Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Ireland and Ireland

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Nice to see a bit of creativity in midfield, and don't we need that, from an
    entertainment point of view apart from anything else.
    One think which is positive about the departure of Kerr is that we had became
    rather dull and predictable (didn't the French manager say we were predictable?), I found the games far more enjoyable under McCarthy, you never really knew what was going to happen, with Kerr it became rather tedious.
    If you are going to go out of a tournement why not do it in style?
    I think there was a lot of pressure on Kerr and he was too afraid of losing to
    go out and win a game, Mick seemed to have a different attitude, let them
    worry about us rather than us worrying about them.

I had an eye on the City match in the pub and was impressed with Ireland. 2 excellent sliding tackles and 2 superb Zidane style passes stuck out.

What a complement this is but I'll try not to get carried away :

It says something when City provide the model of stability and consistency in Manchester football and judging by Stephen Ireland's gorgeous back-heel into Cole's path, the best young footballers may play at Eastlands rather than Old Trafford.
    http://www.sport.telegraph.co.uk/spo...1/sfgmac01.xml

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    i was keeping an eye on him as well and without wishing to over-hype him and wind up dissappointed, its hard not to be excited by him overall, still learning though,he was a bit casual with a pass to Croft on halfway which gave villa a 3 on 4 breakaway and put pressure on his side but thats nothing a bit of experience wont fix hopefully.

Between Ireland,Whelan,Garvin and O'Brien the central midfield cupboard isnt as bare as some would have you believe i reckon, surely 2 of them will shape up,hopefully they all will.

26 Posts
    garvan is reportadly attracting "big" clubs, i just hope it aint spurs. anyone heard any rumours?

979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1
    garvan is reportadly attracting "big" clubs, i just hope it aint spurs. anyone heard any rumours?
    ive only heard west ham,the rumoured offer being in the one million region. are west ham a big club? i hope is isnt spurs either,they have 14 midfielders on the books there at the moment.i reckon he is better off where he is for now but theres no talking to these guys. Liam Miller?? Joe Royle was on the regional sports news the other night here and he said if selling a player meant getting enough money to bring 2 other players in then he was willing to hear offers for anyone at ipswich.

SUPERKID Owen Garvan today reassured Ipswich Town fans that he is looking no further than Portman Road to further his football career.

He wants to buck the trend that has seen other talented youngsters from the Blues Academy move on to the benefit of other clubs.

Darren Bent, Darren Ambrose and Titus Bramble are three players who are now starring in the Premiership after learning their trade under Academy manager Bryan Klug's watchful eye at Town's Rushmere training ground.

And 19-year-old Dean Bowditch is currently the subject of speculation about a possible move to West Ham, leading to fears by many fans that more of the family silver is about to be sold off.

But Dublin-born Garvan, who has taken the Championship by storm this season, has revealed his plans for the future - and they do include leaving Ipswich Town.

His Portman Road contract runs out in the summer of 2007 - and by that time he wants to see the Blues back in the top flight.

“The club deserves it,” said Garvan, who is struggling to be fit for Saturday's trip to Brighton after suffering an ankle injury against in last week's home 2-2 draw with Coventry.

“With their crowd levels and tradition, Ipswich are a Premiership club.

“I am an ambitious person, and my goal is to win a Championship medal.”

Garvan, who made his first team debut in the opening game of the season against Cardiff City, is an obvious target if Ipswich need to generate extra income in the up-coming transfer window or next summer.

West Ham have already been linked with Garvan, and a number of scouts from top clubs are well aware of the potential the unassuming lad possesses.

But as far as Garvan is concerned his thoughts are centred solely on Ipswich Town, and he is looking no further.

“The financial situation Ipswich find themselves in has been good for me,” he says. “The likes of Darren Bent, Kelvin Davis, Tommy Miller and Shefki Kuqi have had to be replaced, and the manager has not been afraid to bring in youngsters.

“This has given me my chance, and we will be able to tell at the end of the season how we have filled their boots.

“Now is the time for me to repay Joe Royle for the faith he has put in me. Hopefully we can still go up this season, but if not then 2006/07 will be a big one for me and also - I am sure - for the club.

“It has been great to hear and read kind comments about my performances, but I know that there is still plenty of room for improvement.

“I am still very young, and I can get better - scoring more goals and getting in more tackles.”

And he has praise for Klug. “It is phenomenal how many boys have already come through the Academy,” said Garvan.

“And there is so much potential in the Academy that there will definitely be more making the grade before very long.

“Bryan has worked a great deal with me, as he has other youngsters, and he has a fantastic record.”

Garvan admits to being home sick occasionally having left home virtually as soon as he left school. “But then I realise why I am over here and it soon passes,” he said.

“I could not wish to be with a better club than Ipswich, and everything is in place for me to continue to improve and fulfil my dream of becoming a top footballer.”
    http://www.eveningstar.co.uk/content...A09%3A26%3A330

979 Posts
    nice one e.b. sounds like he is happy where he is for now and has a bit about him as well, all good news. i just hope the men in charge dont decide to cash in,i know a season ticket holder at portman road who is currently staying away because of the continuing selling policy.the fans over there are not happy bunnys at the moment,but the upside of that is, this is how Garvan and Supple have gotten their chances.

