Thread: RDS tipped to stage Cup decider

Post RDS tipped to stage Cup decider

RDS tipped to stage Cup decider

The RDS venue in Ballsbridge is regarded as the favourite to stage this season’s FAI Carlsberg Cup final between Drogheda United and Double-chasing Cork City, it emerged on Monday night.

The FAI had provisionally pencilled in the game for Tolka Park last week, but fears are growing that the Drumcondra stadium’s 9,000-capacity would not be sufficient to cater for the interest in the game.

Read more at www.eleven-a-side.com

70 Posts

No

It should be Lansdowne or Tolka
    The RDS is a terrible ground to watch a match
    especially if there is a big crowd

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1
    Damn right it's terrible! It was never designed for big football crowds.
    The FAI are determined to spoil our big day.

You see ... this is the problem !!

With Lansdowne Road not regarded as viable to some members within the Association after a disappointing crowd at last year’s decider between Longford Town and Waterford United, the RDS has emerged as the most realistic alternative to Tolka Park.

We have to put up with these fúckers and their cráp attitude !!

There is no way the clubs can go over their heads anyway i suppose !!

In the IT today they speculated that the FAI just assumed Lansdowne would be unavailable & booked Tolka but allowed that they could also change at later stage...

...Lansdowne Road not regarded as viable to some members within the Association...
    It's up to the FAI to make it viable.

• Back it!
    • Promote it!
    • Sell it!

This is your Blue Ribband competition, you've failed at almost everything this year, why not break with tradition and make this your one success!?

Get Lansdowne, reduce the ticket prices to make them affordable for families and school kids, then get them out early to the clubs involved.

Show that you actually care about Irish football.

By 'viable' I presume they mean that they could make more money elsewhere. For an event like the cup final which is televised and given a lot of media coverage profit on the gate should be considered secondary.

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1
    It should be Lansdowne or Tolka
    My memories of the RDS are mostly good.I remember when Rovers played there it was always an away trip I'd look forward to. City always seemed to do well there (maybe that's my memory playing tricks with me), the exception being the last match of Rovers last league winning season. I think it was 2-0 to Rovers, they'd wrapped up the league the week before or maybe two weeks before.The same day was an enjoyable day despite the constant slagging from the Rovers crowd before the match in The Horseshow(?) Bar, and at half time around the ground selling "No More Plastic Pitches" getting loads of abuse but selling a load at the same time. I remember it being not a bad spot to watch a match, although the away support was in the seated section on the top tier, the terrace on the lower tier, where the Rovers crowd based themselves, I presume wasn't the best for watching football.Of course Citys finest moment was also at the RDS so maybe that's helping my rose tinted memories of the place. So bottom line I'd have no problem playing in the RDS, the only time we played in Lansdowne Road the atmosphere was like what you'd experience in Queenstown for a match against CHF on a Monday afternoon, and I still have nightmares about Lucifer Tilson.
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    It's up to the FAI to make it viable.

• Back it!
    • Promote it!
    • Sell it!

This is your Blue Ribband competition, you've failed at almost everything this year, why not break with tradition and make this your one success!?

Get Lansdowne, reduce the ticket prices to make them affordable for families and school kids, then get them out early to the clubs involved.

Show that you actually care about Irish football.
    Totally agree - i hope theres reasonably priced family tickets anyway!!
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo
    Totally agree - i hope theres reasonably priced family tickets anyway!!
    yeah, but which end would you have to go to with your family ticket

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Good Son
    My memories of the RDS are mostly good. City always seemed to do well there (maybe that's my memory playing tricks with me), the exception being the last match of Rovers last league winning season. I think it was 2-0 to Rovers, they'd wrapped up the league the week before or maybe two weeks before Of course Citys finest moment was also at the RDS so bottom line I'd have no problem playing in the RDS.
    Going back down memory lane at the RDS, against Cork, what will we find? I think you'll find there was more than one exception to your record against us there.

How about in January 1991, when an apparantly invincible Cork side came up to our gaff, on a mammoth unbeaten streak, and were walloped
    4-0! Barry O' Connor helped himself to two great goals, assisted by a penalty miss by Dave Barry.

Or how about in September 1994, when the '93, and '94 champs met at the RDS, only for the Southerners to go home on the end of a 3-0 kicking!!!

Or how about the second last league game at the venue in '96, when Cork came up, and went down 2-0.

Our win in '94 that you refer to, was just 4 days after we won the league that season, winning the title in the end by 7 points. We won at the RDS against Cork, more times than we lost.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    Going back down memory lane at the RDS, against Cork, what will we find? I think you'll find there was more than one exception to your record against us there.

How about in January 1991, when an apparantly invincible Cork side came up to our gaff, on a mammoth unbeaten streak, and were walloped
    4-0! Barry O' Connor helped himself to two great goals, assisted by a penalty miss by Dave Barry.

Or how about in September 1994, when the '93, and '94 champs met at the RDS, only for the Southerners to go home on the end of a 3-0 kicking!!!

Or how about the second last league game at the venue in '96, when Cork came up, and went down 2-0.

Our win in '94 that you refer to, was just 4 days after we won the league that season, winning the title in the end by 7 points. We won at the RDS against Cork, more times than we lost.
    Did you have to ruin my happy memories mypost?
    I should have also said that there was always a good quantity of alcohol consumed in them days, hence never rembering the times we lost, when consumption increased in accordance.
    They say what about the meek?
    I say they’ve got a bloody cheek

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Good Son
    Did you have to ruin my happy memories mypost?
    Sorry

I should have also said that there was always a good quantity of alcohol consumed in them days, hence never rembering the times we lost

Never remembering the times you lost, never changed the result either!
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

I remember a classic cup tie between Harps and Rovers there. Haven't a clue of the date, late 80s maybe?

4-3 to Rovers after we had taken the lead twice. Rovers had a great side at the time and we were struggling in Division One but big Con McLaughlin was on fire for us up front and Declan McIntyre was outstanding in nets - even if he did conceed 4! Think Vinny Arkins scored a hat-trick that day.

Maybe some Rovers fan remembers more clearly.

Oh aye, Yorkie sponsored the game and all the kids got free Yorkie bars

Did Ireland play the US in the RDS in the early 1990s? I have a vague memory in the back of my head. I think Staunton scored a free-kick and we won 4-1 (but I could be completely wrong).

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by crc
    Did Ireland play the US in the RDS in the early 1990s? I have a vague memory in the back of my head. I think Staunton scored a free-kick and we won 4-1 (but I could be completely wrong).
    That was at Lansdowne, I think they played Wales at the RDS circa 1992, and lost 0-1.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

Wasn't that game against Wales a 7-a-side or something, also remember playing Wales in Tolka in the early 90's???
    Sitting pretty!!!

Quote Originally Posted by mypost
    We won at the RDS against Cork, more times than we lost.
    No fear of you beating us there again anytime soon, since you were booted out of the place and you're not in the FAI Cup Final.

Just being realistic lads, but how many would you get in Landsdowne for this match? Obviously Longford and Waterford aren't exactly the biggest supports, and Cork and Drogs would bring a lot more, but still....

I reckon 10,000-12,000 City max and maybe 5,000-7,000 Drogs and that's being very optimistic on both counts. The game won't get that many neutrals unless the FAI really pushes it. I remember 98 well, and there wasn't exactly a problem getting tickets for Dalyer then.

S, being realistic I reckon the RDS seems a better option than a more than half empty Landsdowne
    Mick D. for Ireland!

If it in the RDS I'd predict that city will get around 7,500 tickets and Drogheda will get about 4,500 with the remainder spread around sponsors and the other clubs.

The FAI seem to be factoring in average home attendances into their thinking of this and City's is apparently about double Drogs.

I honestly think that's ample. It should ensure a ticket for everyone who's been to the cross for a City match (or who's been to Drogs) this season (that's if it's organised properly).

I think some people are overstating the interest to be honest.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.