Thread: Nolan's Gesture

I wasn't at the game on Friday night either and from the sound of it I picked a hell of a game to make my first home one to miss this year. Anyway, my tuppence worth...

As far as Nolan giving the finger... a bit silly and what have you but I wouldn't cry too hard over it. Totally agree with LFCIE, if people can dish it out they should be able to take it. Nolan would have been better off keeping his head down and ignoring things because this whole incident will hardly do him any favours with anybody but if that had been all that happened I'd have hardly considered it worth a thread.

Spitting at support though... especially when that support was far removed from the area where the booing seems to have started... that's not just silly and petulant, it doesn't say much about the way he was brought up in general. I'm aware that he's only 19 and lost his head in the heat of the moment but that action is going to have alienated a lot of people who would otherwise have been quite sympathetic to him.

End of story... there's only a few games left, he's on loan, I can't imagine that he's going to be going anywhere before the season ends but if he is brought back after this (coupled with the fact that he's been an ineffective luxury pretty much all year) I think that there'd be plenty eyebrows raised. Bring CP O'Brien back ultimately didn't work out and I think Nolan may have burned his bridge the other night.

I have no intention of booing him at any point between now and seasons end but I'd be hard pressed to offer much in the way of encouragement either. He'll return to Cork at season's end and if he does harness his undoubted talent and make it there I have no doubt he'll get a few digs in at Limerick's expense when he gets the opportunity. That would be acceptable, even understandable. Ditto for the frustrated one finger salute.

But spitting... I'd like to think he'd take it back if he could but either way it said a lot about him.

Roll on Dublin City anyone?

dub city

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    Roll on Dublin City anyone?
    i take it your asking me? when is the match on anyway?

Quote Originally Posted by gael353
    i take it your asking me? when is the match on anyway?
    According to Dublin Citys website its on Saturday with a 7.30 kick off. I assume this nugget of information has earned me the front seat in the car (SLK take note)

Didn't go to the Sligo game, haven't been to any of the previous two before that, and probably won't go til the end of the season to be honest, or possibly even ever again as a proper Limerick supporter. This whole season has turned me off Limerick FC big time, in fairness I must mention that this was only my third season supporting the club. But the whole Danny Drew escapade that is still on-going, the Derek McCarthy thing, the Mike Kerley sacking, Noel's style of football, CP O'Brien, CP Mark 2 (thats you Nolan) and just the whole sourness and negative attitude of everyone involved with the club this year, from Danny to Jamie Nolan to myself really isn't in anyway entertaining for me. I mean when its a choice between watching Corrie or going to a home match, and there isn't much doubt in your mind that you'll be watching Danny Baldwin on a Friday night then I think you know its time to call it quits!

But as regards to Jamie Nolan, spitting in the direction, or in front of fans shows a complete lack of respect for ALL supporters, and Danny telling supporters to shut up or be kicked out shows a complete lack of respect for ALL supporters, end of story. How anyone can 100% endorse a club run by this farce of a human being is beyond me

Quote Originally Posted by jebus
    How anyone can 100% endorse a club run by this farce of a human being is beyond me
    Thats the thing with being a football fan. Nobody endorses their club 100%. Its strange that this season has turned you off while the previous two didn't. But fair play for homesty I guess.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

I agree with jebus. I think the carry on at the club has been a joke this season. There was a honeymoon period at the start where things were promised, the squad was big and competition for places was rife, people were willing to give NOC a second chance and nobody really knew much about our new owner Danny Drew. Less than half way through the season things went sour, and now almost at the end the whole impression of the club is a shambles.

In that time we have learned that NOC hasn't changed one bit, still has a problem regarding personality clashes with players (and always the good ones), and can't manage for sh!t. As I said before, he doesn't know the difference between a tic-tac and a tactic. His football is utter rubbish. Absolutely useless. He's a butcher alright, that's for fcukin sure! .

We have also learned that our chairman is a bit of a maverick, has no people skills and wouldn't know manners if they slapped him across the face. He may have business acumen and a nose for making money, but he needs to learn the ropes of running a football club by taking a back seat because he is out of his depth in football matters. His treatment of LFC supporters and certain players, especially Tom McGauley will not be forgotton. Him coming on these boards giving verbals, and then seeking the identities of posters at matches is both sad and pathetic and proves my point above perfectly. He'd do well now to disappear into the background and hand the chairmanship over to a real football man who knows his stuff, because otherwise attendances aren't going to get any better.

The whole Jamie Nolan thing has capped things off really. Fans have a right to jeer a player if they feel he is not putting in the effort. The player does not have a right to stick his fingers up at the fans and spit in their collective faces. The fans pay to watch Nolan and indirectly pay his wages. That's how football works. Nolan is paid to play, not to disrespect, insult or bite the hand that feeds him.

On the plus side I think Kieran Judge is one of the few people to come out with praise this season. He has done a fine job, and also assembled a very talanted U21 panel. He has also conducted himself very well throughout the season. It's guys like him that the club need. Bernard O'Neill has also improved the PR of the club, although it could be a lot better. But other than that, the whole thing stinks. I haven't been at the last few home games either, partly because I was away in Cyprus following Ireland, because of work, but also because like jebus I'm just turned off the whole thing. There are many more like me, so keep it up lads.....

what incident at the cobh game?
    Mar 19 Cobh Ramblers3-2 Limerick
    July 23 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
    Sept 23 Limerick 0-2 Ramblers
    June 28 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
    Aug 18 Limerick 0-1 Ramblers
    Oct 21 Ramblers 1-0 Limerick

hey 4tothefloor, you've already got my vote for post of the month..brilliant stuff..coulndn't agree with you more.enough said

Ive read the Limerick posts all year........ive even been to a few of the games, and, until now I have refused to become a member and make comments ....... but never in my life have I seen such harsh treatment from fans to a player in all my years involved in the league of Ireland. Jamie Nolan is an extremely talented footballer, he has a very intelligent footballing brain and is technically sound.
    The fact of the matter is, the majority of you dont understand the game properly. Jamie gets the ball knocked over his head every week....he shrugs his shoulders (because he knows no player has the ability to get the ball to his feet) and jogs on. This is what the first division is about, Jamie came from Cork City, where they actually emphasised to players the general concepts of the game, and played with technically good players who were at the same level as he was. In the first division you dont need to be technically sound to be successful, you only need a big physique and a big heart. Jamie Nolan doesn't have the heart to play in the first division......it is clear that he doesnt really want to play for Limerick F.C. The manager should have recognised this form the start and sent him home where he could of continued his education with cork city.......its the manager you should be booing not jamie.....the only thing jamie nolan is being educated on is how to chase a shadow for ninety minutes.
    Futhermore; its obvious jamie has a lot to learn about football and the way he conducts himself on and off the pitch in relation to the game but you want to turn around and judge jamie as a person, as a human being, jamie is how old? 20? 21? he is playing in a shambolic league, with mediocre players, getting booed every week by the fans and has a manager who doesn't understand "ball" in the word football and you want to turn around and make judgements on him personally or on the way he was brought up? id give the finger too if I had to put up with that in my playing days.

No offence neutral but to come on with a post like that as your first post I would think you are a) Jamie Nolan b) Danny Drew or c) started watching football this year, because anyone who says Jamie Nolan is an extremely talented footballer, he has a very intelligent footballing brain and is technically sound seriously hasn't got a clue about football in general, I doubt even the staunchest Nolan supporter would come out with a remark like that.

Its strange that this season has turned you off while the previous two didn't

I think the reason for that LFC In Exile is that last season and in the 2003 season there was more of a community feel I suppose to LFC. In general I don't go to Eircom League games for the flowing football or silky skills, its more to do with having a laugh at the games and supporting your team, I think thats the only way to get new supporters into the Eircom League itself. So when I started going in 2003, it was a laugh, I started getting behind the team, Mike Kerley had LFC playing as attractive as is possible at this level and there was a good community spirit about the team (despite the shoody running of the club by O'Sullivan and co.). It probably helped a lot that I started going at the same time that LFC had signed up players like Stephen O'Flynn and Brendan Sweeney and the like of Finny, Keating, Pat Purcell and John Healy (what can I say, I always liked the guy) were playing.

Then when 2004 became such a tragedy of a season money wise, it was still easy to go up for three simple reasons, I still had a laugh at the games, Mike Kerley was still trying to play attractive on the ground football and the players who were there were at least passionate about playing for the club (CP excluded obviously). The community spirit was still there, and if anything had become stronger because of the hard times Limerick Football Club were facing.

This year then got off to a bad start before a football had even been kicked in my opinion. I had heard enough about Noel O'Connor to realise that bringing him back to manage the club would be a disaster that everyone wanted to avoid, apart from Danny Drew. So when Drew sacked Kerley (who was, and still is, one of the better managerial options at this level in this country if you ask me) and brought in Noel it really set the tone of 'I'm right, if you don't like it then tough' attitude that the chairman has taken with the LFC support this year. If any of you can recall, myself and Nempton in particular were very vocal about this before the season had even begun, we were called moaners at the time, but that dedication to complaining seems to be the norm at this club these days.

All in all I think Danny has shattered that community spirit that surrounded the club in previous O'Connorless seasons, and has become something of a dictator at the club, which is why I voted that Danny had been a bad thing for the club some months ago, why I still think his takeover was a bad thing for the club, and why I no longer care about going to Limerick anymore

Quote Originally Posted by neutral
    Jamie Nolan is an extremely talented footballer, he has a very intelligent footballing brain and is technically sound.
    If you don't like John 3:7...
    There's always Limerick 37!

Jamie Nolan is an extremely talented footballer, he has a very intelligent footballing brain and is technically sound.
    Being good at Pro-Evolution on the playstation doesn't count

really set the tone of 'I'm right, if you don't like it then tough' attitude that the chairman has taken with the LFC support this year.
    I must have been in the jacks when the previous committee members came around at half time asking everyone's opinion on club affairs.

All in all I think Danny has shattered that community spirit that surrounded the club in previous O'Connorless seasons, and has become something of a dictator at the club, which is why I voted that Danny had been a bad thing for the club some months ago, why I still think his takeover was a bad thing for the club, and why I no longer care about going to Limerick anymore
    Community spirit? Give me a break. If 50 people in a windy, exposed junior ground looking at a team rooted to the bottom of the league is a community then it is a community of the damned. You might go to matches for crack - don't we all - but I enjoy winning the odd game as well. I find that very enjoyable. There is one reason why the club is in the league right now - that reaosn is DD. Without him stepping in, as far as I am concerned, the club was gone. And as it limped from embarrassment to shame in the previous season at times I think people were thinking that it migth be best to put it out of its misery.

Now, DD may not be a nice guy - I don't know. He could be the divil himself. (I spoke to him once coming into the gorund at one home game to say thanks for taking on the club and wishing him well). The club is unrecognisable from the unqualified mess of last season though there are some things I wish were done at this stage.

However, I am struggling to think of anything positive about the club last season. I mean - we still have Damien.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

No offence taken jebus, a) I don’t think Jamie Nolan cares that much about Limerick F.C. to log on here, and try and defend himself, b) I don’t think Danny Drew would come on here and abuse his own manager, the person he is employing to manage the football side of Limerick F.C, and then stand by him during every game, and c) don’t make a daft comment to say that I only started watching football this year, my education in football goes far beyond the stands of eircom league soccer.
    Furthermore; I am not a supporter of Jamie Nolan but the majority of you think he actually has no as ability or talent, I think sadloserkid was the only who mentioned that he had ability, and the fact is that he is quite a talented player and if you haven’t seen that in any of the games this season then it just reiterates my point that the majority of you people haven’t been educated in football.

