Thread: FAI arrange to switch Cup final to Lansdowne Road

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong
    Get the Luas to Connolly and then the Dart to Lansdowne.
    Cheers. I can get all this for free cause I have a Companion pass. All I have to pay for is, Match tickets a program and grub.
    City Til I Die

Champions 2005

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rebal Boy
    Cheers. I can get all this for free cause I have a Companion pass. All I have to pay for is, Match tickets a program and grub.
    No pints? Have a good day, I will be there as a Cork fan for the day.

Didn't know craptown was now in county cork

Sure it'd be handy enough for you to get the special drogs train from drogheda
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

I'll have one or two alright. I'm only 17 lads. I know alot of people my age drink, but you don't have to have beer to have fun.
    City Til I Die

Champions 2005

Quote Originally Posted by Rebal Boy
    I'll have one or two alright. I'm only 17 lads. I know alot of people my age drink, but you don't have to have beer to have fun.
    Of course you do - you know that peer pressure all the teachers and councillors at school tell you is bad - well the truth is they're talking sh!te - alcohol is good and your mates are only looking out for ye - the more ye have, the happier you'll be - seriously try it

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Didn't know craptown was now in county cork

Sure it'd be handy enough for you to get the special drogs train from drogheda
    No special Drogs train needed thank you, I don't live too far from Lansdowne. Should be a good game, looking forward to seeing a good turnout. I assume you will be able to pay in at the gate? As long as I don't end up in the middle of a load of Drogs fans in my Dundalk jersey I'm sure I will have a good day no matter who wins.

As long as I don't end up in the middle of a load of Drogs fans in my Dundalk jersey
    In fairness, i hope you're not that thick

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    In fairness, i hope you're not that thick
    Lol, god no! - I value my personal safety

doubt ill get to go but will deffo be watchin...

no doubt a silent tear or two will be shed as ye b@stards take our baby from us...
    arent we all just magic little monkeys...

how many will turn up ?

70 Posts

Question

im guessing around 16,000
    8 or 9,000 from cork
    4,000 from drogs
    Couple of thousand nuetrals...

16,000 would be excellent.

With a reasonable ticket pricing structure and a bit of marketing maybe an extra few thousand on top of that.

And by marketing I dont mean the two managers with the cup in some golf course 2 days before the final.

An intensive campaign for the weeks after the league season is what should be done.

Gonna be well more than 4000 drogs at this match.We had 4000 people at the semi.There is a serious buzz around this game.Its 29 years for feck sake! everyone and there granny is going down to dub for this.

With good weather on the weekend, I reckon the Final could get up to 20,000.

A lot of this depends on how many of the famous Rebel Army show-up on the day. I reckon there could be 10-12,000 from Cork at best, 6,000ish from Drogs, and then up to 2,000 'neutrals'.

As there's no pressure at all on ticket availability, a lot will genuinely depend on the weather though. If it's crap that weekend and forceast to be bad for the game, a good few hundred, or possibly thousands, will be trimmed off the figure. Never underestimate the power of people making last minute decisions to go (e.g. someone in the pub the night before deciding to go along for the craic). If the weather's good (fingers crossed) the aul last minute decision becomes easier to make...