Alot of people on the 606 BBC board, are asking about Irelands availability to play for England (such is his early promise), he was born in Ireland,he has an English mother, Italien Grandparents so qualifies for 3 countries..so technically he can play fo 3 countries, but out of those three it obvious we badly need him the most but he can still be poached to play for England.
    After watching that nonchalent piece of skill last nite against villa can someone please assure me that this guy will wear the green in the near future..

Have to say that piece of skill Ireland did to Cole was sublime. Don't think there's any other Irish midfielders capable of producing something like that out of nothing. Well McGeady is I suppose but he's not producing the goods at all at the moment...

Quote Originally Posted by Reality Bites
    Alot of people on the 606 BBC board, are asking about Irelands availability to play for England (such is his early promise), he was born in Ireland,he has an English mother, Italien Grandparents so qualifies for 3 countries..so technically he can play fo 3 countries, but out of those three it obvious we badly need him the most but he can still be poached to play for England.
    After watching that nonchalent piece of skill last nite against villa can someone please assure me that this guy will wear the green in the near future..

Knowing his Dad (who also played for Ireland U/18's), I would say there's no doubt that Stephens colours are totally nailed to the Green mast.

What sort of an accent has he? Surely someone with an Irish brouge who is born in Ireland would not play for England.There must be someone out there who knows where his preference lie.Why is it such a mystery?

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    Have to say that piece of skill Ireland did to Cole was sublime. Don't think there's any other Irish midfielders capable of producing something like that out of nothing. Well McGeady is I suppose but he's not producing the goods at all at the moment...
    http://rapidshare.de/files/7043866/s...eland.wmv.html

2,796 Posts
    I can't open it, dammit!

I watched the first half and was quietly impressed. He covers a lot of ground, isn't afraid to put in a hefty tackle and uses the ball intelligently & accurately. He tends to play the ball very early and usually forward, unlike some of our current options.

I was on the phone to a pal in Wexford during the second half while my wife was watching something else. At about 9.30 he suddenly interrupted "Jaysus, you should have seen that pass from Ireland!"

Sadly, watching Ireland doing his bit at City highlights how much of a shame Liam Miller's situation is. Miller is probably a better player than Ireland (at the moment) and could probably do a decent job in a lot of sides in the Premiership.

Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag
    What sort of an accent has he? Surely someone with an Irish brouge who is born in Ireland would not play for England.There must be someone out there who knows where his preference lie.Why is it such a mystery?
    he has a cobh accent and will play for ireland..no one else.
    Mar 19 Cobh Ramblers3-2 Limerick
    July 23 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
    Sept 23 Limerick 0-2 Ramblers
    June 28 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
    Aug 18 Limerick 0-1 Ramblers
    Oct 21 Ramblers 1-0 Limerick

Thumbs up Wrong Age Group

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    Knowing his Dad (who also played for Ireland U/18's), I would say there's no doubt that Stephens colours are totally nailed to the Green mast.
    Shane

It was Under 15 actually and I have no doubt he will play for Ireland again. A class act who is getting better. Peter Reid joined his fan club last night with a glowing tribute to him.

Long time no speak Eddie! I stand corrected, I thought Coochie played Under 18's but here's hoping Stephen can go on to great things.

jaysus I could watch that clip all day.....fantastic stuff...ye can stick your lee trundle up yet @rse!

43 Posts
    Wait til ya see the assist today, out of this world deft touch to set up City goal. Out of the top top drawer.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

26 Posts
    any chance of anyone been able to get hold of that one? imissed match of the day. i think that we could get a soccer AM weekly thing going here!

Fantastic display by Ireland last night against Fulham. If anyone is interested in watching how a functional central midfield partnership should work, look no further than Ireland and Barton (although he should have seen red rather than yellow early in the first half). Barton was the steel, providing all the tough tackling, all action display that is needed of the much vaunted 'holding' midfielder. Not the finished article by any means, but a definite talent.

And the real point of interest from an Irish point of view - Stephen Ireland. Sky Sports top scored him with an '8' in a losing side and I don't think theyve got it too far wrong. Looked a natural on the ball, his first touch is almost immaculate and his ability to quickly (first time) pick a pass was no better illustrated than when he set up Lee Croft. He was definitely the man pulling the strings in the City mdfield.

I am a fan of Claudio Reyna, but I think it might be difficult for him to break up this partnership for City when he returns from injury (although Barton has got himself suspended...so that could be Reyna's chance if he's fit in time).

I don't want to get too excited (McGeady etc), but at the moment Ireland looks like he has the potential to be top class. We dont have any friendlies for a while, so lets all enjoy his progression and if he has a good season hopefully we can fast track him into the national team with a view to him having a few caps under his belt before Euro 08 (or at least the qualifiers).

Thank God! Finally there is some light at the end of the tunnel in our most dire position. I know all about O'Brien (needs to be playing centre midfield not right back..and where will he be once Bolton players are fit), Garvan (League Championship...potential, nothing more) and Whelan (a struggling league championship team). I'm not writing them off, merely stating it will take more than a handful of games out of position playing reasonable matches or a run in the Championship before we have players that are better options than the current incumbents.

By the way, Kavanagh impressed me again last night. I've always been a fan of his, but it was just unfortunate that he has not had the chance to pit himself against the best week in week out until this season. Now he is doing it, he will be a bigger asset to Ireland in his twilight years.

Perhaps the (next) manager could have a look at a central midfield pairing of Kavanagh and Ireland in the next lot of friendlies with a view to bringing through whoever is performing/taking the next step out of Garvan/O'Brien/Whelan?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast