Quote Originally Posted by wws

if so - fuhgeddabout it

!
    why forget about it? Hiddink does not have a formal contract with the socceroos AFAIK

Doesnt matter , if the Aussies win the play off in a couple of weeks Hiddink will take them to the World Cup

If they fail , then we might be able to take him but personally I dont see the point of having someone in charge who lives and works in the Netherlands

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wallis
    Doesnt matter , if the Aussies win the play off in a couple of weeks Hiddink will take them to the World Cup

If they fail , then we might be able to take him but personally I dont see the point of having someone in charge who lives and works in the Netherlands
    agree, the Irish job is not part time as some here would have you believe. we need someone who can put a lot of time and effort into finding fresh talent for the squad among many other things

kerr should have been kept on. we will now end up with a second rate failed eng premier lge / championship manager. all the big names are slowly but surely being ruled out. the knee-jerk reaction of getting rid of kerr will eventually be shown to be a big mistake

I was fully behind Kerr up til the last 2 matches but was 50/50 about letting him go as long as someone that the FAI felt were better was brought in. The main reason for this is I couldn't stand any more of the anti-Kerr crap in the media and was fed up with them putting a negative spin on everything. With every day that goes past I just feel more strongly that the FAI have completely fecked it up and Kerr should have been given another chance.

Eoin Hand........oh God Noooooooo!!!!!!

57 Posts

I'd be very surprised if they beat Uruguay but you never know.

What I like about Hiddink is that he has a proven track record of success with PSV and Korea among others. If we could get the refs he had with Korea too we'd win Euro2008.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    I was fully behind Kerr up til the last 2 matches but was 50/50 about letting him go as long as someone that the FAI felt were better was brought in. The main reason for this is I couldn't stand any more of the anti-Kerr crap in the media and was fed up with them putting a negative spin on everything. With every day that goes past I just feel more strongly that the FAI have completely fecked it up and Kerr should have been given another chance.
    Spot on - im getting worried were going to see some useless w@nker in charge (but still a big name )
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Firstly there is no rush to appoint a manager and secondly whats the problem with the netherlands, we had a manager who lived and worked in the UK before and I heard no complaints about that. Do you seriously think we are going to get a high calibre manager who wants to move here?
    Last edited by Cowboy; 26/10/2005 at 6:34 PM.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    He (MON) is still 14-1 at Paddy Power!!
    I am surprised there is no "any other" option, they will make a fortune if
    someone not listed gets the job.
    I bet Brady wnds up getting it.

246 Posts
    Delighted MO'N isn't interested. He's far too good, with too much integrity for the FAI. They won't even get Troussier now, he's been appointed manager of Morrocco. Bet we end up with Aldridge, and I hope it's a disaster. My ideal choice would be Keane though, to see him fook it up and watch Dunphy try to explain that. Hate the FAI and I don't think I could ever support THEIR team again. (Maybe if Delaney was gone and they start to show some interest in our league)They deserve all they get.

By the way, hilarious stuff from Tony Cascarino in the Hot Press This week. After getting stuck into Kerr he then gives his views on the new manager. According to Cas the new man should be "somebody who has first hand knowledge of Irish football from the Eircom league up" - Um you mean, someone like, say, Brian Kerr, Tony ?. He then states his preferred candidate to be Martin O'Neill, who, despite his undoubted qualities, certainly doesn't have first hand knowledge of the game here. Tony then comes up with this little gem "I think there's talent at clubs like Cork City and Shelbourne that could be developed by the right manager" Really Tony, how the hell do you know that ? Anyone seen him at Turners Cross or Tolka lately? Mind you, I am impressed that he can name two clubs from the league here
    Last edited by TonyD; 26/10/2005 at 8:53 PM.

Pats fans won't be favoured on this forum if they want their own country to fail. tut tut.

246 Posts
    Don't really care. Pats are my team. Never thought I'd say it but Ireland can fook off.

230 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by TonyD
    Don't really care. Pats are my team. Never thought I'd say it but Ireland can fook off.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

I don't understand that at all tbh, I'd have very little interest in football if I didn't care about Ireland.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    The difference between a new contract or none was thin. Probably 2 points but on the last night, 2 points looked very far away. I believe 2 points would have taken most of the ground away from Delaney and the fickle media. What hit me most was to see Delaney publicly denigrating Kerr on TV when spouting out his criteria and the qualities that the next manager should have. Absolutely no grace to appreciate the dedication to the job that Kerr brought.

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dublin12
    pardon
    sorry man, I meant the journalist who asked MON the awkward question. Nothin you said!!!

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD
    By the way, hilarious stuff from Tony Cascarino in the Hot Press This week. After getting stuck into Kerr he then gives his views on the new manager. According to Cas the new man should be "somebody who has first hand knowledge of Irish football from the Eircom league up" - Um you mean, someone like, say, Brian Kerr, Tony ?. He then states his preferred candidate to be Martin O'Neill, who, despite his undoubted qualities, certainly doesn't have first hand knowledge of the game here. Tony then comes up with this little gem "I think there's talent at clubs like Cork City and Shelbourne that could be developed by the right manager" Really Tony, how the hell do you know that ? Anyone seen him at Turners Cross or Tolka lately? Mind you, I am impressed that he can name two clubs from the league here
    He's clearly been spending too much time with Dolan in the Setanta studios - the poor lad is brainwashed. He was calling it the "Air-Con League" a few weeks ago and now he's singing its praises. Also note the criticism of Brian Kerr and touting Martin O'Neill for the job. Dolan was convinced the FAI had already approached MO'N and it was a done deal before Kerr got the bullet. Let's hope he put a large wager on it!
    SIGNATURESCOPE

130 Posts
    In fairness lads, hold off the criticism off JD and the FAI until we find out who is appointed. They may just surprise us all yet.

I have a feeling yesterdays comments by MON may be a bit of a smokescreen, wouldnt be surprised if he ends up in the job in a few months. He has stated his desire in the past at managing Ireland.

From what Ive heard the FAI have received a huge amount of applications for the job......might throw one in meself.

Lets face it , the chances of us having a manager before christmas are about zero.

They can take their time , we dont have a game before March and nothing competitive till september.

My guess - the FAI will wait until the summer , see whose about , who has been sacked or quit and then make the appointment. That way there will be a lot of managers on the market because in all honesty the only ones being touted now are either

1 . out of a job (so not considered good enough for any other position)
    2. ex-players with little or no experience
    3. 'names' being touted up who frankly have no chance

Its going to be a lonnnng season.

Lets face it , the chances of us having a manager before christmas are about zero.

They can take their time , we dont have a game before March and nothing competitive till september.

My guess - the FAI will wait until the summer , see whose about , who has been sacked or quit and then make the appointment. That way there will be a lot of managers on the market because in all honesty the only ones being touted now are either

1 . out of a job (so not considered good enough for any other position)
    2. ex-players with little or no experience
    3. 'names' being touted up who frankly have no chance

Its going to be a lonnnng season.
    Wallis, Disagree and have only just posted reasons why on another thread
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast