Thread: Best away town in Ireland

As I'm exiled in Dublin have to say I love going back to Cork

1. Derry
    2. Galway
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by sligoman
    A lot has changed since then(retail park, shopping centre, etc.) but anyway, what has Balleybofey got that's better than us?.
    Humans

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Humans
    Obviously you have no real reason so I'm finished with the subject. I like to talk to people who have actually got a brain. Muppet!

A lot has changed since then(retail park, shopping centre, etc.) but anyway, what has Balleybofey got that's better than us?. Fair enough, they might welcome ye, but you can hardly say it's a better place because of that now
    Retail Park?? You must be kidding! Why would football fans want to go to a retail park? We're not talking about where we'd like to live, or where has the best schools and hospitals - it's where is the best place to visit for a football match. Ballybofey because it's small enough that all the fans stay together and are noticeable, whereas stick a couple of hundred away fans in Dublin and you wouldn't notice the difference - the small size helps the atmosphere.
    Personally, I like Cork - good atmosphere for Waterford games, and a lot closer than Dublin. Kilkenny's always good for the local rivalry but I wouldn't bother hanging around afterwards.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Quote Originally Posted by bigmac
    Retail Park?? You must be kidding! Why would football fans want to go to a retail park? We're not talking about where we'd like to live, or where has the best schools and hospitals - it's where is the best place to visit for a football match.
    I know that but he said that it's better than Sligo and all I asked was how but he cant give a proper answer

I think because it's smaller. In a small place you can almost create the impression that you're taking over the place - hordes of invading fans - huge travelling support etc. It's nice to be noticed maybe.
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Obviously you have no real reason so I'm finished with the subject. I like to talk to people who have actually got a brain. Muppet!
    Go to the Galway United sub forum and a thread entitled New Signing and see who would be out of their depth in a puddle. Kid you've obviously been working with glue too much.

Derry or Harps by bar. Monaghan would be high up there as well for their bar
    Theres a prize for bringing the most fans you know

Cork and Derry for me

Ballybofey, no contest!
    I do like the overnighters in cork as well though, had some really funny nights out whilst there on the pi**!!
    Never stayed overnight in Derry & to be honest have no real desire to do so either so that'll be an unsampled delight for the near future anyway! The only other overnighters i reckon i'd bother with would be Galway or Sligo & havent done either of those in a loooong time!!

Koh
    Thomas Davis have said they will be the last man standing, they were WRONG!!

SRFC will NEVER die!!

Quote Originally Posted by bigmac
    Kilkenny's always good for the local rivalry but I wouldn't bother hanging around afterwards.
    Cause Waterford is so nice

i doubt the shams fans would be interested in doing a little shopping in jane norman or oasis after the match

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo
    i doubt the shams fans would be interested in doing a little shopping in jane norman or oasis after the match
    Why not?

81 Posts
    Why not?
    Because we have the Dundrum Centre, my culchie peasant friends.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop
    Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers

enjoyed Longford a few seasons ago. Went into 3 or 4 pubs and they were all good craic.

Ballybofey and Derry this season were both good. Derry fans very friendly (Maybe cos they'd just beaten us 3-1 )

Made the mistake of sitting next to the town drunk in Ballybofey but a nice spot all the same. Very short trip from the pitch to the local pubs.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

Quote Originally Posted by finlma
    Cause Waterford is so nice
    Meant cos it's so close.

Quote Originally Posted by paudie
    the town drunk in Ballybofey.
    Which one
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

1,557 Posts
    I'm surprised no one has mentioned Cobh- we've had a few great weekends down there, although the journey home with a hangover is pretty ropey.

Waterford was good craic as well, as was Kilkenny.

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps
    I'm surprised no one has mentioned Cobh- we've had a few great weekends down there, although the journey home with a hangover is pretty ropey.

Waterford was good craic as well, as was Kilkenny.
    http://foot.ie/showpost.php?p=376087&postcount=38
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast