing all sorts get the tickets.

The problem with dublin GAA is all the top players are "foreigners" from different counties.It is estimated that as many as 3 times play soccer than GAA in Dublin now so i dont think that soccer is in decline by any stretch.
    EL might not be the most popular thing since....... but local clubs are as strong as ever.Facilities are getting better at local soccer clubs many are installing floodlights etc The difference with GAA is that there is only one club in a parish , where particularly in Dublin you could have 7 or 8 soccer to each GAA club

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post
    I have just read this thread and would like to make a point about the Schools not letting soccer to be played. The primary school i went to in co.clare had a very hard ***** of a head master, he himself played hurling for clare.
    I went to a rugby secondary (not in D4 despite my club allegiance) and they were rather crushing towards any attempts to get soccer going in the school and rugby training was obligatory for anyone in first year. Saying it conflicted with soccer training was not acceptable. It's not just the GAA who can play this sort of game.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123