No offence taken jebus, a) I don’t think Jamie Nolan cares that much about Limerick F.C. to log on here, and try and defend himself, b) I don’t think Danny Drew would come on here and abuse his own manager, the person he is employing to manage the football side of Limerick F.C, and then stand by him during every game, and c) don’t make a daft comment to say that I only started watching football this year, my education in football goes far beyond the stands of eircom league soccer.
    Furthermore; I am not a supporter of Jamie Nolan but the majority of you think he actually has no as ability or talent, I think sadloserkid was the only who mentioned that he had ability, and the fact is that he is quite a talented player and if you haven’t seen that in any of the games this season then it just reiterates my point that the majority of you people haven’t been educated in football.
    first off if nolan dosnt care that much about limerick he knows where the door is. most of us dont care much for him either.

the stands of eircom league soccer? the sheds more like.

nolan has shown ability when played on the right wing. after watching him countless times this season he has shown me very little ability at centre forward and obvisouly very little effort.

a few of us on this board know our football. its makes me squirm when some new poster comes on and tells us we dont. neutral whether you know football or not the fact is kost of us here have seen nolan play this season far more times than you and are callign what we see.

we're sick of talking about him. he put himself back in the topicof conversations with his gestures. pity he didnt do it with his football.

by the way anyone know if the club fined him or anything of the sort?

replace him with ebbie quigley. thats what the club should do. ebbie couldnt play but what heart for such a small fella!
    you gowl!

I think the whole Jamie Nolan affair is symbolic of whats happening at the club overall. The supporters and club seem to be odds with eachother all season, each giving the perverbial finger to the other at every opportunity. We have had players at this club, who neutral quite rightly points out, do not want to play for Limerick at all. Regardless of whether these players have an abundance of skill of a distinct lack of it is not important. If you do not want to play for the club then you are not welcome to be a part of the club.
    The supporters are aqutely aware of this while the club itself appears indifferent to this lack of commitment. Yes nuetral, the quality of "football" in the first division has at times been appauling. however it can never improve if it is saturated with players indifferent to improving it. Having heart alone is not sufficent but having none at all is unacceptable.
    As for the club; a internal review of the season should be enough for any reasonable mind to digest what NOT to do when you own a club. Progress has walked hand in hand with unprofessionalism and mismanagement all season long. Unless this changes expect more of the same soap operas next season and dwindling crowds to boot. Bah humbug!

Quote Originally Posted by nismo
    what incident at the cobh game?
    once again
    Mar 19 Cobh Ramblers3-2 Limerick
    July 23 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
    Sept 23 Limerick 0-2 Ramblers
    June 28 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
    Aug 18 Limerick 0-1 Ramblers
    Oct 21 Ramblers 1-0 Limerick

Quote Originally Posted by nismo
    once again
    Well I wasn't even at the game but here's what I picked up in the course of my snooping about.

1. Jamie Nolan was subbed. On the way off he gave a middle finger salute to the Limerick shed in response to something (booing, heckling, I'm not really sure).

2. When a couple of people criticised this as he was making his way slowly off the field (everything Jamie Nolan does is done slowly) he decided it was time for more direct action and spat at some of the people standing nearby. In keeping with the season he's been having... Mr.Nolan missed his intended target...

3. At this point people got a little more agitated with him so in what I presume was a misguided attempt to calm the situation down he decided to tear off his shirt and throw it to the ground before stalking into the dressing room.

Anybody who was there and feels like contradicting my version of events feel free... this is all second-hand at best but as nobody else was gonna help out poor Nismo I thought I'd oblige.

thats not the cobh incident. that happeed against sligo.
    you gowl!

The Cobh incident was where Nolan was substituted to loud cheers and chants of cheerio from Limerick FC supporters. He did not respond at all to that.